View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
badzio Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/114557736240c7061856ce5.gif)
Joined: 16 May 2003 Posts: 144 Location: Lodz
|
Posted: Fri May 16, 2003 12:28 pm Post subject: rtl8029 & failed to bring eth0 |
|
|
Hi
I've problem with network in gentoo. My computer is in network with DHCP. when I set dhcp (iface_eth0="dhcp" in file /etc/conf.d/net other lines are comments) i got following msg during starting gentoo:
Quote: | Failed to bring eth0
Error: Problem starting needed services "netmount" was not started |
here is my net file for DHCP:
Quote: |
#iface_eth0="192.168.7.6 broadcast 192.168.15.255 netmask 255.255.240.0"
iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."
#alias_eth0="192.168.7.6"
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.15.255 192.168.15.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"
#netmast_eth0="255.255.240.0 255.255.240.0"
#gateway="eth0/192.168.1.1"
#gateway="eth0/192.168.10.101"
|
result of ifconfig for dhcp
Quote: |
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:44:08:DB:C7
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:60 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:4 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:4720 (4.6 Kb)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xe800
|
When I set static IP, broadcast, netmask and gateway (IP=192.168.7.6, broadcast=192.168.15.255, netmask=255.255.240.0, gateway=192.168.10.101), eth0 is starting. next, when I do everything is OK. but if i try for example Code: | ping 192.168.10.101 | (gateway) I got msg
Quote: | Network is not reachable |
here is my net file for static IP:
Quote: |
iface_eth0="192.168.7.6 broadcast 192.168.15.255 netmask 255.255.240.0"
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."
alias_eth0="192.168.7.6"
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
broadcast_eth0="192.168.15.255 192.168.15.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"
netmast_eth0="255.255.240.0 255.255.240.0"
#gateway="eth0/192.168.1.1"
gateway="eth0/192.168.10.101"
|
result of ifconfig for static IP
Quote: |
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:44:08:DB:C7
inet addr:192.168.7.6 Bcast:192.168.15.255 Mask:255.255.240.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:72 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:4 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:4720 (4.6 Kb)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xe800
eth0:0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:44:08:DB:C7
inet addr:192.168.7.6 Bcast:192.168.15.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xe800
|
I hope that somebody will help me
ps sorry for my english ![Cool 8)](images/smiles/icon_cool.gif) _________________ gouranga;-) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Genone Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/21004157514287ab2b29021.jpg)
Joined: 14 Mar 2003 Posts: 9626 Location: beyond the rim
|
Posted: Fri May 16, 2003 1:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
For the "network unreachable" problem: have you checked the output of maybe it got the netmasks wrong. And why do you use an alias with the same ip that's already assigned with another netmask ? That must confuse the routingtables ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
badzio Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/114557736240c7061856ce5.gif)
Joined: 16 May 2003 Posts: 144 Location: Lodz
|
Posted: Sun May 18, 2003 5:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | For the "network unreachable" problem: have you checked the output of
maybe it got the netmasks wrong. (...) And why do you use an alias with the same ip that's already assigned with another netmask |
with those alias when I do
Quote: | Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.7.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
192.168.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.240.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
0.0.0.0 192.168.10.101 0.0.0.0 UG 1 0 0 eth0
|
and without alias
Quote: | Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.240.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
0.0.0.0 192.168.10.101 0.0.0.0 UG 1 0 0 eth0
|
what should I to do? _________________ gouranga;-) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Genone Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/21004157514287ab2b29021.jpg)
Joined: 14 Mar 2003 Posts: 9626 Location: beyond the rim
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 1:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Can you ping your gateway without the alias ? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
badzio Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/114557736240c7061856ce5.gif)
Joined: 16 May 2003 Posts: 144 Location: Lodz
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 6:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
No.
It doesn't matter if i have an alias or not. In both case I can only ping myself (192.168.7.6). In other case - "network is unreachable" _________________ gouranga;-) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Genone Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/21004157514287ab2b29021.jpg)
Joined: 14 Mar 2003 Posts: 9626 Location: beyond the rim
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 3:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, another guess: Try adding another route with Code: | route add -host 192.168.10.1 eth0 | If you can ping your gateway after that something in the routing tables is weird. If that doesn't work I've no more ideas, sorry. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
badzio Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/114557736240c7061856ce5.gif)
Joined: 16 May 2003 Posts: 144 Location: Lodz
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 6:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Genone wrote: | Ok, another guess: Try adding another route with Code: | route add -host 192.168.10.1 eth0 | If you can ping your gateway after that something in the routing tables is weird. If that doesn't work I've no more ideas, sorry. |
when I do
Code: | route add -host 192.168.10.101 | (192.168.10.101 is my gateway), nothing changes. If I do Code: | route add -host 192.168.10.1 | - nothing changes
![Crying or Very sad :cry:](images/smiles/icon_cry.gif) _________________ gouranga;-) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|