i586 Support in 2007.0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
stubbers
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 8:24 am    Post subject: i586 Support in 2007.0 Reply with quote

Gday,
I'm new to Gentoo and decided to give it a go... However I am running an AMD K6-2 which i believe is an i586 processor. I am running through the tutorial and reached the stage where it states

Quote:
Most PC users should use the stage3-i686-2007.0.tar.bz2 stage3 archive. All modern PCs are considered i686. If you use an old machine, you can check the list of i686-compatible processors on Wikipedia. Old processors such as the Pentium, K5, K6, or Via C3 and similar require the i586 stage3. Only very old processors such as the 80386 and 80486 require the generic x86 stage3 (and a huge amount of patience.)

The tutorial implies that there is a i586 stage 3 in the 2007.0 release... Yet I cannot find it on alot of mirrors. I was wondering if it does exist and what I should do considering I have an i586 cpu...

Cheers,
Stubbers
erik258
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just start with a 2006.1 cd instead. You can still update everything later.
stubbers
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the fast reply, i've got the 2007 installcd... I'm guessing i need to burn the 2006 one to use the 2006 stage3?

Cheers,
Stubbers
stubbers
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will the 2006.1 live cd run on a AMD K6-2, i'm not sure if it is i686 or i586... And if not is there a tutorial for the basic install cd for 2006.1, i can't find it...

Cheers,
Stubbers
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote