Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
xen gentoo virtual host [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
XenoTerraCide
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 1418
Location: MI, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 3:53 pm    Post subject: xen gentoo virtual host [solved] Reply with quote

I'm trying to run gentoo on top of a centos xen server. I'm unable to boot all the way and don't know why.

note: I can't copy and past this
Code:
VFS: Mounted root (ext3 filesystem) read only
Freeing unused kernel memory: 312k freed
Warning: unable to open an initial console


I don't know why or what would be causing this. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
_________________
I don't hang out here anymore, try asking on http://unix.stackexchange.com/ if you want my help.


Last edited by XenoTerraCide on Tue Apr 10, 2007 1:27 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IQgryn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 764
Location: WI, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds like you're missing the static devices needed in /dev/ before udev takes over. Mine looks like this:
Code:
iqgryn ~ # mount --bind / /mnt
iqgryn ~ # ls /mnt/dev/
console  null
iqgryn ~ # ls -l /mnt/dev/
total 0
crw------- 1 root tty  5, 1 Oct 19  2005 console
crw-rw-rw- 1 root root 1, 3 Oct 19  2005 null
iqgryn ~ #
If you don't have those devices, use mknod to create them:
Code:
cd /dev
mknod console c 5 1
mknod null c 1 3
Make sure /dev is not mounted separately before you do this. If you need to, you can run
Code:
mount --bind / /mnt
and then use /mnt/dev instead of /dev above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XenoTerraCide
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 1418
Location: MI, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

about to test. do you know if I need anything in any of the other pseudo filesystems like proc or sys before hand? what happened is I had this running on his kernel and I had some issues because centos is still on 2.6.9 so instead of doing a fresh tarball install I rsync-ed over all the "static" fs's so I'm wondering if I may have missed other things.
_________________
I don't hang out here anymore, try asking on http://unix.stackexchange.com/ if you want my help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IQgryn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 764
Location: WI, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neither my /proc nor my /sys have anything in them before the pseudo filesystems get mounted. I think you're covered, but let me know if you get more errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XenoTerraCide
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 1418
Location: MI, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah I did but, I realized what the issue was (with that one), and it was me being stupid. anyways I'm just going to reinstall... It'll be easier... it may even be the only solution because I have to repartition.
_________________
I don't hang out here anymore, try asking on http://unix.stackexchange.com/ if you want my help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum