no openoffice,no screensaver, emerge fetches nothing
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
battletroll
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:06 pm    Post subject: no openoffice,no screensaver, emerge fetches nothing Reply with quote

Hi, I'm new to Gentoo, though I've used some RH based (FC 3, Conectiva) and Debian based (Debian, Ubuntu, Linspire) in the past. I don't know if this is the most correct forum to post my queries, if not please direct me where it should be.

I have a machine with a Sempron 3400+, 120GiB harddrive + CDRW. It has a partition with WinXP on it (10GiB), and I went on with AMD64 LiveCD - everything worked just seamless (I even had sound right from boot, impressive).

Working with the LiveCD I had an option to configure the screensaver from gnome, and I played with OO and, aside from being soooo slow (as usual ;-) ), everything was right.

Then I proceeded to install using the GTK+ installer, I placed in a 2GiB swap partition, 40GiB reiserfs as / and 50GiB xfs as /home.

The install went on smooth and it apparently ended OK, so I rebooted, now booting from HD. And then...

First surprise: there's no way I can configure Xscreensavers from within gnome (I don't even have the corresponding menu item, not even when I login to gdm as root).

Second: OO doesn't run, when running it from command line it quits with an error like "object bad registered" or something (sorry, I'm writing from memory)

Third: Since I don't have internet access at home, I tried to do a:
emerge -puf world 2> links.txt
as suggested in gentoo-wiki in order that I may fetch files from work or internet coffee and then use them at home... guess what? "links.txt" is EMPTY!!!