View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
r0ck80y Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 May 2007 Posts: 102
|
Posted: Thu May 10, 2007 6:43 pm Post subject: gentoo performance on amd64 not satisfactory |
|
|
Hi !
I have noticed, especially when an emerge work is in progress, that the computer slows down a lot...my mouse cursor moves with a lot of lag or delay, theres delay in any video that i am watching or similar delays or stoppages in other applications that may be running. This also happens when i am downloading some file from a ftp server. Why is this problem happening?? It doesnt happen in ubuntu which is also installed (although that is i386). The relevant hardware config info if u need it: Code: |
AMD Athlon 64 2800+
512 DDR-RAM
Asus K8 Mobo. |
My /etc/make.conf file : Code: |
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built this stage
# Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example
CFLAGS="-march=k8 -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
USE="3dnowext X a52 aac aalib alsa amr avi cdparanoia cdr css dv dvd dvdr dvdread encode esd fbcon ffmpeg gif hal ieee1394 imlib iconv ipv6 java jpeg jpg lame live mad mikmod mmx mmxext mp3 mpi nvidia nsplugin ogg opengl perl png python qt3 qt4 quicktime real sdl sse sse2 theora threads tiff truetype unicode v4l vcd vcdimager video vidix vorbis x264 xine xv xvid yv12 -gtk -gnome"
|
Anything else?? Please help me to deal with this poor performance of the os
TIA |
|
Back to top |
|
|
xevix Apprentice
Joined: 02 Oct 2004 Posts: 284 Location: Cali, USA
|
Posted: Thu May 10, 2007 6:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try adding this to your make.conf
_________________ AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4400+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux 2x2.2 ghz
nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS 320Mb
250 gb SATA hd
2gb pc-3200 DDR |
|
Back to top |
|
|
i92guboj Bodhisattva
Joined: 30 Nov 2004 Posts: 10315 Location: Córdoba (Spain)
|
Posted: Thu May 10, 2007 7:06 pm Post subject: Re: gentoo performance on amd64 not satisfactory |
|
|
r0ck80y wrote: | Hi !
I have noticed, especially when an emerge work is in progress, that the computer slows down a lot...my mouse cursor moves with a lot of lag or delay, theres delay in any video that i am watching or similar delays or stoppages in other applications that may be running. |
Use the CFQ scheduler in your kernel and make sure dma is on on your hard drivers. That is a start. Also, watch your ram and swap while you are compiling. If ram gets filled you will have problems.
Quote: | It doesnt happen in ubuntu which is also installed |
Sure, gentoo has no emerge command. Understand that emerge is a frontend to gcc -between a lot of many other tools-. Gcc can take a big amount of ram and cpu power while compiling stuff. So, watch your swap and your ram, and look into the thigs I said above. If they are fine, we can start looking elsewhere.
Do you think it is a 64 bits thing for any other reason or is it just an unfounded idea? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PaulBredbury Watchman
Joined: 14 Jul 2005 Posts: 7310
|
Posted: Thu May 10, 2007 7:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Optimize the kernel for a desktop.
Can also try a different CFS scheduler - here's an ebuild for it:
/usr/local/portage/sys-kernel/brebs-sources/brebs-sources-2.6.21.1.ebuild
Code: | # Copyright 1999-2007 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: $
inherit eutils
CFS_V=12
REV=1
KV="2.6.21"
K_REV=1
MY_PV="brebs${REV}"
KV_FULL="${KV}-${MY_PV}"
DIR="linux-${KV_FULL}"
DESCRIPTION="Low-latency scheduler kernel"
HOMEPAGE="http://kerneltrap.org/node/8059"
SRC_URI="mirror://gentoo/linux-${KV}.tar.bz2
http://kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/v2.6/patch-${KV}.${K_REV}.bz2
http://people.redhat.com/mingo/cfs-scheduler/sched-cfs-v${KV}.${K_REV}-v${CFS_V}.patch
http://people.redhat.com/mingo/cfs-scheduler/sched-cfs-auto-renice.patch"
KEYWORDS="~x86 ~amd64 ~ppc ~ppc64"
PROVIDE="virtual/linux-sources"
S=${WORKDIR}/${DIR}
src_unpack() {
unpack linux-${KV}.tar.bz2 patch-${KV}.${K_REV}.bz2
local dir=$(find -maxdepth 1 -type d -name linux\*)
mv "${dir}" "${DIR}" || die "mv"
cd "${S}" || die
epatch ../patch-${KV}.${K_REV} || die
epatch "${DISTDIR}"/sched-cfs-auto-renice.patch || die
epatch "${DISTDIR}"/sched-cfs-v${KV}.${K_REV}-v${CFS_V}.patch || die
}
src_compile() { :; }
src_install() {
insinto /usr/src
doins -r "${S}" || die
}
pkg_postinst() {
cd "${ROOT}usr/src" || die
ln -sfn "${DIR}" linux || die
} |
Edit: Updated to kernel 2.6.21.1
Last edited by PaulBredbury on Mon May 14, 2007 9:48 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
r0ck80y Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 May 2007 Posts: 102
|
Posted: Thu May 10, 2007 7:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks Paul for the forum link!! My problem looks pretty much similar to that one.
My output of some of those commands: Code: |
# grep EMPT /usr/src/linux/.config
# CONFIG_PREEMPT_NONE is not set
CONFIG_PREEMPT_VOLUNTARY=y
# CONFIG_PREEMPT is not set
CONFIG_PREEMPT_BKL=y |
Code: | # grep HZ /usr/src/linux/.config
# CONFIG_HZ_100 is not set
CONFIG_HZ_250=y
# CONFIG_HZ_300 is not set
# CONFIG_HZ_1000 is not set
CONFIG_HZ=250 |
Code: | # hdparm -tT /dev/hdb
/dev/hdb:
Timing cached reads: 1370 MB in 2.00 seconds = 684.91 MB/sec
Timing buffered disk reads: 12 MB in 3.45 seconds = 3.47 MB/sec |
Code: | # grep IDEDMA /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEDMA_PCI=y
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEDMA_FORCED is not set
CONFIG_IDEDMA_PCI_AUTO=y
# CONFIG_IDEDMA_ONLYDISK is not set
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEDMA=y
# CONFIG_IDEDMA_IVB is not set
CONFIG_IDEDMA_AUTO=y |
Code: | # dmesg | grep -i dma
DMA 0 -> 4096
DMA32 4096 -> 1048576
DMA zone: 56 pages used for memmap
DMA zone: 1773 pages reserved
DMA zone: 2170 pages, LIFO batch:0
DMA32 zone: 1734 pages used for memmap
DMA32 zone: 125146 pages, LIFO batch:31
ata1: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0xE800 ctl 0xE402 bmdma 0xD400 irq 20
ata2: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0xE000 ctl 0xD802 bmdma 0xD408 irq 20 |
Now how do i activate dma. If u mean enabling this in the kernel: Code: |
Device Drivers --->
ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support --->
[*] Generic PCI bus-master DMA support
[*] Use PCI DMA by default when available |
then that was done while i compiled the kernel for the first time. What should i do...not quite sure of the next step to take |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Galahad Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 12 Feb 2003 Posts: 126
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
r0ck80y Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 May 2007 Posts: 102
|
Posted: Thu May 10, 2007 9:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thats a lot of reading there!! From what i read, it seems there are lots of things to try, mostly kernel tweaks. Just a couple of questions though (forgive my noobiness): I think i have a PATA drive (seagate baracudda) as it uses a signal and a power connector (or rather not the kind of cables used in a SATA drive). My lspci output is: Code: |
00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. K8M800 Host Bridge
00:00.1 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. K8M800 Host Bridge
00:00.2 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. K8M800 Host Bridge
00:00.3 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. K8M800 Host Bridge
00:00.4 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. K8M800 Host Bridge
00:00.7 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. K8M800 Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 PCI bridge [K8T800/K8T890 South]
00:0d.0 Non-VGA unclassified device: Unknown device 0107:8290 (rev 04)
00:0f.0 RAID bus controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VIA VT6420 SATA RAID Controller (rev 80)
00:0f.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.4 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 86)
00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 ISA bridge [KT600/K8T800/K8T890 South]
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 60)
00:11.6 Communication controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 80)
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev 78)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV34 [GeForce FX 5200] (rev a1)
|
Does it show that i have SATA drivers installed?? I dunno if it makes any difference!
Secondly, i can try the preemption and swappiness tweaks but how do i try/install a different cfs scheduler (with reference to PaulBredbury's post) ??
Thanks for the quick replies btw |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PaulBredbury Watchman
Joined: 14 Jul 2005 Posts: 7310
|
Posted: Thu May 10, 2007 10:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
With my ebuild above, use the CFQ scheduler as usual.
Code: | $ grep IOSCHED /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_IOSCHED_NOOP=y
# CONFIG_IOSCHED_AS is not set
# CONFIG_IOSCHED_DEADLINE is not set
CONFIG_IOSCHED_CFQ=y
CONFIG_DEFAULT_IOSCHED="cfq" |
The ebuild patches the kernel source code to use a rewritten ("completely fair") CFQ scheduler. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
r0ck80y Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 May 2007 Posts: 102
|
Posted: Thu May 10, 2007 10:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
PaulBredbury wrote: | With my ebuild above, use the CFQ scheduler as usual.
Code: | $ grep IOSCHED /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_IOSCHED_NOOP=y
# CONFIG_IOSCHED_AS is not set
# CONFIG_IOSCHED_DEADLINE is not set
CONFIG_IOSCHED_CFQ=y
CONFIG_DEFAULT_IOSCHED="cfq" |
The ebuild patches the kernel source code to use a rewritten ("completely fair") CFQ scheduler. |
err..this is my first gentoo experience, so can you please explain in detail what i need to do with this ebuild?? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mudrii l33t
Joined: 26 Jun 2003 Posts: 789 Location: Singapore
|
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 12:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
somthhins is strange with
Code: | # hdparm -tT /dev/hdb
/dev/hdb:
Timing cached reads: 1370 MB in 2.00 seconds = 684.91 MB/sec
Timing buffered disk reads: 12 MB in 3.45 seconds = 3.47 MB/sec |
3.47Mb = ? very slow
check the dma on hdd if is set _________________ www.gentoo.ro |
|
Back to top |
|
|
r0ck80y Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 May 2007 Posts: 102
|
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 6:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Things settled now...made some changes in the kernel. From what i remember i enabled the "enable dma for disks only" option under ATA/...settings and changed the I/O scheduler to "deadline". I think one or two more changes before recoompilation. Code: |
# hdparm -tT /dev/hdb
/dev/hdb:
Timing cached reads: 1354 MB in 2.00 seconds = 676.90 MB/sec
Timing buffered disk reads: 210 MB in 3.02 seconds = 69.49 MB/sec |
Looks better now doesn't it??
I am running emerge and downloading files with no apparent choppiness or lags. Thanks for all the help guys..appreciate it |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PaulBredbury Watchman
Joined: 14 Jul 2005 Posts: 7310
|
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 6:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
r0ck80y wrote: | Timing cached reads: 1354 MB in 2.00 seconds = 676.90 MB/sec |
That still seems slow. With a Core 2 Duo, DDR-800 RAM and a SATA drive, I get:
Code: | Timing cached reads: 9122 MB in 2.00 seconds = 4565.73 MB/sec |
This is from sys-apps/hdparm-6.9-r1 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
r0ck80y Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 May 2007 Posts: 102
|
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 9:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Guess what!! Just checked this now and... Code: |
# hdparm -tT /dev/hdb
/dev/hdb:
Timing cached reads: 1372 MB in 2.00 seconds = 686.08 MB/sec
Timing buffered disk reads: 16 MB in 3.03 seconds = 5.28 MB/sec |
What the hell is going on?! Also, there was a little, but not as severe as before lag when i was burning dvd on k3b. Things are not fixed yet.
@Paul..canu please elaborate on your ebuild and how to install it and what that'll do??
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mudrii l33t
Joined: 26 Jun 2003 Posts: 789 Location: Singapore
|
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 10:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
did you hdparm -it when you system was under load ? _________________ www.gentoo.ro |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PaulBredbury Watchman
Joined: 14 Jul 2005 Posts: 7310
|
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 10:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Don't bother with my ebuild, it'll just confuse things. Configure the kernel that you're currently using properly for your hardware. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
r0ck80y Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 May 2007 Posts: 102
|
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 11:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
mudrii wrote: | did you hdparm -it when you system was under load ? |
yup..when k3b was running then that was the case...now its: Code: |
# hdparm -tT /dev/hdb
/dev/hdb:
Timing cached reads: 1348 MB in 2.00 seconds = 673.78 MB/sec
Timing buffered disk reads: 216 MB in 3.01 seconds = 71.82 MB/sec |
but it seems this is also less. Guess i need to find out what kernel config is best suited for the hardware. Cant think of what to change though !!
How do i change this setting:- Code: | # grep HZ /usr/src/linux/.config
# CONFIG_HZ_100 is not set
CONFIG_HZ_250=y
# CONFIG_HZ_300 is not set
# CONFIG_HZ_1000 is not set
CONFIG_HZ=250 |
and make it 1000 instead of 250, if its going to help in any way!! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
elvanor Developer
Joined: 11 Oct 2004 Posts: 178 Location: France
|
Posted: Mon May 21, 2007 11:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hello,
I am using like PaulBredbury a Core 2 Duo 6400 system with SATA drive and get the following:
hdparm -tT /dev/sda
/dev/sda:
Timing cached reads: 2084 MB in 2.00 seconds = 1042.41 MB/sec
Timing buffered disk reads: 116 MB in 3.56 seconds = 32.59 MB/sec
This is without any process running.
This seems slow, so what could be wrong? Wrong HD parameters? I tried hdparm -i /dev/sda but it did not work (presumably hdparm does not work very well with SATA drives).
Can someone give some pointers, I also feel that the performance on this Core 2 Duo system / amd64 is MUCH less than it should be.
uname -a gives:
Linux Valinor 2.6.20.6 #1 SMP Mon Apr 30 10:59:37 CEST 2007 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6400 @ 2.13GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Are there any benchmarks to test the speed of your system overall? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
eccerr0r Watchman
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 Posts: 9824 Location: almost Mile High in the USA
|
Posted: Wed May 30, 2007 9:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
32MB/sec seq reads isn't way too bad for a laptop disk...
and once again hdparm is a crappy synthetic benchmark that can be compiled weird in so many different ways that you should take it with a grain of salt.
My Pentium-M 1600 (Dothan) with a 2.5" HDD (Laptop, 5400RPM), hdparm-6.9
/dev/hda:
Timing cached reads: 1026 MB in 2.00 seconds = 512.82 MB/sec
Timing buffered disk reads: 92 MB in 3.03 seconds = 30.32 MB/sec
The machine is as fast as I expect it to be, so this should be "normal". But if you're getting single digit MB/sec with today's modern disks, something is definately wrong with your disk subsystem (likely due to not running native drivers and thus going back to PIO mode). _________________ Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
elvanor Developer
Joined: 11 Oct 2004 Posts: 178 Location: France
|
Posted: Thu May 31, 2007 8:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I am NOT on a laptop disk !!
I am on a desktop using a good recent motherboard and a normal 7200 RPM SATA HD, so...
What about these native drivers/ PIO mode, can you tell me more? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|