View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
robinswan Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 14 Oct 2005 Posts: 139
|
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:29 pm Post subject: How to configure Gitweb step by step |
|
|
I want to setup my Git repository to Gitweb server in order to conveniently browse my code.
after install gitweb package, I edit the gitweb.cgi looks like below:
Code: |
# core git executable to use
# this can just be "git" if your webserver has a sensible PATH
our $GIT = "/root/bin/git";
# absolute fs-path which will be prepended to the project path
#our $projectroot = "/pub/scm";
our $projectroot = "/repos/git/"
# target of the home link on top of all pages
our $home_link = $my_uri || "/";
# string of the home link on top of all pages
our $home_link_str = "projects";
# name of your site or organization to appear in page titles
# replace this with something more descriptive for clearer bookmarks
our $site_name = ""
|| ($ENV{'SERVER_NAME'} || "Untitled") . " Git";
|
and configure the /etc/apache/httpd.conf, add alias to gitweb.cgi
Code: |
ScriptAlias /gitweb "/var/www/localhost/htdocs/gitweb/gitweb.cgi"
|
I restart Apache2, and visit the gitweb alias address in Firefox.
I can see the Gitweb error message:
Quote: | Software error:
syntax error at /var/www/localhost/htdocs/gitweb/gitweb.cgi line 39, near "our "
Global symbol "$home_link" requires explicit package name at /var/www/localhost/htdocs/gitweb/gitweb.cgi line 39.
Global symbol "$home_link" requires explicit package name at /var/www/localhost/htdocs/gitweb/gitweb.cgi line 1773.
Execution of /var/www/localhost/htdocs/gitweb/gitweb.cgi aborted due to compilation errors.
For help, please send mail to the webmaster (root@localhost), giving this error message and the time and date of the error. |
I tried to follow the official INSTALL and README document in the source package,
but I can't understood exactly!
Any one can tell me Gitweb configuraiton step by step, advanced appreciation !!! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
didumos Guru
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 322 Location: uk
|
Posted: Sun May 27, 2007 10:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Just incase you didn't figure out what the problem is, you are missing a semi-colon at the end of the $projectroot line. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|