Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Ughh Boot troubles
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BlackSoul
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 6
Location: Idaho

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 7:43 pm    Post subject: Ughh Boot troubles Reply with quote

Okay, finally got through the install process ( using 1.4_rc4 ) go to reboot
and after lilo gets ready to load i get the following message then it reboots:

Code:
BIOS data check successful


Installing on a Toshiba Satellite 2100CDS ( AMD K62 400MHz : ESS Maestro : ATI Rage+ : Belkin F5D5020 PCMCIA 16bit Cardbus : 4-5GB HDD : 192MB RAM)

Code:
CFLAGS="-03 -mcpu=i586 -pipe"


Shouldn't that be i686?!?
Pretty new to Gentoo, so If I need to provide any further information, just let me know. :)
_________________
- BlackSoul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frenkel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 1034
Location: .nl

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

You should change
Code:

CFLAGS="-03 -mcpu=i586 -pipe"
to
CFLAGS="-03 -march=k6 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"

To have maximum optimization.

When you compiled the kernel, you should have set the processor type in menuconfig to K6/K6-2 or something like that, because now your pc try's to start a kernel, wich is optimized for a different processor type.

Just reboot using the live-cd, do a make menuconfig, change the processortype, do a make dep && make clean bzImage modules modules_install and copy the bzImage to your boot place.

Good luck!!
Frank
_________________
http://techfield.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lycander
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Apr 2003
Posts: 468

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd recommend using -O2 instead of -O3. I've read a few sources already and here's the reasoning NOT to use -O3

- More likely to generate bad binaries that crash
- Prolongs compile time....
- .... little to no gain on performance, and in some cases actually produces slower code
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlackSoul
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 6
Location: Idaho

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will you marry me, Frank? :D

That worked like a charm, thank you very much. :)
_________________
- BlackSoul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlackSoul
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 6
Location: Idaho

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info, Lycander. I will have to keep that in mind. ;)
_________________
- BlackSoul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pinnockio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jun 2002
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Nop, AMD-k6 are still i586. I686 starts for AMD from the duron and Athlon. Be aware of this if you later would reinstall Gentoo >1.4rc with pre-compiled binaries for i586,i686, athlon etc.

Before the pentium, cpu-architectures of the same family were referenced to by i386 or i486. Every major change in the architecture involved a change in this number. But they couldn't obtain a trademark for this naming, because the US trademark office doesn't allow numbers to be trademarked. That is why thy start using pentium to refer to this fifth generation of processors (penta > greek > fife). Since then they used variants of this name.

Going from x486 to petium introced some changes in architecture for speed, but no major changes in the processesors instruction set. This radical change and addition to the instruction set was done with the PentiumPro and this one is informally referred as the i686-architecture. The pentiumMMX, pentiumII and pentiumIII only introduced some new instructions/ implementation changes for vector-representation of integers or floating-points and on-chip implementations (eg. as of the pentiumIII the L2 cache resides on the die itself)/ amount of transistors.

The athlon can be seen as a new radical change in architecture, because of the large number of instructions added and amount of transistors on the chip. This architecture of processors is referred to as the 7th generation. So each new generation (6, 7th etc.) involves a major change in processor design.

So why is the AMD-K6 on one hand a 6th generation cpu and on the other hand a 5th generation? A major change from the 5th to the sixth generation were the MMX-instructions and the ISA and MSR instructions. AMD implements the first, but not the latter. So from a programmers point of view an AMD-K6 is more a pentium (i586) than a pentium pro (and unfortunately compilers favorize intel style optimization). That is why it is better to talk about 386, 486 and from then forget about the i586 and talk about the pentium/pentium pro/pentium mmx/pentium II/pentium III and pentium IV and amd-k5/amd-k6/athlon.

I hope this will have shed some light on your confusion (and sometimes mine ;) ).


Kind regards,

A belgian Gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pinnockio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jun 2002
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

By the way use
cat /proc/cpuinfo and look at family, you will see a five listed ;)

Kind regards,

A belgian Gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlackSoul
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 6
Location: Idaho

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info, pinnockio. Very informative. :)
_________________
- BlackSoul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Isaiah
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 359

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lycander wrote:
I'd recommend using -O2 instead of -O3. I've read a few sources already and here's the reasoning NOT to use -O3

- More likely to generate bad binaries that crash
- Prolongs compile time....
- .... little to no gain on performance, and in some cases actually produces slower code


Hey Lycander - fancy meeting you here - w:lol::lol:f!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frenkel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 1034
Location: .nl

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BlackSoul wrote:
Will you marry me, Frank? :D

That worked like a charm, thank you very much. :)


I'd love to :P
LOL
_________________
http://techfield.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lycander
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Apr 2003
Posts: 468

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isaiah wrote:
Lycander wrote:
I'd recommend using -O2 instead of -O3. I've read a few sources already and here's the reasoning NOT to use -O3

- More likely to generate bad binaries that crash
- Prolongs compile time....
- .... little to no gain on performance, and in some cases actually produces slower code


Hey Lycander - fancy meeting you here - w:lol::lol:f!


Sorry for going off topic, just wanted to say hi to a fellow dawg. w00f!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Korean Ian
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 May 2003
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also if you didn't enable Toshiba laptop support when you compile the kernel.

Regards,
KI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum