View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Gtwy n00b
Joined: 24 Feb 2007 Posts: 3 Location: Pittsburgh, PA
|
Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 1:18 am Post subject: How do I update my VirtualHosts to allow an SSL VirtualHost? |
|
|
Basically these are my virtual hosts:
Code: | NameVirtualHost *
<VirtualHost *>
ServerName gtwy.net
ServerAdmin jameswatt@gmail.com
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /domain/gtwy/cgi-bin/
DocumentRoot /domain/gtwy/html
ErrorLog logs/gtwy.err
TransferLog logs/gtwy.log
CustomLog logs/gtwy.net-access_log combined
</VirtualHost>
<VirtualHost *>
ServerName www.gtwy.net
ServerAdmin jameswatt@gmail.com
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /domain/gtwy/cgi-bin/
DocumentRoot /domain/gtwy/html
ErrorLog logs/gtwy.err
TransferLog logs/gtwy.log
CustomLog logs/gtwy.net-access_log combined
</VirtualHost>
<VirtualHost *>
ServerName wiki.gtwy.net
ServerAdmin jameswatt@gmail.com
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /domain/gtwy/wiki/cgi-bin/
DocumentRoot /domain/gtwy/wiki/html
ErrorLog logs/gtwy.err
TransferLog logs/gtwy.log
CustomLog logs/gtwy.net-access_log combined
</VirtualHost>
<VirtualHost *>
ServerName comics.gtwy.net
ServerAdmin jameswatt@gmail.com
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /domain/gtwy/comics/cgi-bin/
DocumentRoot /domain/gtwy/comics/html
ErrorLog logs/gtwy.err
TransferLog logs/gtwy.log
CustomLog logs/gtwy.net-access_log combined
</VirtualHost>
<VirtualHost *>
ServerName imperialistic.us
ServerAdmin imperialisticus@gmail.com
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /domain/ius/cgi-bin/
DocumentRoot /domain/ius/html/
ErrorLog logs/ius
TransferLog logs/ius
CustomLog logs/ius combined
</VirtualHost>
<VirtualHost *>
ServerName globaldominance.imperialistic.us
ServerAdmin imperialisticus@gmail.com
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /domain/ius/cgi-bin/
DocumentRoot /domain/ius/html/
ErrorLog logs/ius
TransferLog logs/ius
CustomLog logs/ius combined
</VirtualHost>
<VirtualHost *>
ServerName www.imperialistic.us
ServerAdmin imperialisticus@gmail.com
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /domain/ius/cgi-bin/
DocumentRoot /domain/ius/html/
ErrorLog logs/ius
TransferLog logs/ius
CustomLog logs/ius combined
</VirtualHost> |
Mod_ssl is installed (apache2 configured w/ ssl). I can start apache as -D SSL without a problem, however it doesn't do anything for me until I have an SSL enabled virtual host. I have been able to look at netstat to make sure that Apache is binding to the SSL port also, so that is not an issue. The issue is the virtual hosts...
I've tried various ways of reconfiguring my virtual hosts, but nothing works. I have read all of the SSL stuff on the Gentoo Wiki and spend the past 2 days googling for other information.
If someone could help me out by showing me the proper syntax this would become when I added a single SSL virtual host to it, I would greatly appreciate it.
Note: I do have about 8 IP addresses if I need to configure SSL on separate IP address (tried that too)...
Thanks in advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nielchiano Veteran
Joined: 11 Nov 2003 Posts: 1287 Location: 50N 3E
|
Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
you didn't look very hard, did you?
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/vhosts/examples.html
oh, for your SSL, just use port 443 instead of 8080 or whatever is used in the example.
and Quote: | Name-based virtual hosting cannot be used with SSL secure servers because of the nature of the SSL protocol. |
so you MUST use different IP's for each SSL-vhost |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gtwy n00b
Joined: 24 Feb 2007 Posts: 3 Location: Pittsburgh, PA
|
Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 6:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Actually I did look at that, and I did try a bunch of different ideas based on their syntax, but when I reload apache it always breaks it.
Also, while they list examples of running one on port 8080 and one on 80, they do not explicitly give an example of it running SSL. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nielchiano Veteran
Joined: 11 Nov 2003 Posts: 1287 Location: 50N 3E
|
Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Gtwy wrote: | Actually I did look at that, and I did try a bunch of different ideas based on their syntax, but when I reload apache it always breaks it. |
"breaks it" = ??? what errors do you get? what works, what doesn't?
Gtwy wrote: | Also, while they list examples of running one on port 8080 and one on 80, they do not explicitly give an example of it running SSL. |
I know, hence the line: nielchiano wrote: | oh, for your SSL, just use port 443 instead of 8080 or whatever is used in the example. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|