Can't listen to audio from a radio station over the internet
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mankatoee
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:40 pm    Post subject: Can't listen to audio from a radio station over the internet Reply with quote

I can't seem to get the audio stream from radio station www.ktlkfm.com. They have a button to click on that brings up the popup to listen to the station, it trys to connect then says: unknown plugin: application/x-mplayer2.

I have mplayer version 3.35 installed but may not have it completely configured it correctly. Do I need to get copies of Windows codecs or set some other configuration? As a novice I can't find the direction that I need to get this fixed.

Also how do I get the direct URL of the stream so I don't have to log on the the stations web site and click on their listen now icon?
cerebus_k
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 1:52 am    Post subject: Re: Can't listen to audio from a radio station over the inte Reply with quote

mankatoee wrote:
I can't seem to get the audio stream [...snip...], it trys to connect then says: unknown plugin: application/x-mplayer2.

I have mplayer version 3.35 installed but may not have it completely configured it correctly.[...snip...]

You are refering to the mplayerplug-in package in portage and it has several USE settings one of which is "wmp". To add this create/modify the file

/etc/portage/package.use

and add the line (or modify it if it's alleady there) to read:

Code:

net-www/mplayerplug-in wmp

(FWIW, mine reads: net-www/mplayerplug-in divx gmedia realmedia wmp )

and re-emerge mplayerplugin-in

mankatoee wrote:
Also how do I get the direct URL of the stream so I don't have to log on the the stations web site and click on their listen now icon?

Sorry, don't know this one.

Hope some of this helps.

bill
mankatoee
n00b
n00b