View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mazingaz n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Jetsons/cartoon_the_jetsons_astro.gif)
Joined: 24 Jan 2006 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 4:10 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] Using CD kernel instead of compiling kernel |
|
|
hi guys. I am trying to use the precomplied kernel from the minimal live cd. If so do i still need to emerge gentoo-sources?
Last edited by mazingaz on Fri Apr 27, 2007 4:20 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
nixnut Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/29856733845fd04c0f3d8c.gif)
Joined: 09 Apr 2004 Posts: 10974 Location: the dutch mountains
|
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 4:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you use the livecd kernel, you don't need any kernel sources to have a bootable system. But some packages may depend on the kernel sources. So, it's likely your system will want to install kernel sources at some point. _________________ Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mazingaz n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Jetsons/cartoon_the_jetsons_astro.gif)
Joined: 24 Jan 2006 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 5:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ic... then is there a way to have cd kernel source copied on to the boot? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mazingaz n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Jetsons/cartoon_the_jetsons_astro.gif)
Joined: 24 Jan 2006 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 5:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
let me re-phrase that.
how can i copy cd kernel source into /usr/src/linux |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The big question is: why would you want to?
I have gotten a system to work using the kernel from the livecd before but I don't remember the exact steps. In the least you'll need to copy "gentoo.igz" and "gentoo" plus everything in /lib/modules to the right directories on the hard drive. I don't recommend this procedure.
A much nicer thing to do is to copy the kernel configuration from /proc - the file is named "config.gz" (it's compressed - you need to gunzip it) - you can use it to build your own kernel with the same options as the livecd one. If you don't like menuconfig - just use genkernel with the config file.
The syntax is:
Code: |
genkernel --kernel-config=/path_to_your_config_file all
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In addition, what's in /usr/src/linux is the kernel source code. That's not what's being used to boot the system. The files in /boot are compiled binaries and that's what you need in order for Linux to boot. I don't believe the kernel source is included on the live CD. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
gerard27 Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
Joined: 04 Jan 2004 Posts: 2377 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 7:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi All,
I think this might give problems emergeing some progs.
I know for sure there are some ebuilds that check the kernel
source files.
Try making the "linux" symlink in /usr/src to point to an older linux file or to something else
and nvidia for sure will refuse to install!
G. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 7:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Gerard van Vuuren wrote: | Hi All,
I think this might give problems emergeing some progs.
I know for sure there are some ebuilds that check the kernel
source files.
Try making the "linux" symlink in /usr/src to point to an older linux file or to something else
and nvidia for sure will refuse to install!
G. |
You're right. Anything that needs to compile a kernel module will die. That's one of the reasons I don't recommend that option. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mazingaz n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Jetsons/cartoon_the_jetsons_astro.gif)
Joined: 24 Jan 2006 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ph0eniX wrote: | The big question is: why would you want to?
I have gotten a system to work using the kernel from the livecd before but I don't remember the exact steps. In the least you'll need to copy "gentoo.igz" and "gentoo" plus everything in /lib/modules to the right directories on the hard drive. I don't recommend this procedure.
A much nicer thing to do is to copy the kernel configuration from /proc - the file is named "config.gz" (it's compressed - you need to gunzip it) - you can use it to build your own kernel with the same options as the livecd one. If you don't like menuconfig - just use genkernel with the config file.
The syntax is:
Code: |
genkernel --kernel-config=/path_to_your_config_file all
|
|
Isn't this same as method described in the handbook?
(Only do this if you are going to configure a 2.6 kernel)
# zcat /proc/config.gz > /usr/share/genkernel/x86/kernel-config-2.6
whenever I try to use genkernel I encounter a such difficult time executing framebuffer option in the grub.conf. However if i use cd kernel it works wonderfully.
vga=0x318 video=vesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap
I was never able to solve this.
This is the hardware i have
p3 750
256 ram
rage128
40 gig ide |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try the ATI framebuffer instead of VESA:
Kernel config option:
grub.conf:
Code: |
video=aty128fb:1600x1200-32@60
|
Just substitute the resolution, color depth and the refresh rate with the right values. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Also, you can find grub.conf on the livecd in /mnt/cdrom/isolinux - the file is named isolinux.cfg. Just see what video options it uses. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mazingaz n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Jetsons/cartoon_the_jetsons_astro.gif)
Joined: 24 Jan 2006 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Dang..
After installing grub and writing the script shown in the handbook grub splash image fail to execute
as soon as it boots it will become blank and goes into the loading kernel with large console fonts.
I will uninstall grub and reinstall grub. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 2:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mazingaz wrote: | Dang..
After installing grub and writing the script shown in the handbook grub splash image fail to execute
as soon as it boots it will become blank and goes into the loading kernel with large console fonts.
I will uninstall grub and reinstall grub. |
Is that the ATI Rage Pro 128 card you're using? That's what one of my system has and it's running the ATI FB correctly (it worked fine with VESAFB in the past too). My current FB configuration is 1600x1200-32@60 and it's working fine. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mazingaz n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Jetsons/cartoon_the_jetsons_astro.gif)
Joined: 24 Jan 2006 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 7:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I was never able to use framebuffer with genkernel. I tired it with aty128fb vesafb-tng and none of them worked.
Here is one thing i am not too sure of. If i recompile the genkernel does it also create initramfs at boot?
what is the exact boot script have to be for the genkernel frambuffer option using vesafb?
currently I have it as following
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.20-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.20-gentoo-r6 vga=0x318 video=vesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap (also tried with the livecd grub.conf vga=791 splash=silent) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
nixnut Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/29856733845fd04c0f3d8c.gif)
Joined: 09 Apr 2004 Posts: 10974 Location: the dutch mountains
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Moved from Installing Gentoo to Kernel & Hardware.
Not about getting gentoo installed, so moved here. _________________ Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jburns Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 18 Jan 2007 Posts: 1227 Location: Massachusetts USA
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 5:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mazingaz wrote: | currently I have it as following
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.20-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.20-gentoo-r6 vga=0x318 video=vesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap (also tried with the livecd grub.conf vga=791 splash=silent) | should be Code: | kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.20-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev vga=0x318 video=vesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.20-gentoo-r6 | "vga=0x318 video=vesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap" are kernel parameters not initrd. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 2:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jburns wrote: | mazingaz wrote: | currently I have it as following
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.20-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.20-gentoo-r6 vga=0x318 video=vesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap (also tried with the livecd grub.conf vga=791 splash=silent) | should be Code: | kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.20-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev vga=0x318 video=vesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.20-gentoo-r6 | "vga=0x318 video=vesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap" are kernel parameters not initrd. |
Good catch. That wouldn't work! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mazingaz n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Jetsons/cartoon_the_jetsons_astro.gif)
Joined: 24 Jan 2006 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 4:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks guys~ it worked...~~ you guys are a best |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 6:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mazingaz wrote: | Thanks guys~ it worked...~~ you guys are a best |
Now try using the ATI frame buffer ![Twisted Evil :twisted:](images/smiles/icon_twisted.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|