View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
scythetleppo n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2007 Posts: 53
|
Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 5:53 pm Post subject: Fresh Install, but emerge/network/internet not working |
|
|
I just installed ok and now I get error when trying to emerge.
When running from the cd my emerge/internet works.
my /etc/resolv.conf:
Quote: | #Generated by net-scripts for interface lo
domain homenetwork |
results:
Quote: | eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:blah
inet addr:my ip Bcast:my ip but 255 at end Mask: 255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 metric:1
blahblah do you need the rest?... |
and
Quote: | lo Link encap:Local loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 mask:255.0.0.0
loopback running, blah... |
shows the same but also eth1 with no ip address (I have 2 eth cards and yes I've tried swapping the chord thank you)
What can be wrong? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alex.blackbit Advocate
Joined: 26 Jul 2005 Posts: 2397
|
Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 5:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start | maybe? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vandien Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 May 2006 Posts: 137
|
Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
/etc/resolv.conf generally requires a nameserver defined, if you want DNS to function. If eth0 is using DHCP, it should be generated automatically. try restarting eth0 and see if resolv.conf changes. If not, or you're using static networking, try putting it in manually.
/etc/resolv.conf: | nameserver xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
domain homenetwork |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Rabbi Hillel Apprentice
Joined: 15 Feb 2007 Posts: 209 Location: Norderstedt, Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you use dhcp you've got to install it by:
Code: | emerge dhcp
rc-update add net.eth0 default
|
_________________ Gentoo - the chosen distro. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Rabbi Hillel Apprentice
Joined: 15 Feb 2007 Posts: 209 Location: Norderstedt, Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It's just to stupid that the GRP-installer doesn't install dhcp and networking per default. _________________ Gentoo - the chosen distro. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Rabbi Hillel Apprentice
Joined: 15 Feb 2007 Posts: 209 Location: Norderstedt, Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Maybe you've got to boot and chroot again with the livecd to have internet and the ability to download the ebuild. _________________ Gentoo - the chosen distro. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
scythetleppo n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2007 Posts: 53
|
Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start |
already started message
Quote: | nameserver xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
domain homenetwork |
still get temporary failure in name resolution, although it takes a while to say it now...
Quote: | If you use dhcp you've got to install it by: |
I want to avoid it if possible
Quote: | Maybe you've got to boot and chroot again with the livecd to have internet and the ability to download the ebuild |
I understand this sentence except 'download the ebuild'.what you mean? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Rabbi Hillel Apprentice
Joined: 15 Feb 2007 Posts: 209 Location: Norderstedt, Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
...to download the dhcp-ebuild.
An ebuild is a gentoo-package.
Btw. it's better to have dhcp-internet than having no internet.
Why do you want to avoid it? _________________ Gentoo - the chosen distro. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
scythetleppo n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2007 Posts: 53
|
Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
cuz this is supposed to be a server with a static ip
I don't know much about network stuff, but I think it's better to have static with server |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vandien Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 May 2006 Posts: 137
|
Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
scythetleppo wrote: | still get temporary failure in name resolution, although it takes a while to say it now... |
are you sure the IP you put in the nameserver line is correct?
also, double check the static IP and gateway in your network setup (/etc/conf.d/net) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
scythetleppo n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2007 Posts: 53
|
Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok turns out I was using the wrong nameserver. I changed it in the etc/conf.d/net and nothing changed. then I changed it in etc/resolv.conf.
I don't really know which rj45 is eth0 and which is eth1 so I'm just going back and forth with each change.
left port when I try emerge links I get failed: No route to host.
right port I get failed: Temporary failure in name resolution still |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vandien Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 May 2006 Posts: 137
|
Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 7:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Please make sure these two files look like this (post yours if you want):
/etc/resolv.conf: | nameserver 192.168.0.56
nameserver 192.168.0.57
domain wigglytoes.org |
/etc/conf.d/net: | config_eth0="192.168.0.182/24"
routes_eth0="default via 192.168.0.1" |
Is this a home network? at work? who set it up? Make sure you can ping your gateway (the default via ...) and your nameserver.
to make things simpler, you can skip using the gentoo net.* scripts (/etc/init.d/net.eth0 stop) and try this:
Code: | # ifconfig eth0 up YOURIP
# ping NAMESERVERIP
PING NAMESERVERIP (NAMESERVERIP) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from NAMESERVERIP: icmp_seq=1 ttl=254 time=4.81 ms
64 bytes from NAMESERVERIP: icmp_seq=2 ttl=254 time=0.241 ms
--- NAMESERVERIP ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 received, 0% packet loss, time 1000ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.241/2.526/4.811/2.285 ms |
If you don't get a response, there is probably something wrong with the network itself :) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
scythetleppo n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2007 Posts: 53
|
Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 7:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
wow I got it to work somehow.
all I did was, I booted off of cd then copied what their conf said onto mine. could have sworn I did that during the install =/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|