Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
make W2K bootloader boot grub
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Milamber
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 72
Location: Richmond, VA

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2003 4:26 am    Post subject: make W2K bootloader boot grub Reply with quote

there's this trick possible with lilo that could make the lilo bootloader accessible from the W2k bootloader :

dd if=/dev/hdpartition_with_lilo of=somefile bs=512 count=1

and then place somefile into the windows partition and reference it from
boot.ini

question is, is there something like this for grub ?

I prefer keeping the W2k bootloader in /dev/hda1 because it is
less flexible than lilo. less screwups when reinstalling windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2003 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. For details check out the Documentation tip's & tricks forum. There are several threads about gentoo & WinXP/2K. I know it's in there. Also have you tried doing it the other way around? Set the partition with grub as the active partition & boot windows from grub.
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Milamber
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 72
Location: Richmond, VA

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2003 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the tip ! found the topic.

I did what it said and it gave me :
Code:

GRUB _


does anybody have a definite solution for this ?

never tried changing the active partition. I've read that creates problems
for W2k. I did try to swap disks, both physically (fiddling with the cables)
and from the bios. They work but they feel like broken solutions ! :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
murphynet
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2003 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This site should help you:
http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/mini/Linux+NT-Loader.html

Section 5 and 6 are all you really need.
_________________
tommay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Milamber
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 72
Location: Richmond, VA

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I've done that with LILO and SuSE before.
I'm trying to do it with GRUB.

following the faq at : https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=190205
(IG2: How to install Gentoo in a Win XP/NT config)

which says :

Code:
grub> root (hd0,4)
grub> setup (hd0,4)
grub> quit


There are certain are warning messages right after I do setup (hd1,1).
something about failure to embed stage 1.5

I then do the dd stuff and then copy the 512 byte file to W2k
and then refer it in boot.ini.

when I reboot and select gentoo from the w2k bootloader
I still get the "GRUB _" hang.

it's the same problem discussed here :
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=27777
([SOLVED] Killed my GRUB, don't know how...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
murphynet
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are using 2 harddrives with linux on the secondary drive and windows on primary your setup command should be:

setup (hd1)

Which sets up the kernel on the MBR of your secondary harddrive.
_________________
tommay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Milamber
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 72
Location: Richmond, VA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2003 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it working !!!

Again, my setup is 2 disks, hda contains W2K on the first partition
and hdb contains my ext /boot on the first partition.

The goal was to make Gentoo bootable from W2K's bootloader.

This didn't work :
Code:
grub> root (hd1,0)
grub> setup (hd1,0)

There was always some error regarding the embedding of stage1.5
which grub cheerfully says is not fatal.

What I did instead was followed the help instruction ('help install' at the
grub prompt) :
Code:
#mount /boot
grub> root (hd1,0)
grub> install --stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 /boot/grub/stage1 d (hd1,0) /boot/grub/stage2
grub> quit

afterwards I did the same thing as the before :
Code:
#cd /
#mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/A1
#dd if=/dev/hdb1 of=bootsect.gnt bs=512 count=1
#mv bootsect.gnt /mnt/A1

and then modified boot.ini to refer to bootsect.gnt :
Code:
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect
C:\bootsect.gnt="Gentoo"

I think the crucial thing was I specified the "d" option
and I think the --stage2 option could be omitted in the install command :
Code:
grub> install --stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 /boot/grub/stage1 d (hd1,0) /boot/grub/stage2


Last edited by Milamber on Tue Jun 03, 2003 11:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
murphynet
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sweeeet. I have the same setup and have been trying for a few days now to get it to work. Thanks
_________________
tommay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum