View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 7:24 pm Post subject: fan speed, cpu voltage and temperature readings |
|
|
Hi,
I'm looking for a command line utility that will allow me to get fan speed, cpu voltage and temperature readings of the motherboard.
Thank you! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
tcunha Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
Joined: 02 Apr 2007 Posts: 128
|
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | sudo emerge sys-apps/lm_sensors |
Don't forget to compile i2c and hwmon in your kernel.
HTH. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you! I got those modules compiled and loaded but when I run "sensors-detect", it gives me:
Code: |
Do you want to scan for Super I/O sensors? (YES/no): YES
Probing for Super-I/O at 0x2e/0x2f
Trying family `ITE'... Yes
Found unknown chip with ID 0x7401
Trying family `National Semiconductor'... No
Trying family `SMSC'... Yes
Found `SMSC LPC47M182 Super IO Fan Sensors'
(but not activated)
Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Fintek'... No
Probing for Super-I/O at 0x4e/0x4f
Trying family `ITE'... No
Trying family `National Semiconductor'... No
Trying family `SMSC'... No
Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Fintek'... No
Sorry, no sensors were detected.
Either your sensors are not supported, or they are connected to an
I2C or SMBus adapter that is not supported.
|
I'm using the Intel D975XBX2KR mobo. Any ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
shaumux Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 1013 Location: Hamburg
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Have u built the driver for ur monitoring hardware
They r available wen u configure the kernel in
Code: | Device Drivers ->
Hardware Monitoring Support |
U should select the appropriate one there
Also did u try running just the sensors command? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 3:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
shaumux wrote: | Have u built the driver for ur monitoring hardware
They r available wen u configure the kernel in
Code: | Device Drivers ->
Hardware Monitoring Support |
U should select the appropriate one there
Also did u try running just the sensors command? |
I did that. I have compiled and loaded every single driver under Hardware Monitoring Support and it's still not finding any sensors. I tried running the sensors command but it didn't think there were any sensors. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
shaumux Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 1013 Location: Hamburg
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 3:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
R u usure that ur motherboard has hardware monitoring
Try building them into the kernel instead of as modules. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 3:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
shaumux wrote: | R u usure that ur motherboard has hardware monitoring
Try building them into the kernel instead of as modules. |
Yes, I'm sure. fanspeed works fine in Windows. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
shaumux Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 1013 Location: Hamburg
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 3:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Can u find the model of hardware monitering chip from from windows |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
bunder Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
Joined: 10 Apr 2004 Posts: 5947
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
try installing the acpi modules into the kernel... there should be some responsible for sensors. some machines work with these sensors instead of the ones in the hardware sensors category.
also try updating your dsdt if your fans aren't kicking in when they're supposed to.
cheers _________________
Neddyseagoon wrote: | The problem with leaving is that you can only do it once and it reduces your influence. |
banned from #gentoo since sept 2017 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 1:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
shaumux wrote: | Can u find the model of hardware monitering chip from from windows |
it looks like i801 - it's an intel board - the Bad Axe 2 (D975XBX2KR) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 2:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
bunder wrote: | try installing the acpi modules into the kernel... there should be some responsible for sensors. some machines work with these sensors instead of the ones in the hardware sensors category.
also try updating your dsdt if your fans aren't kicking in when they're supposed to.
cheers |
I compiled the kernel with the following ACPI options:
Code: |
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=y
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
CONFIG_ACPI_IBM_DOCK=y
CONFIG_ACPI_EC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSTEM=y
|
but no dice!
I also emerge the latest verison of lm_sensors and it's finding a sensor called "coretemp" but I can't find that module anywhere. Any idea where to get it?
Should I add that I'm running the AMD64 distro? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 4:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, it looks like my mobo uses a Andigilog aSC7621 chip. I found a 3-rd party patch for it on the net and compiled the asc7xxx.ko module ...and loaded it too - DUH. Now when I run "sensors" it displays:
Code: |
asc7621-i2c-0-2e
Adapter: SMBus I801 adapter at 3000
|
Do I need to do something in /etc/sensors.conf in order to get the actual readings? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
shaumux Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 1013 Location: Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 6:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If its displaying the correct output you want then no need to change anything. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 6:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
shaumux wrote: | If its displaying the correct output you want then no need to change anything. |
It displays the adapter names but no useful info:
Code: |
brat / # /usr/bin/sensors
asc7621-i2c-0-2e
Adapter: SMBus I801 adapter at 3000
brat / #
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
shaumux Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 1013 Location: Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 6:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
u need to edit /etc/sensors.conf to get the proper output.
Did u compile sensors before or after installing the driver for the chip?
If u installed it before installing the chip try reinstalling it, it may autoconfigure and make necessary changes as u have the drivers now but i am not sure of that.
U may still need to edit it manually.
:EDIT: Oh yea first try sensors-detect before all these. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Ph0eniX Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/103802685344eb685847e81.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 502 Location: New York, U.S.
|
Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 2:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
shaumux wrote: | u need to edit /etc/sensors.conf to get the proper output.
Did u compile sensors before or after installing the driver for the chip?
If u installed it before installing the chip try reinstalling it, it may autoconfigure and make necessary changes as u have the drivers now but i am not sure of that.
U may still need to edit it manually.
:EDIT: Oh yea first try sensors-detect before all these. |
I don't really know what to edit. I found the coretemp source code and compiled it - it's still not working. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
shaumux Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 1013 Location: Hamburg
|
Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 12:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Heres what mine looks like Code: | chip "w83782d-*" "w83627hf-*"
# Same as above for w83781d except that in5 and in6 are computed differently.
# Rather than an internal inverting op amp, the 82d/83s use standard positive
# inputs and the negative voltages are level shifted by a 3.6V reference.
# The math is convoluted, so we hope that your motherboard
# uses the recommended resistor values.
label in0 "VCore 1"
label in1 "VCore 2"
label in2 "+3.3V"
label in3 "+5V"
label in4 "+12V"
label in5 "-12V"
label in6 "-5V"
label in7 "V5SB"
label in8 "VBat"
# Abit BP6 motherboard has a few differences. VCore1 and VCore2 are the core
# voltages of the two processors. Vtt is memory bus termination resistors
# voltage.
# label in1 "Vtt"
# label in8 "VCore2"
compute in3 ((6.8/10)+1)*@ , @/((6.8/10)+1)
compute in4 ((28/10)+1)*@ , @/((28/10)+1)
compute in5 (5.14 * @) - 14.91 , (@ + 14.91) / 5.14
compute in6 (3.14 * @) - 7.71 , (@ + 7.71) / 3.14
compute in7 ((6.8/10)+1)*@ , @/((6.8/10)+1)
# adjust this if your vid is wrong; see doc/vid
# set vrm 9.0
# set limits to 5% for the critical voltages
# set limits to 10% for the non-critical voltages
# set limits to 20% for the battery voltage
# set in0_min vid*0.95
# set in0_max vid*1.05
# set in1_min vid*0.95
# set in1_max vid*1.05
# set in2_min 3.3 * 0.95
# set in2_max 3.3 * 1.05
# set in3_min 5.0 * 0.95
# set in3_max 5.0 * 1.05
# set in4_min 12 * 0.90
# set in4_max 12 * 1.10
# set in5_max -12 * 0.90
# set in5_min -12 * 1.10
# set in6_max -5 * 0.95
# set in6_min -5 * 1.05
# set in7_min 5 * 0.95
# set in7_max 5 * 1.05
# set in8_min 3.0 * 0.80
# set in8_max 3.0 * 1.20
# set up sensor types (thermistor is default)
# 1 = PII/Celeron Diode; 2 = 3904 transistor;
# 3435 = thermistor with Beta = 3435
# If temperature changes very little, try 1 or 2.
# set sensor1 1
# set sensor2 2
# set sensor3 3435
# examples for temperature limits
# set temp1_over 40
# set temp1_hyst 37
# set temp2_over 52
# set temp2_hyst 47
# set temp3_over 52
# set temp3_hyst 47 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|