View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Spacefreak
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 2:29 am    Post subject: KDE Desktop Fun. Reply with quote

Hey guys,
I attempted to use Gentoo as my first venture into the world of Linux. Well, after quite a bit of trouble I managed to make it work out fairly decently... but later decided to switch to Ubuntu to get used to the feel of Linux. Well, now that it's a touch obvious that I'm not very experienced, here goes my question. I'm about to be ordering a laptop that will be coming with Vista. I'm not too thrilled about it really, and am going to make it dual boot Vista and Gentoo. Last time I messed with Gentoo I had various problems, so I'm trying to get a feel for what I'm going to be doing once I get the laptop and start getting my hands dirty.
Right now I'm running Beryl... although not without a few complications. I was wondering what window management program you guys would suggest. The laptop will be coming with an nVidea graphics card, and I'm not sure whether or not that makes a difference. Also I have been trying to get some version of a dock working, and have been failing pretty hardcore. So again I was wondering on opinions of a good dock program that would be compatible with whatever window management program you prefer. Sorry if my questions have come across without the proper vocabulary, I wasn't quite sure how to word them. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
papal_authority
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By dock, do mean something like this? As for distros, are you sure you want to fight with putting Gentoo on a laptop? Good on ya if you do, but the latest Ubuntu should be out in a few weeks (beginning of April IIRC). I'd use that if you want a painless install.
Spacefreak