nVidia 6100 onbrd amd64 freezes with X abit NF-M2S [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jbirkett
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 3:14 am    Post subject: nVidia 6100 onbrd amd64 freezes with X abit NF-M2S [solved] Reply with quote

I am a noob to both Gentoo and amd64. I have followed the Gentoo Linux nVidia Guide and installed all the modules. I currently have an abit board with an nVidia GeForce6100 built in.
Current dist is 2.6.20-r7.
nVidia drivers are 1.0.8776-r1
In Xorg.0.log they seem to load fine, but the entire system freezes with only an underline cursor at the very top left of the screen. I have tried cntrl+alt+bkspc to get back to the console, but to no avail. the only resolution is to reboot the system.

What other information can I provide to help.
Thanks,
John

Last edited by jbirkett on Mon Apr 30, 2007 5:20 am; edited 2 times in total
BitJam
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo and AMD64. I have an Nvidia 6150 chip in my AMD64 motherboard. I'm using the latest nvidia-drivers-1.0.9755-r1 which seemed to work better than the 1.0.8776 for me. To try this version of the nvidia drivers you just need to:
Code:
# echo "x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers ~amd64" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
# emerge nvidia-drivers

I've had some weird problems related to the nvidia-drivers but not the one you describe. My problems have been more often occurring at shutdown with the system freezing instead of gracefully exiting X. There is no guarantee that the latest nvidia-drivers will fix your problem but it is worth a try.

When you reboot after a freeze, take a look at the log files in /var/log/ and see if any clue was left. Were you able to get X to work with the nv driver?