View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
benjamintm n00b
Joined: 21 May 2003 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Thu May 22, 2003 6:46 am Post subject: Sapphire ATI Radeon 9000 Pro |
|
|
Hi All,
I'm close to having my system working like I want it. The last thing I'm having trouble with is my Sapphire Tech ATI Radeon 9000 Pro. For some reason, I can't seem to get it to work in DRI mode and glxgears reports 99-120 FPS. When I do a glxinfo, the report indicates that DRI is not working. I've followed the instructions here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=46681&highlight=opengl+ati
and here:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=39034&highlight=ati+9000+pro
And neither has helped. Any suggestions on getting this working?
Here is my Radeon section of the XF86Config:
Code: | Section "Device"
Identifier "** ATI Radeon (generic) [radeon]"
Driver "radeon"
#VideoRam 65536
# Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection |
Code: | # This loads the GLX module
Load "glx"
# This loads the DRI module
Load "dri" |
Code: | Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection |
Thanks,
Ben |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sn4ip3r Guru
Joined: 14 Dec 2002 Posts: 325 Location: Tallinn, Estonia
|
Posted: Thu May 22, 2003 11:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have the exact same type of card and it's working fine with xfree-drm, here's how I got it working:
compile kernel with agpgart as module or builtin
emerge /usr/portage/x11-base/xfree-drm/xfree-drm-4.3.0-r2.ebuild
opengl-update xfree
if agpgart is compiled as a module then add it to /etc/modules.autload (radeon module doesn't have to be put there because it's automatically loaded by X when needed)
and here are the relevant sections of my X configuration
Code: |
...
Section "Module"
Load "dbe" # Double buffer extension
SubSection "extmod"
Option "omit xfree86-dga" # don't initialise the DGA extension
EndSubSection
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "speedo"
Load "glx"
Load "dri"
EndSection
...
Section "Device"
Identifier "Radeon 9000 Pro"
Driver "radeon"
VideoRam 65536
Option "AGPMode" "4"
Option "EnablePageFlip" "True"
Option "EnableDepthMoves" "True"
Option "NoBackBuffer" "False"
EndSection
...
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Radeon 9000 Pro"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection
...
Section "DRI"
#Group 100
#Mode 0660
Mode 0666
EndSection
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
benjamintm n00b
Joined: 21 May 2003 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Thu May 22, 2003 5:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That worked. The graphics seems to be running really well now. Thanks for the help
Ben |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|