Install with LILO instead of GRUB?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Chris Hickman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2002 11:10 pm    Post subject: Install with LILO instead of GRUB? Reply with quote

Hey,

I'm kind of a noob here, I've been looking around and haven't found much, but I've just been wondering if it's possible to install with LILO and not install GRUB at all? I've used Mandrake and Red Hat and I like LILO a lot better than GRUB. Right now I'm in the middle of an install at home (I'm at work now) where I started installing GRUB, changed my mind and started trying to install LILO with an "emerge lilo", it downloaded but I wasn't having much luck configuring it. Here's my setup:

hda1 NTFS Win XP 20gb
hda2 linux swap 512mb
hda5 EXT3 linux boot 100mb
hda6 EXT3 linux root 20gb
hda7 (I think it's 7) FAT32 71gb

What would I have to do to set up LILO in this configuration? I don't need to be able to boot to the FAT32 partition, it's just my "mass storage" partition to be used for mp3's and such in both Windows and Linux. (I have a WD 120gb HD). I would like to remove whatever part of GRUB I've installed, remove LILO ("emerge unmerge lilo", right?), and start configuring from scratch.

Thanks for any assistance you all can provide.

Chris
klieber
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2002 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Search the archives. I don't think you can avoid installing grub since it's part of 'emerge system', but you can certainly use lilo instead of grub. (might be able to mask grub during emerge system, not sure)

--kurt
Chris Hickman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2002 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote