View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
smpolymen n00b
Joined: 27 Apr 2007 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 7:18 am Post subject: Can't get apache to work wth my vhosts |
|
|
Well, I merged apache a while ago but am just now trying to actually do something with it. I'm pretty sure it's almost exactly as I merged it with very little config changes, I think just userdirs. Everything seems to work fine, I have a /var/www/localhost that acts as the default vhost, but when I add a host, everthing seems to fall apart. when I type http://localhost, it gives me a Could not connect to host localhost. And the vhost I'm trying to setup (mydomain.com) gives me a connection timed out. At first i tried to set up a dynamic vhost because that's more what I want, but failing that, I tried just a plain vhost and it still doesn't work.
Here is my /etc/apache2/vhosts.d/10_dynamic_vhosts.conf, I commented out the dynamic stuff but can anyone see some obvious error or misunderstandng? I'm kind of new at this and it's 3AM for me so maybe I'm just missing something?
Code: |
#<IfDefine DYNAMIC_VHOSTS>
UseCanonicalName Off
LogFormat "%V %h %l %u %t \"%r\" %s %b \"%{Referer}i\" \"%{User-Agent}i\"" dynamic_vhosts
CustomLog logs/access_log dynamic_vhosts
<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerName mydomain.com
ServerAlias *.mydomain.com
DocumentRoot /var/www/mydomain.com/htdocs
<Directory "/var/www/mydomain.com">
Options -Indexes +FollowSymLinks +MultiViews
AllowOverride All
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>
# <IfModule mod_vhost_alias.c>
# # example.com --> /var/www/vhosts/example.com/htdocs
# # www.example.com --> /var/www/vhosts/www.example.com/htdocs
# # a.www.example.com --> /var/www/vhosts/a.www.example.com/htdocs
# # www.example.com/cgi-bin --> /var/www/vhosts/www.example.com/cgi-bin
# VirtualDocumentRoot /var/www/%0/htdocs
# VirtualScriptAlias /var/www/%0/cgi-bin
#
# # CGI Directives
# <DirectoryMatch "^/var/www/[^/]+/cgi-bin">
# AllowOverride None
# Options ExecCGI
# <IfModule mod_access.c>
# Order allow,deny
# Allow from all
# </IfModule>
# </DirectoryMatch>
# </IfModule>
</VirtualHost>
#</IfDefine>
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
mudrii l33t
Joined: 26 Jun 2003 Posts: 789 Location: Singapore
|
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 7:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
try to uncomment
#<IfDefine DYNAMIC_VHOSTS>
#</IfDefine> _________________ www.gentoo.ro |
|
Back to top |
|
|
smpolymen n00b
Joined: 27 Apr 2007 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 3:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I can't get to that pc for a while, but I have -D DYNAMIC_VHOSTS in /etc/conf.d/apache2 and I had that uncommented when I tried the "dynamic solution." With the dynamic solution, all the lines were uncommented and it didn't have ServerAlias and DocumentRoot I also tried it without ServerName to no avail. Without /etc/apache2/vhosts.d/10_dynamic_vhosts.conf , I get the default apache page (the stuff in /var/www/localhost) when i type in localhost or mydomain.com. I feel better after some sleep though and ready to approach this problem with a clear head. I just won't be able to actually check anything untill maybe 4PM EST so I'll try it then. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
smpolymen n00b
Joined: 27 Apr 2007 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok... I figured it out. I had copy/pasted the CustomLog line without checking if that place (ServerRoot/logs/access_log) was correct.
tail /var/log/apache2/error_log: |
[Wed Jun 06 03:01:48 2007] [error] (2)No such file or directory: could not open transfer log file /usr/lib64/apache2/logs/access_log.
Unable to open logs
|
Changed the Customlog to point to the right place (/var/log/apache2...) and everything works fine. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|