View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Mow Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 06 May 2003 Posts: 106
|
Posted: Sun May 18, 2003 11:17 pm Post subject: ATI radeon Sticky |
|
|
I have noticed that the question gets asked a BUNCH of times on here. Could someone come up with a HOW-TO about getting the ATI cards to work? I realize I'm asking a lot but it would cut down on the redundant posts (that I have made as well).
Just a thought |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gozu n00b
Joined: 04 Jan 2003 Posts: 55
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 5:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
emerge ati-drivers
how hard can that be? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
joco n00b
Joined: 19 May 2003 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 11:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, that is IF you have one of the supported cards. I have a Radeon 7500 Mobility. Works fine but no 3D rendering
I think a mistake during the initial install causes some of my problems. So yes I would be willing to supply my knowlegde so far to a ATI HOW-TO |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stustill Guru
Joined: 25 Feb 2003 Posts: 333 Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 1:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have a Radeon 7000 (I think, it is whatever the original Radeon was called), and here is how I got my card working!
Compile MTRR into the kernel. Do NOT compile in DRM, say no to it, we will add this in later ourselves. Next, to your USE flags add:
Code: |
radeon -sis -rage128 -matrox -3dfx -gamma -i8x0
|
Now type:
This will install DRM, and the USE flags force it to only compile radeon support. Add radeon to /etc/modules.autoload, so that on reboot it loads the radeon module, and use modprobe radeon to initialize without rebooting. Next, make sure you uncomment the following lines in /etc/X11/XF86Config:
Code: |
Load "glx"
Load "dri"
|
And that in Section "Device", that you make sure that the Driver is "radeon"
Ohh, and don't forget to uncomment Section "Dri". Now startx, and try running glxinfo. If it mentions radeon as being the card it is using for rendering then it is working, should look something like this:
Code: |
OpenGL vendor string: Tungsten Graphics, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Radeon 20020611 AGP 1x x86/MMX/3DNow! TCL
OpenGL version string: 1.2 Mesa 4.0.4
|
Hope that helps, that is how I got it working. If you have any problems, just tell me which part you got stuck on, and I can try explaining it better, good luck though
Stu[/code] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mow Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 06 May 2003 Posts: 106
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 2:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | emerge ati-drivers
how hard can that be? |
For one I have heard that those drivers ....... well suck and some are using the FireGL drivers. There is also the hangups I've seen (and had) with getting Xfree to work.
StuStill's post so far has the best steps that I've seen so far and that should relate to the 9500 and 9700 cards.
I will try your steps stu ....... and thanks. I hope this helps others as well
QUESTION: If I don't do the USE commands will it just compile support for every supported card? I'v already done the xfree-drm part (before I posted this) and wanted to see what I'm missing. Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stustill Guru
Joined: 25 Feb 2003 Posts: 333 Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 3:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, it just compiles extra modules for the various different graphics cards! You also need to be make sure you compile xfree-drm AFTER the kernel, because otherwise, compiling the kernel gets rid of your modules (just like if you recompile the kernel, you need to recompile ALSA).
Good luck !
Stu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
paranode l33t
Joined: 06 Mar 2003 Posts: 679 Location: Texas
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 6:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
And if you have a Mobility chip you'll probably find that it's all in vain because they don't have any 3D support yet as far as I know. _________________ Meh. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mow Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 06 May 2003 Posts: 106
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 7:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks stu ......... I was going to try the FireGL drivers (which I had success with in Red Hat 9) ...... is there anything extra/special I need to do to ge those to work instead? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dabooty Guru
Joined: 15 May 2003 Posts: 482 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 7:45 pm Post subject: thanx a million stu |
|
|
thanx a million stu,
i have been searching all over to get an original radeon chipset working,
could this post be made a sticky so everyone can see it? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stustill Guru
Joined: 25 Feb 2003 Posts: 333 Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 8:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No idea, the only Radeon related stuff I have done to my box, is what I described already! Can't help you with anything beyond that. Is FireGL something I should be looking in to?
BTW, did what I describe work?
Stu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mow Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 06 May 2003 Posts: 106
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 8:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I haven't tried your instructions yet (not at home )....... you may wnat to try the FireGL drivers as they "seem" to be better than the ati-drivers. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jagerman Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 104 Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mow Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 06 May 2003 Posts: 106
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 9:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
okay I'm a bit newbish so I have to ask ......... what is the command line(s) to install those drivers? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
crowbert Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 28 Apr 2003 Posts: 146
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 10:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, I followed the directions, only the "Load" statements in the "Device" section gave an error, so I commented them out and uncommented them in the "Module" section.
glxinfo reports a bunch of stuff including:
direct rendering: No
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
I'm under the impression that I have GLX set up right now (which is an improvement), but I still don't have DRI.
lsmod tells me:
Module Size Used by Tainted: PF
radeon 106500 0 (unused)
My video card info from /proc/pci:
Bus 1, device 0, function 0:
VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon VE QY (rev 0).
IRQ 11.
Master Capable. Latency=64. Min Gnt=8.
Prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0xf0000000 [0xf7ffffff].
I/O at 0xec00 [0xecff].
Non-prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0xff8f0000 [0xff8fffff].
I think I have all the radeon support options turned on in my kernel, but I also emerged the ati-drivers (with the ebuild fix listed above), and it seems to have added a fglrx module, but loading that produces errors:
% modprobe fglrx
Warning: loading /lib/modules/2.4.20/video/fglrx.o will taint the kernel: non-GPL license - Proprietary. (C) 2002 - ATI Technologies, Starnberg, GERMANY
See http://www.tux.org/lkml/#export-tainted for information about tainted modules
/lib/modules/2.4.20/video/fglrx.o: init_module: No such device
Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters.
You may find more information in syslog or the output from dmesg
/lib/modules/2.4.20/video/fglrx.o: insmod /lib/modules/2.4.20/video/fglrx.o failed
/lib/modules/2.4.20/video/fglrx.o: insmod fglrx failed
So where do I go from here? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stustill Guru
Joined: 25 Feb 2003 Posts: 333 Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 10:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
My kernel options include:
/dev/agpgart (AGP Support) - MODULE
VIA chipset support - ON
Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 DRI support) - OFF
Frame-buffer support>>ATI Radeon display support (EXPERIMENTAL) - OFF
So, as you can see, I have NOTHING to do with radeon compiled into my kernel, it all comes later, with xfree-drm. The version used in the current kernel does not co-operate with xfree 4.3.0, but the xfree-drm version works dandy.
Then, after this emerge xfree-drm (with the USE flags set as before), which installs the swanky new radeon module. Add agpgart and radeon to /etc/modules.autoload, and fix XF86Config like I previouslly mentioned. Note that the ati-drivers in portage is for r200-r300, and my card is an r100. So, if you are using anything less than the r200, then DO NOT touch ati-drivers, they are only likely to wipe out working radeon modules.
If you have already installed ati-drivers and your card isn't r200 +, then unmerge ati-drivers with the command, emerge unmerge ati-drivers. Then recompile your kernel as described above, and then emerge xfree-drm.
Note again, this is for the R100, oh and good luck!
Stu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mow Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 06 May 2003 Posts: 106
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 11:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Now should I emerge the ati drivers before or after I emerge the Xfree DRM? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stustill Guru
Joined: 25 Feb 2003 Posts: 333 Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 11:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, as I said, I have never emerged the ati drivers! My card is an r100, not supported by the drivers. I figure that if you have an r200, you should probably emerge ati-drivers last. It might not even be necessary to emerge xfree-drm, but it (probably) wouldn't do any harm.
I would love to have access to one of each model of ATI cards so that I could write a proper guide on getting 3D support working in gentoo. So, if anyone feels the urge to donate some radeon cards to me, I will be quiet happy to create a full and thorough HOWTO. As is, at best I can guess on how to get support for anything other than an r100.
Mow, what type of radeon is it that you have?
Stu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mow Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 06 May 2003 Posts: 106
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 11:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
9700 Pro.
I have already emerged the DRM files so I will do the ATI drivers then DRM again to be sure it's correct.
Then I'm off to configure X ....... shoudl I use the fglrxconfig or the basic xf86config? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stustill Guru
Joined: 25 Feb 2003 Posts: 333 Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 11:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, I don't think that there are fglx drivers for XFree 4.3.0, so provided you are using 4.2 or 4.1 XF86, then I think maybe you should just install fglx?
Try reading the information on this link, it is on the ATI web site for the 9700 Pro drivers. Might contain some useful information.
http://pdownload.mii.instacontent.net/ati/drivers/410251-420251.html
Here is an idea: Would it be a good idea to get a group of radeon users, all with different radeon cards to produce some sort of HOWTO that could perhaps be accessed from the Doc section on www.gentoo.org. Every user could detail the installation instructions for their particular card model. This way, all anyone needs do to install an ATI card, is look up the HOWTO, locate the section dedicated to their card and follow the instructions. If we could get enough people to create instructions for enough cards, it could make it much easier to get 3d accelerated radeon cards. I could detail r100, anyone else interested for other models of radeon?
Stu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mow Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 06 May 2003 Posts: 106
|
Posted: Mon May 19, 2003 11:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Fantastic idea Stu ....... that would cut these threads down and give us n00bs a place to go! Once I get my card working I'll throw my steps into the fray! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mow Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 06 May 2003 Posts: 106
|
Posted: Tue May 20, 2003 1:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Okay I have gotten to get into the garbage X ....... but I'm missing something because when I exit out to a console I see the error:
(WW) RADEON: No Matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:1:0:1) found X connection to :0.o broken.
It's obvious I've missed something ......... but I can't seem to find what. Here is my XF86Config:
Quote: | Section "Module"
# This loads the DBE extension module.
Load "dbe" # Double buffer extension
# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
SubSection "extmod"
Option "omit xfree86-dga" # don't initialise the DGA extension
EndSubSection
# This loads the Type1 and FreeType font modules
Load "type1"
Load "speedo"
# Load "freetype"
# Load "xtt"
# This loads the GLX module
Load "glx"
# This loads the DRI module
Load "dri"
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Files section. This allows default font and rgb paths to be set
# **********************************************************************
Section "Files"
# The location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (which are concatenated together),
# as well as specifying multiple comma-separated entries in one FontPath
# command (or a combination of both methods)
#
# If you don't have a floating point coprocessor and emacs, Mosaic or other
# programs take long to start up, try moving the Type1 and Speedo directory
# to the end of this list (or comment them out).
#
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
# FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TrueType/"
# FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/freefont/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
# The module search path. The default path is shown here.
# ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.
# **********************************************************************
Section "ServerFlags"
# Uncomment this to cause a core dump at the spot where a signal is
# received. This may leave the console in an unusable state, but may
# provide a better stack trace in the core dump to aid in debugging
# Option "NoTrapSignals"
# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><Fn> VT switch sequence
# (where n is 1 through 12). This allows clients to receive these key
# events.
# Option "DontVTSwitch"
# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><BS> server abort sequence
# This allows clients to receive this key event.
# Option "DontZap"
# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> mode switching
# sequences. This allows clients to receive these key events.
# Option "Dont Zoom"
# Uncomment this to disable tuning with the xvidtune client. With
# it the client can still run and fetch card and monitor attributes,
# but it will not be allowed to change them. If it tries it will
# receive a protocol error.
# Option "DisableVidModeExtension"
# Uncomment this to enable the use of a non-local xvidtune client.
# Option "AllowNonLocalXvidtune"
# Uncomment this to disable dynamically modifying the input device
# (mouse and keyboard) settings.
# Option "DisableModInDev"
# Uncomment this to enable the use of a non-local client to
# change the keyboard or mouse settings (currently only xset).
# Option "AllowNonLocalModInDev"
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Input devices
# **********************************************************************
# **********************************************************************
# Core keyboard's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard1"
Driver "Keyboard"
# For most OSs the protocol can be omitted (it defaults to "Standard").
# When using XQUEUE (only for SVR3 and SVR4, but not Solaris),
# uncomment the following line.
# Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"
Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
# Option "LeftAlt" "Meta"
# Option "RightAlt" "ModeShift"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
# These are the default XKB settings for XFree86
# Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
# Option "XkbModel" "pc101"
# Option "XkbLayout" "us"
# Option "XkbVariant" ""
# Option "XkbOptions" ""
# Option "XkbDisable"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc101"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Core Pointer's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************
Section "InputDevice"
# Identifier and driver
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "Auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
# Mouse-speed setting for PS/2 mouse.
# Option "Resolution" "256"
# When using XQUEUE, comment out the above two lines, and uncomment
# the following line.
# Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"
# Baudrate and SampleRate are only for some Logitech mice. In
# almost every case these lines should be omitted.
# Option "BaudRate" "9600"
# Option "SampleRate" "150"
# Emulate3Buttons is an option for 2-button Microsoft mice
# Emulate3Timeout is the timeout in milliseconds (default is 50ms)
# Option "Emulate3Buttons"
# Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
# ChordMiddle is an option for some 3-button Logitech mice
# Option "ChordMiddle"
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Other input device sections
# this is optional and is required only if you
# are using extended input devices. This is for example only. Refer
# to the XF86Config man page for a description of the options.
# **********************************************************************
#
# Section "InputDevice"
# Identifier "Mouse2"
# Driver "mouse"
# Option "Protocol" "MouseMan"
# Option "Device" "/dev/mouse2"
# EndSection
#
# Section "InputDevice"
# Identifier "spaceball"
# Driver "magellan"
# Option "Device" "/dev/cua0"
# EndSection
#
# Section "InputDevice"
# Identifier "spaceball2"
# Driver "spaceorb"
# Option "Device" "/dev/cua0"
# EndSection
#
# Section "InputDevice"
# Identifier "touchscreen0"
# Driver "microtouch"
# Option "Device" "/dev/ttyS0"
# Option "MinX" "1412"
# Option "MaxX" "15184"
# Option "MinY" "15372"
# Option "MaxY" "1230"
# Option "ScreenNumber" "0"
# Option "ReportingMode" "Scaled"
# Option "ButtonNumber" "1"
# Option "SendCoreEvents"
# EndSection
#
# Section "InputDevice"
# Identifier "touchscreen1"
# Driver "elo2300"
# Option "Device" "/dev/ttyS0"
# Option "MinX" "231"
# Option "MaxX" "3868"
# Option "MinY" "3858"
# Option "MaxY" "272"
# Option "ScreenNumber" "0"
# Option "ReportingMode" "Scaled"
# Option "ButtonThreshold" "17"
# Option "ButtonNumber" "1"
# Option "SendCoreEvents"
# EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Monitor section
# **********************************************************************
# Any number of monitor sections may be present
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "My Monitor"
# HorizSync is in kHz unless units are specified.
# HorizSync may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY. REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.
HorizSync 30.0 - 80.0
# HorizSync 30-64 # multisync
# HorizSync 31.5, 35.2 # multiple fixed sync frequencies
# HorizSync 15-25, 30-50 # multiple ranges of sync frequencies
# VertRefresh is in Hz unless units are specified.
# VertRefresh may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY. REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.
VertRefresh 50.0 - 85.0
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************
# Any number of graphics device sections may be present
# Standard VGA Device:
Section "Device"
Identifier "Standard VGA"
VendorName "Unknown"
BoardName "Unknown"
# The chipset line is optional in most cases. It can be used to override
# the driver's chipset detection, and should not normally be specified.
# Chipset "generic"
# The Driver line must be present. When using run-time loadable driver
# modules, this line instructs the server to load the specified driver
# module. Even when not using loadable driver modules, this line
# indicates which driver should interpret the information in this section.
Driver "vga"
# The BusID line is used to specify which of possibly multiple devices
# this section is intended for. When this line isn't present, a device
# section can only match up with the primary video device. For PCI
# devices a line like the following could be used. This line should not
# normally be included unless there is more than one video device
# intalled.
# BusID "PCI:0:10:0"
# VideoRam 256
# Clocks 25.2 28.3
EndSection
# Device configured by xf86config:
Section "Device"
Identifier "** ATI Radeon (generic) [radeon]"
Driver "radeon"
#VideoRam 131072
# Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Screen sections
# **********************************************************************
# Any number of screen sections may be present. Each describes
# the configuration of a single screen. A single specific screen section
# may be specified from the X server command line with the "-screen"
# option.
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen 1"
Device "** ATI Radeon (generic) [radeon]"
Monitor "My Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# ServerLayout sections.
# **********************************************************************
# Any number of ServerLayout sections may be present. Each describes
# the way multiple screens are organised. A specific ServerLayout
# section may be specified from the X server command line with the
# "-layout" option. In the absence of this, the first section is used.
# When now ServerLayout section is present, the first Screen section
# is used alone.
Section "ServerLayout"
# The Identifier line must be present
Identifier "Simple Layout"
# Each Screen line specifies a Screen section name, and optionally
# the relative position of other screens. The four names after
# primary screen name are the screens to the top, bottom, left and right
# of the primary screen. In this example, screen 2 is located to the
# right of screen 1.
Screen "Screen 1"
# Each InputDevice line specifies an InputDevice section name and
# optionally some options to specify the way the device is to be
# used. Those options include "CorePointer", "CoreKeyboard" and
# "SendCoreEvents".
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
# Section "DRI"
# Mode 0666
# EndSection
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
stustill Guru
Joined: 25 Feb 2003 Posts: 333 Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
|
Posted: Tue May 20, 2003 12:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hmm, was that with fglxconfig or xf86config that you generated that?
Stu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zfc-tinkerer Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 05 May 2003 Posts: 126
|
Posted: Tue May 20, 2003 3:29 pm Post subject: mobile ati cards |
|
|
actually, 3D does work on some mobile ati cards. I have an ati M7 (mobile version of 7500), and right now I'm getting ~1300 fps in glxgears on it. This is without any tweaking. I'm just using xfree-drm drivers to do this. (basically followed the instructions at the beginning of this thread) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mow Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 06 May 2003 Posts: 106
|
Posted: Tue May 20, 2003 5:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
stu -- that was the xf86config I used. If I use the fglrxconfig my screen just goes blank and I have to do a hard reset. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
KiTaSuMbA Guru
Joined: 28 Jun 2002 Posts: 430 Location: Naples Italy
|
Posted: Tue May 20, 2003 6:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm going crazy....
I need to enable DRI on a radeon M6 LY (an old mobility one). Interesting thing, I have installed gentoo w/ xfree 4.3 on this laptop before and dri did work but now no matter what I try it wont!
I'm using 2.4.20-ck6 (with both MTRR and agpgart built-in) and have already emerged xfree-drm. The radeon module loads but stays unused.
Here follow my XF86Config and a log
the XF86Config:
Code: |
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "XFree86 Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
EndSection
Section "Module"
Load "extmod"
Load "dri"
Load "dbe"
Load "record"
Load "xtrap"
Load "glx"
Load "speedo"
Load "type1"
EndSection
Section "DRI"
Group 0
Mode 0666
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "it"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 31.5 - 48.5
VertRefresh 40.0 - 70.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection
Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "Dac6Bit" # [<bool>]
#Option "Dac8Bit" # [<bool>]
#Option "ForcePCIMode" # [<bool>]
#Option "CPPIOMode" # [<bool>]
#Option "CPusecTimeout" # <i>
Option "AGPMode" "4" # <i>
Option "AGPFastWrite" "true" # [<bool>]
#Option "AGPSize" # <i>
#Option "RingSize" # <i>
#Option "BufferSize" # <i>
#Option "EnableDepthMoves" # [<bool>]
Option "EnablePageFlip" "true" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoBackBuffer" # [<bool>]
#Option "DRIReinit" # [<bool>]
#Option "PanelOff" # [<bool>]
#Option "DDCMode" # [<bool>]
#Option "MonitorLayout" # [<str>]
#Option "IgnoreEDID" # [<bool>]
#Option "OverlayOnCRTC2" # [<bool>]
#Option "CloneMode" # [<str>]
#Option "CloneHSync" # [<str>]
#Option "CloneVRefresh" # [<str>]
Option "UseFBDev" "false" # [<bool>]
#Option "VideoKey" # <i>
Option "DPMS" "true"
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "radeon" #radeon?
VendorName "ATI Technologies Inc"
BoardName "Radeon Mobility M6 LY"
VideoRam 16384
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
EndSection
|
EDIT: Ok, found the problem and solved (that's why I got rid of the log that just ate space).
Silly, silly me I had the old 4.1 radeon drm in the kernel built-in while I was ready to bet a million dollars it was "M"
That's why although I did load the radeon module installed by xfree-drm the builtin code that has precedence tried to manage the card and the module stayed unused. Life can be very ironic sometimes _________________ Need to flame people LIVE on IRC? Join #gentoo-otw on freenode!
Last edited by KiTaSuMbA on Tue May 20, 2003 6:58 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|