Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
NIC bonding and aliases questions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
plut0
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 6:52 pm    Post subject: NIC bonding and aliases questions Reply with quote

I have the following setup in /etc/conf.d/net:
Code:
slaves_bond0="eth0 eth1"
config_bond0=(
               "172.19.51.160 netmask 255.255.0.0"
               "172.19.51.161 netmask 255.255.0.0"
               "172.19.51.162 netmask 255.255.0.0"
             )
routes_bond0=( "default via 172.19.1.1" )


It works, no problem. However, ifconfig only shows the first ip address:
Code:
bond0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:18:8B:3D:B6:88
          inet addr:172.19.51.160  Bcast:172.19.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MASTER MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:201907176 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:208941207 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:64948858415 (61940.0 Mb)  TX bytes:72322721800 (68972.3 Mb)


How do I see all the IP addresses? Should I be using a different alias for each IP address?

Also, is there a way to add another IP address without restarting the net service?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
di1bert
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 963
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've not played with ethernet bonding yet but out of interest what happens
when you run
Code:
ip addr


The reason I ask is that on a server of mine (Gentoo) I've bound a second
address as an alias to eth1 (eth1:1 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx) but it doesn't show up
if I run ifconfig, however it does if I run ip addr and the interface is
working as I am able to access the network on the other IP range.

...

-m
_________________
choff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blu3bird
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 614
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As di1bert allready said: Linux can only handle one IP(v4) address per interface. To use several IP(v4) addresses it must create several (virtual) interfaces.

The first IP(v4) address is bound to the interface bond0
The second IP(v4) address is bound to the interface bond0:1
The third IP(v4) address is bound to the interface bond0:2
and so on...

Same rules apply if you are not using bonding...you'll get eth0, eth0:1, eth0:2...

If you run "ifconfig bond0" it will just sho bond0, not bond0:1 and not bond0:2. To see them all you can use "ifconfig -a"
_________________
Black Holes are created when God divides by zero!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plut0
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@di1bert
Thanks, "ip addr" worked.

@blu3bird
That was my point, "ifconfig -a" doesn't show the other interfaces. In fact, ifconfig doesn't work for the aliases either. If I run "ifconfig bond0:1" or anything of the like, it doesn't show the other IP addresses. I know it works with regular interface aliases (ie. eth0:1) but it doesn't seem to work with bonded interfaces. Perhaps this is a bug or limitation?

Should I be specifying bonded aliases in the config file or is what I am doing ok? I mean it works already I just can't see the other IP addresses with ifconfig.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum