Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
rtl8029 & failed to bring eth0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
badzio
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 144
Location: Lodz

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2003 12:28 pm    Post subject: rtl8029 & failed to bring eth0 Reply with quote

Hi
I've problem with network in gentoo. My computer is in network with DHCP. when I set dhcp (iface_eth0="dhcp" in file /etc/conf.d/net other lines are comments) i got following msg during starting gentoo:
Quote:
Failed to bring eth0
Error: Problem starting needed services "netmount" was not started

here is my net file for DHCP:
Quote:

#iface_eth0="192.168.7.6 broadcast 192.168.15.255 netmask 255.255.240.0"
iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."
#alias_eth0="192.168.7.6"
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.15.255 192.168.15.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"
#netmast_eth0="255.255.240.0 255.255.240.0"
#gateway="eth0/192.168.1.1"
#gateway="eth0/192.168.10.101"

result of ifconfig for dhcp
Quote:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:44:08:DB:C7
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:60 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:4 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:4720 (4.6 Kb)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xe800

When I set static IP, broadcast, netmask and gateway (IP=192.168.7.6, broadcast=192.168.15.255, netmask=255.255.240.0, gateway=192.168.10.101), eth0 is starting. next, when I do
Code:
ping 192.168.7.6
everything is OK. but if i try for example
Code:
ping 192.168.10.101
(gateway) I got msg
Quote:
Network is not reachable

here is my net file for static IP:
Quote:

iface_eth0="192.168.7.6 broadcast 192.168.15.255 netmask 255.255.240.0"
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."
alias_eth0="192.168.7.6"
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
broadcast_eth0="192.168.15.255 192.168.15.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"
netmast_eth0="255.255.240.0 255.255.240.0"
#gateway="eth0/192.168.1.1"
gateway="eth0/192.168.10.101"

result of ifconfig for static IP
Quote:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:44:08:DB:C7
inet addr:192.168.7.6 Bcast:192.168.15.255 Mask:255.255.240.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:72 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:4 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:4720 (4.6 Kb)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xe800

eth0:0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:44:08:DB:C7
inet addr:192.168.7.6 Bcast:192.168.15.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xe800

I hope that somebody will help me
ps sorry for my english 8)
_________________
gouranga;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genone
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 9626
Location: beyond the rim

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2003 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the "network unreachable" problem: have you checked the output of
Code:
route -n
maybe it got the netmasks wrong. And why do you use an alias with the same ip that's already assigned with another netmask ? That must confuse the routingtables :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
badzio
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 144
Location: Lodz

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2003 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
For the "network unreachable" problem: have you checked the output of
Code:
Code:
route -n

maybe it got the netmasks wrong. (...) And why do you use an alias with the same ip that's already assigned with another netmask

with those alias when I do
Code:
route -n

Quote:
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.7.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
192.168.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.240.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
0.0.0.0 192.168.10.101 0.0.0.0 UG 1 0 0 eth0

and
Code:
route -n
without alias
Quote:
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.240.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
0.0.0.0 192.168.10.101 0.0.0.0 UG 1 0 0 eth0

what should I to do?
_________________
gouranga;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genone
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 9626
Location: beyond the rim

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 1:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you ping your gateway without the alias ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
badzio
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 144
Location: Lodz

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No.
It doesn't matter if i have an alias or not. In both case I can only ping myself (192.168.7.6). In other case - "network is unreachable"
_________________
gouranga;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genone
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 9626
Location: beyond the rim

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, another guess: Try adding another route with
Code:
route add -host 192.168.10.1 eth0
If you can ping your gateway after that something in the routing tables is weird. If that doesn't work I've no more ideas, sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
badzio
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 144
Location: Lodz

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Genone wrote:
Ok, another guess: Try adding another route with
Code:
route add -host 192.168.10.1 eth0
If you can ping your gateway after that something in the routing tables is weird. If that doesn't work I've no more ideas, sorry.

when I do
Code:
 route add -host 192.168.10.101
(192.168.10.101 is my gateway), nothing changes. If I do
Code:
 route add -host 192.168.10.1
- nothing changes
:cry:
_________________
gouranga;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum