Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Alsa Issues [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NobodyCares
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jun 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 2:46 am    Post subject: Alsa Issues [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I am relatively new to Linux, and just recently I installed Gentoo with Gnome as my WM. I am almost positive that everything went well with my Gentoo install, but I forgot to compile Alsa support into the kernel. I tried to use alsa-drivers, to no avail. I followed the alsa guide here and everything went well until I tried to use alsaconfig, which spit out this error message:

Running modules-update...
* Updating /etc/modules.conf ... [ ok ]
* Updating /etc/modprobe.conf ... [ ok ]
* Updating modules.dep ...
FATAL: Could not open '/System.map': No such file or directory [ !! ]
Loading driver...
* Loading ALSA modules ...
* Loading: snd-card-0 ... [ ok ]
* Loading: snd-seq ... [ ok ]
* ERROR: Failed to load necessary drivers [ ok ]
* Restoring Mixer Levels ...
alsactl: unrecognized option `---'
Usage: alsactl <options> command

Available options:
-h,--help this help
-f,--file # configuration file (default /etc/asound.state or /etc/asound.names)
-F,--force try to restore the matching controls as much as possible
-d,--debug debug mode
-v,--version print version of this program

Available commands:
store <card #> save current driver setup for one or each soundcards
to configuration file
restore<card #> load current driver setup for one or each soundcards
from configuration file
* Errors while restoring defaults, ignoring [ ok ]
Setting default volumes...
amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such device
Saving the mixer setup used for this in /etc/asound.state.
/usr/sbin/alsactl: save_state:1253: No soundcards found...


I'm not sure exactly what I need to do here, as alsamixer won't even run. Any tips? I tried to recompile my kernel with alsa support, but I can't find my grub.conf file either, and slocate isn't turning up anything but the example. My kernel loads fine, but grub seems to have moved all its configuration files into the ether...


Last edited by NobodyCares on Tue Jun 05, 2007 5:50 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sugar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 579
Location: Morrinsville, New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you followed the usual install, you can mount your boot partition by

Code:
mount /dev/hda1 /boot


so inside /boot will be your boot partition, which usually contains your kernel, and inside /boot/grub will be your grub.conf. Then, once you change your grub.conf to boot with the new kernel, then you should be good with alsa. Remember you won't need to load any alsa modules at boot.
_________________
He who calls for full employment calls for war!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbreith
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
* Updating /etc/modprobe.conf ... [ ok ]
* Updating modules.dep ...
FATAL: Could not open '/System.map': No such file or directory [ !! ]


run depmod, as root, to create a current modules.dep. If that also fails, let us know.

System.map is a file that I have on the /boot partition and has something to do with the kernel. It creates a new file each time I compile and install a new kernel. Did you manually place your kernel onto your /boot?
_________________
I don't stat chatspeak acronyms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NobodyCares
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jun 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to manually place the kernel into /boot, but it said that there wasn't enough space. I'm trying to find a way to have GRUB boot the kernel from the root file, but I am having a little trouble understanding exactly how the GRUB notation for each partition works. Right now, I have my old kernel at:
/boot/kernel-NCGentoo

and the new kernel is:

/root/kernels/kernel-NCGentoo2

I'm not sure how to tell GRUB to go to /root rather than /boot. I understand boot is (hd0,0) but wouldn't that make swap (hd2,0) or (hd0,2) and /root (hd3,0) or (hd0,3)?

I ran depmod as root with no problem, so I suppose that is one thing I don't have to worry about.


Update: I was making a stupid mistake with GRUB syntax, which was counting my partitions from 1, not 0. I got GRUB to find the new kernel no problem by telling it to look at:
(hd0,2)/kernels/kernel-NCGentoo2

I am currently booted into my new kernel, and it would appear that my sound is working fine! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbreith
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

See, people here care :)

What is the size of your /boot?

Having the kernel sitting somewhere else will work just fine, as you found out, but will cause problems when updating things. Basically you will always have to manually update grub. You will likely also have to manually run depmod any time you add new modules.

Thanks for adding [solved] 8)
_________________
I don't stat chatspeak acronyms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum