View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
queen Veteran
Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 1642
|
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 2:59 pm Post subject: hplip problems |
|
|
I have an old hp 640C printer and i can't print even a test page. I followed the instructions at http://gentoo-wiki.com/HPLIP
The problems i am facing right now are:
Code: |
./check
HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 1.7.4a)
Dependency/Version Check Utility ver. 5.3
Copyright (c) 2001-7 Hewlett-Packard Development Company, LP
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.
---------------
| SYSTEM INFO |
---------------
Basic system information:
Linux carin 2.6.19-gentoo-r5 #1 SMP Fri Jun 1 10:19:47 IDT 2007 i686 Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.60GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Detected distro (/etc/issue):
unknown 0.0
Detected distro (lsb_release):
Currently installed HPLIP version...
HPLIP 1.7.4a currently installed in '/usr/share/hplip'.
Current contents of '/etc/hp/hplip.conf' file:
# hplip.conf
[hpiod]
# port=0 (dynamic IP port)
port=2208
[hpssd]
# port=0 (dynamic IP port)
port=2207
[hplip]
version=1.7.4a
jdprobe=0
[dirs]
home=/usr/share/hplip
run=/var/run
ppd=/usr/share/ppd/HP
ppdbase=/usr/share/ppd
doc=/usr/share/doc/hplip-1.7.4a
# Following values are determined at configure time and cannot be changed.
[configure]
network-build=0
pp-build=0
gui-build=0
scanner-build=0
fax-build=0
cups11-build=0
installinitd=
chkconfig=
internal-tag=1.7.4.13
HPLIP running?
Yes, HPLIP is running (OK).
HPOJ running?
No, HPOJ is not running (OK).
Checking Python version...
OK, version 2.4.4 installed
Checking PyQt version...
OK, version 3.17 installed.
Checking SIP version...
OK, Version 4.5.2 installed
----------------
| DEPENDENCIES |
----------------
Checking for dependency libcrypto - OpenSSL cryptographic library...
File "/usr/share/hplip/base/utils.py", line 220, in walkFiles
for f in walkFiles(fullname, recurse, abs_paths, return_folders, pattern, path):
File "/usr/share/hplip/base/utils.py", line 217, in walkFiles
fullname = os.path.realpath(os.readlink(fullname))
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/posixpath.py", line 421, in realpath
if islink(component):
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/posixpath.py", line 162, in islink
return stat.S_ISLNK(st.st_mode)
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/stat.py", line 61, in S_ISLNK
return S_IFMT(mode) == S_IFLNK
RuntimeError: maximum recursion depth exceeded
|
lsusb is detected ok. Code: | Bus 002 Device 002: ID 03f0:2004 Hewlett-Packard DeskJet 640c
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 004 Device 005: ID 04b3:310b IBM Corp. Red Wheel Mouse
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
|
On cups i see everything. I select usb printer
Code: | ./probe -busb
HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 1.7.4a)
Printer Discovery Utility ver. 3.2
Copyright (c) 2001-7 Hewlett-Packard Development Company, LP
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.
Device URI Model
---------------------------------------- ---------------
hp:/usb/DeskJet_640C?serial=TH114ED654NJ HP DeskJet 640C
Found 1 printer(s) on the 'usb' bus.
|
BUT
it fails to load hplip module when it boots. If i try after boot Code: | modprobe hplip
FATAL: Module hplip not found. |
Code: |
grep lp /etc/group
lp::7:lp
lpadmin:x:106: |
What should i put in /etc/group?
Any ideas what i can do about the other errors? I am simply baffled.
I have the latest hplip and cups.
Code: | equery u hplip
[ Searching for packages matching hplip... ]
[ Colour Code : set unset ]
[ Legend : Left column (U) - USE flags from make.conf ]
[ : Right column (I) - USE flags packages was installed with ]
[ Found these USE variables for net-print/hplip-1.7.4a-r1 ]
U I
+ + X : Adds support for X11
+ + cups : Add support for CUPS (Common Unix Printing System)
- - fax : Enable fax support
- - foomaticdb : Adds support for the foomatic printing driver database
- - parport : Enable parallel port support
+ + ppds : Adds support for automatically generated ppd (printing driver) files
- - qt3 : Adds support for the Qt GUI/Application Toolkit version 3.x
- - scanner : Adds support for scanner hardware (e.g. build the sane frontend in kdegraphics)
- - snmp : Adds support for the Simple Network Management Protocol if available |
Thanks in advance |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jstead1 Guru
Joined: 01 Aug 2003 Posts: 427 Location: Oswego, NY where the snow is deep
|
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 3:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | BUT
it fails to load hplip module when it boots. If i try after boot
Code: | modprobe hplip
FATAL: Module hplip not found. |
|
hplip is not a module. It is a service. If you want it to start at boot add it to default with rc-update.
If you want to start it without booting,
Code: | /etc/init.d/hplip start |
_________________ jim |
|
Back to top |
|
|
queen Veteran
Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 1642
|
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 3:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jstead1 wrote: | Quote: | BUT
it fails to load hplip module when it boots. If i try after boot
Code: | modprobe hplip
FATAL: Module hplip not found. |
|
hplip is not a module. It is a service. If you want it to start at boot add it to default with rc-update.
If you want to start it without booting,
Code: | /etc/init.d/hplip start |
|
Ok, it is started and added to rc-update. But i still get the other errors and it doesn't print anything. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bfdi533 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 11 Jun 2003 Posts: 133
|
Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
I too get the same python max recursion errors:
Code: | ----------------
| DEPENDENCIES |
----------------
Checking for dependency libcrypto - OpenSSL cryptographic library...
File "/usr/share/hplip/base/utils.py", line 220, in walkFiles
for f in walkFiles(fullname, recurse, abs_paths, return_folders, pattern, path):
File "/usr/share/hplip/base/utils.py", line 217, in walkFiles
fullname = os.path.realpath(os.readlink(fullname))
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/posixpath.py", line 421, in realpath
if islink(component):
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/posixpath.py", line 162, in islink
return stat.S_ISLNK(st.st_mode)
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/stat.py", line 61, in S_ISLNK
return S_IFMT(mode) == S_IFLNK
RuntimeError: maximum recursion depth exceeded |
Any idea what needs to be fixed with python to make this work? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
queen Veteran
Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 1642
|
Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 6:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
bfdi533 wrote: | I too get the same python max recursion errors:
Code: | ----------------
| DEPENDENCIES |
----------------
Checking for dependency libcrypto - OpenSSL cryptographic library...
File "/usr/share/hplip/base/utils.py", line 220, in walkFiles
for f in walkFiles(fullname, recurse, abs_paths, return_folders, pattern, path):
File "/usr/share/hplip/base/utils.py", line 217, in walkFiles
fullname = os.path.realpath(os.readlink(fullname))
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/posixpath.py", line 421, in realpath
if islink(component):
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/posixpath.py", line 162, in islink
return stat.S_ISLNK(st.st_mode)
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/stat.py", line 61, in S_ISLNK
return S_IFMT(mode) == S_IFLNK
RuntimeError: maximum recursion depth exceeded |
Any idea what needs to be fixed with python to make this work? |
I found something in google when i searched "RuntimeError: maximum recursion depth exceeded". They say it needs to increase the stack. A solution appears to be here. http://www.thescripts.com/forum/thread25061.html
I will check later today how they solve it. They refer to other link in that post. If you solve this part before me, let me know.
I am struggling with this issue more than a month. Nothing seems to help. Even with this error, i see the job sent to the printer and it even says Code: | lpq -Php-640c
hp-640c is ready and printing
Rank Owner Job File(s) Total Size
active root 36 Test Page 19456 bytes
|
yet, nothing happens.
The /etc/group file is ok? Have i missed something there? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bfdi533 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 11 Jun 2003 Posts: 133
|
Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 9:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I found the problem with the recursion issue.
What it is choking on is the following:
Code: | # ls -l /usr/include/gnome-xml
total 164
...
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 22 Jun 14 16:11 libxml -> /usr/include/gnome-xml
...
|
As you can see libxml points to /usr/include/gnome-xml and this just creates another recursive search and it goes on endlessly. If you temporarily remove this link and re-create it you can get the check to complete as follows:
Code: | # cd /usr/share/hplip
# rm /usr/include/gnome-xml/libxml
# ./check
...
<output of check here>
...
# ln -s /usr/include/gnome-xml /usr/include/gnome-xml/libxml
#
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
queen Veteran
Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 1642
|
Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
bfdi533 wrote: | I found the problem with the recursion issue.
What it is choking on is the following:
Code: | # ls -l /usr/include/gnome-xml
total 164
...
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 22 Jun 14 16:11 libxml -> /usr/include/gnome-xml
...
|
As you can see libxml points to /usr/include/gnome-xml and this just creates another recursive search and it goes on endlessly. If you temporarily remove this link and re-create it you can get the check to complete as follows:
Code: | # cd /usr/share/hplip
# rm /usr/include/gnome-xml/libxml
# ./check
...
<output of check here>
...
# ln -s /usr/include/gnome-xml /usr/include/gnome-xml/libxml
#
|
|
Thanks. Sounds great. I am not near the printer now but i will check it immediately after i come home. And it solved all the problems after that? Actually prints? I am so frustated with this, that i thought the problem is with the printer itself. The /etc/group part is ok? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bfdi533 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 11 Jun 2003 Posts: 133
|
Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 2:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Thanks. Sounds great. I am not near the printer now but i will check it immediately after i come home. And it solved all the problems after that? Actually prints? I am so frustated with this, that i thought the problem is with the printer itself. The /etc/group part is ok? |
Well, actually it did not solve the hplip printing problems that I am having BUT it did solve the hp-check application recursive limit error. So, now you can actually run the program to check for problems with dependencies and libraries and such.
Mine says that I am missing LSB yet I have installed sys-apps/lsb-release. The hp-check application is looking for /usr/bin/install-initrd which the sys-apps/lsb-release packages does not come with. (Not really necessary as the ebuild guys have done a good job to get this package installed without have to use the hplip installer which would require this.)
I am at a loss personally as I have just recently upgraded something and broken my printing and I cannot find what it is that has broken it ... I am frustrated as well as I have had a working printer for the last 3-5 years and now, nothing. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
queen Veteran
Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 1642
|
Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 6:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
queen wrote: | bfdi533 wrote: | I found the problem with the recursion issue.
What it is choking on is the following:
Code: | # ls -l /usr/include/gnome-xml
total 164
...
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 22 Jun 14 16:11 libxml -> /usr/include/gnome-xml
...
|
As you can see libxml points to /usr/include/gnome-xml and this just creates another recursive search and it goes on endlessly. If you temporarily remove this link and re-create it you can get the check to complete as follows:
Code: | # cd /usr/share/hplip
# rm /usr/include/gnome-xml/libxml
# ./check
...
<output of check here>
...
# ln -s /usr/include/gnome-xml /usr/include/gnome-xml/libxml
#
|
|
Thanks. Sounds great. I am not near the printer now but i will check it immediately after i come home. And it solved all the problems after that? Actually prints? I am so frustated with this, that i thought the problem is with the printer itself. The /etc/group part is ok? |
I did what you said. It solved the recursion problem. The output gave some errors, which it said they are optional. One of the errors was about lsb, which i didn't have installed. So, I installed lsb-release and ran again ./check. Even it was already installed it still complains that it doesn't have it.
So, we have the same problem, yet nothing happens. Join the club. ;-(
Weird enough, it says that is printing now. I only have a blinking lamp. I checked my deskjet printer 640c at http://hplip.sourceforge.net/supported_devices/inkjet.html and is supposed to work with hplip.
About your upgrade that it broke, try to install elogviewer. It will show you where the problem appears. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jstead1 Guru
Joined: 01 Aug 2003 Posts: 427 Location: Oswego, NY where the snow is deep
|
Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 2:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I do not have lsb-release installed. I get the lsb error, and I have no problem printing or scanning. It should not be a show stopper. There is something else wrong. You don't need lsb-release.
One thing I think had been a problem in the past is that if you install the printer with the cups interface, it may not work right. I generally use the hp device manager /usr/share/hplip/toolbox, or in the kde menu under utilities, to add the printers. I believe most of the problems with adding in cups is that the other hp functions didn't know what the printer was, but I don't know for sure, because I always used the hp device manager. It also may give you some idea of what might be wrong. _________________ jim |
|
Back to top |
|
|
queen Veteran
Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 1642
|
Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 5:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jstead1 wrote: | I do not have lsb-release installed. I get the lsb error, and I have no problem printing or scanning. It should not be a show stopper. There is something else wrong. You don't need lsb-release.
One thing I think had been a problem in the past is that if you install the printer with the cups interface, it may not work right. I generally use the hp device manager /usr/share/hplip/toolbox, or in the kde menu under utilities, to add the printers. I believe most of the problems with adding in cups is that the other hp functions didn't know what the printer was, but I don't know for sure, because I always used the hp device manager. It also may give you some idea of what might be wrong. |
trying to do that now. I don't have toolbox in /usr/share/hplip. Also i checked now in utilities of kde and don't find something to add a printer. Do i need to emerge something so that it will appear in utilities?
Here is what i have in /usr/share/hplip/
Code: | -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 17940 Jun 9 19:32 COPYING
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 799 Jun 9 19:32 __init__.py
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 10296 Jun 9 19:32 align
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 1264 Jun 9 19:34 base
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 14865 Jun 9 19:32 check
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 5846 Jun 9 19:32 clean
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 11641 Jun 9 19:32 colorcal
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 112 Jun 9 19:32 copier
drwxr-xr-x 8 root root 224 Jun 9 19:32 data
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 25412 Jun 9 19:32 fab
drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 272 Jun 9 19:32 fax
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 4336 Jun 9 19:32 firmware
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 5951 Jun 9 19:32 hpaio.desc
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4777 Jun 9 19:32 hplip
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 82 Jun 9 19:32 hplip-install
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 475 Jun 9 19:32 hplip.conf
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 4752 Jun 9 19:32 hplip.sh
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 23884 Jun 9 19:32 hpssd.py
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 6397 Jun 9 19:32 info
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 3918 Jun 9 19:32 install.py
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 240 Jun 9 19:34 installer
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 8012 Jun 9 19:32 levels
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 12606 Jun 9 19:32 makecopies
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 6448 Jun 9 19:32 makeuri
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 112 Jun 9 19:32 pcard
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 256 Jun 9 19:32 plugins
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 328 Jun 9 19:34 prnt
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 7878 Jun 9 19:32 probe
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1721 Jun 12 17:49 res
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1721 Jun 12 17:43 res~
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 80 Jun 9 19:32 scan
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 24733 Jun 9 19:32 sendfax
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 34266 Jun 9 19:32 setup
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 8128 Jun 9 19:32 testpage
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 5118 Jun 9 19:32 timedate
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 2960 Jun 9 19:32 ui
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 27026 Jun 9 19:32 unload |
I found under Lost and Found linux lpr and configuration tool. did you meant that? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jstead1 Guru
Joined: 01 Aug 2003 Posts: 427 Location: Oswego, NY where the snow is deep
|
Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 6:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No toolbox in /usr/share/hplip, hmm. That appears to be the only one missing.
What USE flags did you use when you emerged (assuming you have not changed use flags, emerge -pv hplip will show you)?
I used
Code: | # emerge -pv hplip
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild R ] net-print/hplip-1.7.4a-r1 USE="X cups foomaticdb ppds qt3 scanner -fax -parport -snmp" 0 kB
|
I believe it is the qt3 USE flag that gives you the toolbox. You technically don't need it, it is a GUI to use the tools included in hplip, but it does make it a heck of a lot easier. _________________ jim |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jstead1 Guru
Joined: 01 Aug 2003 Posts: 427 Location: Oswego, NY where the snow is deep
|
Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 6:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Another thing to keep in mind as you are troubleshooting. If you make changes to hplip, you may need to restart hplip for the change to take (this doesn't apply to setting up a printer, but does apply to say, re-installing hplip with different USE flags). After you start hplip, you should restart cupsd.
If hplip is started after cupsd, cups is not aware of hplip. If you make changes to hplip, and restart it without restarting cupsd then cups will not be aware of the latest hplip, and it still might not work.
So, just to be sure, if you change hplip, stop cupsd, restart (or start) hplip, start cupsd. _________________ jim |
|
Back to top |
|
|
queen Veteran
Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 1642
|
Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 8:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jstead1 wrote: | No toolbox in /usr/share/hplip, hmm. That appears to be the only one missing.
What USE flags did you use when you emerged (assuming you have not changed use flags, emerge -pv hplip will show you)?
I used
Code: | # emerge -pv hplip
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild R ] net-print/hplip-1.7.4a-r1 USE="X cups foomaticdb ppds qt3 scanner -fax -parport -snmp" 0 kB
|
I believe it is the qt3 USE flag that gives you the toolbox. You technically don't need it, it is a GUI to use the tools included in hplip, but it does make it a heck of a lot easier. |
Code: | emerge -pv hplip
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild R ] net-print/hplip-1.7.4a-r1 USE="X cups ppds -fax -foomaticdb -parport -qt3 -scanner -snmp" 0 kB
Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 kB
|
About the start i used what they showed in http://gentoo-wiki.com/HPLIP and it was the other way around.
I changed now the order and i see in the utilities hp device manager. It doesn't launch anything. I tried also Code: | # /usr/share/hplip/toolbox
HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 1.7.4a)
HP Device Manager ver. 10.0
Copyright (c) 2001-7 Hewlett-Packard Development Company, LP
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/share/hplip/toolbox", line 159, in ?
toolbox = DevMgr4(hpiod_sock, hpssd_sock, toolboxCleanup, __version__)
File "/usr/share/hplip/ui/devmgr4.py", line 152, in __init__
self.user_settings = utils.UserSettings()
File "/usr/share/hplip/base/utils.py", line 541, in __init__
self.load()
File "/usr/share/hplip/base/utils.py", line 643, in load
self.cmd_scan = user_cfg.commands.scan or self.cmd_scan
AttributeError: 'UserSettings' object has no attribute 'cmd_scan' |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
bfdi533 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 11 Jun 2003 Posts: 133
|
Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 10:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jstead1 wrote: | One thing I think had been a problem in the past is that if you install the printer with the cups interface, it may not work right. I generally use the hp device manager /usr/share/hplip/toolbox, or in the kde menu under utilities, to add the printers. I believe most of the problems with adding in cups is that the other hp functions didn't know what the printer was, but I don't know for sure, because I always used the hp device manager. It also may give you some idea of what might be wrong. |
For what it is worth, that seems to be the winning ticket! I had installed all my printers through cups previously. Just to check it out, I deleted all printers through cups and installed then through hp-setup (and hp-toolbox) and now my printer prints. I can see the print queue through cups as well so all seems to be good in the world again.
Now, if the hp printer and usb_storage would just stop throwing all sorts of annoying messages in /var/log/messages, my hplip troubles would be ended. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
queen Veteran
Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 1642
|
Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
bfdi533 wrote: | jstead1 wrote: | One thing I think had been a problem in the past is that if you install the printer with the cups interface, it may not work right. I generally use the hp device manager /usr/share/hplip/toolbox, or in the kde menu under utilities, to add the printers. I believe most of the problems with adding in cups is that the other hp functions didn't know what the printer was, but I don't know for sure, because I always used the hp device manager. It also may give you some idea of what might be wrong. |
For what it is worth, that seems to be the winning ticket! I had installed all my printers through cups previously. Just to check it out, I deleted all printers through cups and installed then through hp-setup (and hp-toolbox) and now my printer prints. I can see the print queue through cups as well so all seems to be good in the world again.
Now, if the hp printer and usb_storage would just stop throwing all sorts of annoying messages in /var/log/messages, my hplip troubles would be ended. |
Ok, i have some progress but it still doesn't work. I deleted all the printers in cups and I used hp-setup. Got the menu and done as guided. When i finished i asked to print test page and i got error Code: |
error: Unable to communicate with device: hp:/usb/DeskJet_640C?serial=TH114ED654NJ
error: Unable to print to printer.Please check device and try again.
|
If i try to use hp-toolbox i get Code: |
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/hp-toolbox", line 159, in ?
toolbox = DevMgr4(hpiod_sock, hpssd_sock, toolboxCleanup, __version__)
File "/usr/share/hplip/ui/devmgr4.py", line 152, in __init__
self.user_settings = utils.UserSettings()
File "/usr/share/hplip/base/utils.py", line 541, in __init__
self.load()
File "/usr/share/hplip/base/utils.py", line 643, in load
self.cmd_scan = user_cfg.commands.scan or self.cmd_scan
AttributeError: 'UserSettings' object has no attribute 'cmd_scan'
|
Code: | dmesg
hub 2-0:1.0: port 1, status 0101, change 0001, 12 Mb/s
hub 2-0:1.0: debounce: port 1: total 100ms stable 100ms status 0x101
usb 2-1: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 3
usb 2-1: default language 0x0409
usb 2-1: new device strings: Mfr=9, Product=17, SerialNumber=24
usb 2-1: Product: DeskJet 640C
usb 2-1: Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
usb 2-1: SerialNumber: TH114ED654NJ
PM: Adding info for usb:2-1
usb 2-1: uevent
usb 2-1: usb_probe_device
PM: Adding info for No Bus:usbdev2.3_ep00
usb 2-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
usb 2-1: adding 2-1:1.0 (config #1, interface 0)
PM: Adding info for usb:2-1:1.0
usb 2-1:1.0: uevent
usblp 2-1:1.0: usb_probe_interface
usblp 2-1:1.0: usb_probe_interface - got id
PM: Adding info for No Bus:usbdev2.3_ep01
PM: Adding info for No Bus:usbdev2.3_ep82
drivers/usb/core/file.c: looking for a minor, starting at 0
drivers/usb/class/usblp.c: usblp0: USB Bidirectional printer dev 3 if 0 alt 1 proto 2 vid 0x03F0 pid 0x2004
PM: Removing info for No Bus:usbdev2.3_ep01
usbdev2.3_ep01: ep_device_release called for usbdev2.3_ep01
PM: Removing info for No Bus:usbdev2.3_ep82
usbdev2.3_ep82: ep_device_release called for usbdev2.3_ep82
drivers/usb/core/inode.c: creating file '003'
hub 2-0:1.0: state 7 ports 2 chg 0000 evt 0002
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
queen Veteran
Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 1642
|
Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jstead1 wrote: | Another thing to keep in mind as you are troubleshooting. If you make changes to hplip, you may need to restart hplip for the change to take (this doesn't apply to setting up a printer, but does apply to say, re-installing hplip with different USE flags). After you start hplip, you should restart cupsd.
If hplip is started after cupsd, cups is not aware of hplip. If you make changes to hplip, and restart it without restarting cupsd then cups will not be aware of the latest hplip, and it still might not work.
So, just to be sure, if you change hplip, stop cupsd, restart (or start) hplip, start cupsd. |
Done that. See my reply above with the new results. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|