View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
kojiro Apprentice
Joined: 20 Nov 2003 Posts: 245 Location: Rochester
|
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 8:23 pm Post subject: Alternative using scanelf and portage-utils |
|
|
Code: | scanelf -pF '%F %n' | awk -v ORS=' ' '/libexpat.so.0/{print $1}'| xargs qfile -qvC | sort -u |
Rebuild the packages listed, and hopefully that will resolve all the libexpat issues. _________________ >>> Also, customizing emacs can be an exercise in black magic.
>> It's not black magic, it's Lisp.
>There is a difference?
Yes, black magic doesn't use parentheses.
--Linux Users' Group of Rochester mailing list |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jburns Veteran
Joined: 18 Jan 2007 Posts: 1217 Location: Massachusetts USA
|
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 12:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
PCalitrack wrote: | I did a fake ebuild of dev-libs/expat-1.95.8 just to see what the libexpat.so.0 file was up to in the older version of expat. It turns out that it is just a link to libexpat.so.0.5.0, which of course doesn't exist in expat-2.0.1. However, that further leads me to believe that libexpat.so.0 should just be a link to libexpat.so.1.5.2 in the newer expat (to mimic its usage in the previous version where it linked to libexpat.so.0.5.0). Don't most libraries do this anyways for backwards compatibility?
Sorry, if I may be leading some astray, but let me know of a better way that works if there is one. |
On my system libexpat.so is set up by the ebuild as Code: | lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 17 Jul 21 16:11 /usr/lib64/libexpat.so -> libexpat.so.1.5.2
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 17 Jul 21 16:11 /usr/lib64/libexpat.so.1 -> libexpat.so.1.5.2
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 144752 Jul 21 16:11 /usr/lib64/libexpat.so.1.5.2 | The ebuild may have changed since I updated to expat-2.0. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 12:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Why do I have this instead ?
Code: |
gentootux ~ # revdep-rebuild -Xp
Configuring search environment for revdep-rebuild
Checking reverse dependencies...
Packages containing binaries and libraries broken by a package update
will be emerged.
Collecting system binaries and libraries... using existing /root/.revdep-rebuild.1_files.
Collecting complete LD_LIBRARY_PATH... using existing /root/.revdep-rebuild.2_ldpath.
Checking dynamic linking consistency... using existing /root/.revdep-rebuild.3_rebuild.
Assigning files to ebuilds... using existing /root/.revdep-rebuild.4_ebuilds.
Evaluating package order... using existing /root/.revdep-rebuild.5_order.
All prepared. Starting rebuild...
emerge --oneshot -Xp =kde-base/libkmime-3.5.3 =kde-base/libksieve-3.5.0 =kde-base/kdepim-kioslaves-3.5.5-r1 =media-plugins/audacious-plugins-1.3.5
..........
usage: emerge [options]
emerge: error: no such option: -X
|
why kioslaves, I have just emerged kde 3.5.7... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 12:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
I did that before :
Code: |
#first, expat itself
emerge -u1 expat
#now some basic libraries that are needed for building stuff
emerge -1 gettext XML-Parser
#now, everything else that is broken
revdep-rebuild -Xp
revdep-rebuild -X
|
And this now :
Code: |
gentootux ~ # revdep-rebuild -p
Configuring search environment for revdep-rebuild
Checking reverse dependencies...
Packages containing binaries and libraries broken by a package update
will be emerged.
Collecting system binaries and libraries... done.
(/root/.revdep-rebuild.1_files)
Collecting complete LD_LIBRARY_PATH... done.
(/root/.revdep-rebuild.2_ldpath)
Checking dynamic linking consistency...
broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kio_imap4.so (requires libexpat.so.0)
broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kio_mbox.so (requires libexpat.so.0)
broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkmime.so.2.2.0 (requires libexpat.so.0)
broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libksieve.so.0.0.0 (requires libexpat.so.0)
done.
(/root/.revdep-rebuild.3_rebuild)
Assigning files to ebuilds... done.
(/root/.revdep-rebuild.4_ebuilds)
Evaluating package order... done.
(/root/.revdep-rebuild.5_order)
All prepared. Starting rebuild...
emerge --oneshot -p =kde-base/libkmime-3.5.3 =kde-base/libksieve-3.5.0 =kde-base/kdepim-kioslaves-3.5.5-r1
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild UD] kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.5-r10 [3.5.7-r2] USE="ssl%* -zeroconf%" LINGUAS="-he%"
[ebuild R ] kde-base/libkmime-3.5.3
[ebuild R ] kde-base/libksieve-3.5.0
[ebuild R ] kde-base/kdepim-kioslaves-3.5.5-r1
Now you can remove -p (or --pretend) from arguments and re-run revdep-rebuild.
gentootux ~ #
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 12:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Can someone explain to me why a downgrade of kde-base/kdelibs....I have already 3.5.7... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PCalitrack n00b
Joined: 05 Aug 2007 Posts: 20 Location: Berkeley, CA
|
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | On my system libexpat.so is set up by the ebuild as
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 17 Jul 21 16:11 /usr/lib64/libexpat.so -> libexpat.so.1.5.2
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 17 Jul 21 16:11 /usr/lib64/libexpat.so.1 -> libexpat.so.1.5.2
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 144752 Jul 21 16:11 /usr/lib64/libexpat.so.1.5.2
The ebuild may have changed since I updated to expat-2.0. |
I was saying that expat version 1.98 builds a link from libexpat.so.0 to libexpat.so.0.5.0, which would be the equivalent of libexpat.so.1.5.2 in the newer version of expat. However, I understand others arguments that libexpat.so.0 is a different shared object that libepat.so.1. It makes sense that we should rebuild everything that depends on that specific file since we don't want those packages depending on a library that no longer exists. However, it sucks when these packages that we are rebuilding look specifically for libexpat.so.0, thus preventing us from rebuilding our packages. GTK+ in particular is getting me.[/code] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Buddha001 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 24 Nov 2005 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 4:41 am Post subject: Re: apr-util problems |
|
|
jhansen wrote: | One big gotcha for me was that I needed to re-emerge dev-libs/apr-util-0.9.12-r1, NOT necessarily only dev-libs/apr-util-1.2.8, before apache and subversion would link correctly. |
Thank you so much for saving me a lot of time and headache. libapreq2 decided it didn't want to compile since apache hadn't linked properly even with revdep-rebuild rebuilding it. Had to go back and rebuild apr-util-0.9.12-r1 manually before apache and libapreq2 would build properly. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PCalitrack n00b
Joined: 05 Aug 2007 Posts: 20 Location: Berkeley, CA
|
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 5:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Just wanted to let you all know I got everything compiled again without the symlink using the revdep-rebuild tool. I had to use the --library=libexpat.so.0 option in order to get everything to work. Otherwise I would still get complaints about missing libexpat.so.0. I think a rebuild of pango, then gtk+, then revdep-rebuild -X --library=libexpat.so.0 was what got it working. Thanks for all the help.
Random linking = bad. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mmeinert n00b
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 24 Location: Bielefeld, Germany
|
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 8:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi all,
I ran into this problem yesterday night too. emerge -uD world was fine till the qt3-update, then it failed. Of course in between expat was updated... Using revdep-rebuild didn't help, its first package to reemerge was qt3, which failed again. After trying some suggestions from this topic - which didn't help - I decided to , just to see what will be. Well, it didn't help for qt, but at least these onehundredsomething packages compiled fine. But reading the compiler-output lead me to
Code: | emerge -1 fontconfig |
which was the solution. equery b libfontconfig.so helped me. =) revdep-rebuild just didn't find fontconfig to be rebuilt too.
Now I'm running revdep-rebuild again and waiting for the next problems... =)
Regards, Markus |
|
Back to top |
|
|
herrzattacke n00b
Joined: 26 Oct 2003 Posts: 49
|
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | emerge fontconfig
emerge pango |
did the trick for me! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Stanley Pain n00b
Joined: 14 Aug 2007 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 2:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So I added all my packages to world, did an emerge -e world, and all works well. Talk about fun re-emerging 952 packages. At least it works, and everything is upto date. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kostko Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 Jul 2003 Posts: 83
|
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I noticed the following during kdelibs compile:
Code: | /usr/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/4.1.2/../../../../i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld: warning: libexpat.so.0, needed by /usr/lib/libXft.so, not found (try using -rpath or -rpath-link) |
So I had to reemerge libXft manually (after the above mentioned gettext, XML-Parser and fontconfig), otherwise no qt or kde package would compile. _________________ JID: kostko@transwarp.unimatrix-one.org |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tjma2001 n00b
Joined: 09 Aug 2007 Posts: 22
|
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thank god for these forums..been googling the net the whole night to find a solutions. dont ask me why i didnt come here first. emerge -e system seems to have fixed my libeexpat.so.0 problem. now its just my gtk thats gotta sort itself out. it was telling me that i had the wrong elf class of libexpat when trying to reemerge it. hopefully nothing goes wrong now. going to have to check in the morning if everything went smoothly |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grozin n00b
Joined: 14 Mar 2005 Posts: 72 Location: Novosibirsk, Russia
|
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 5:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
OK, I've finally restored the functionality of my system. revdep-rebuild kept crushing, so, I used .revdep-rebuild.4_packages and emerged by hand several libraries (on which other things, probably, depend). After that, emacs started to work, I did not have to re-emerge it (the problem was not in emacs itself, but in some library it uses). Then I was able to emerge kde and other stuff from the list constructed by revdep-rebuild. All's well what ends well.
But things would be much easier if revdep-rebuild could choose the correct order of ebuilds automatically. _________________ Andrey Grozin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 11:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
d2_racing wrote: | Can someone explain to me why a downgrade of kde-base/kdelibs....I have already 3.5.7... |
I had to remove rm /root/.revdep-rebuild*.?_*
because it will reset the revdep-rebuild files and the revdep-rebuild -X needs to restart a brand new revdep-rebuild, so the kdelibs as vanish. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
maverick256 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 26 Jan 2005 Posts: 96 Location: New York/NY
|
Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 2:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
For something so seemingly small it's wreaking a lot of trouble. It almost looks like everything X related uses this library. Now I have no gui, and emerge -e world requires me to get some fetch restricted packages (sun stuff, bah). I guess I'll just have to get links. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pjp Administrator
Joined: 16 Apr 2002 Posts: 20484
|
Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
maverick256 wrote: | For something so seemingly small it's wreaking a lot of trouble. It almost looks like everything X related uses this library. Now I have no gui, and emerge -e world requires me to get some fetch restricted packages (sun stuff, bah). I guess I'll just have to get links. | And only to parse XML at that.
We have M for masked, U for upgrade, B for blocker... maybe something indicating fubar would be handy.
revdep-rebuild didn't find a broken claws-mail. I upgraded its dependencies, and that seems to have solved that problem. _________________ Quis separabit? Quo animo? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MartinT n00b
Joined: 04 Mar 2005 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 11:13 am Post subject: subversion? |
|
|
Weird, I ran revdep-rebuild -X and now almost everything runs fine, except svn and apache:
ldd /usr/bin/svn | grep expat
libexpat.so.1 => /usr/lib/libexpat.so.1 (0xb7e69000)
libexpat.so.0 => not found
ldd /usr/sbin/ab2 | grep expat
libexpat.so.1 => /usr/lib/libexpat.so.1 (0xb7d83000)
libexpat.so.0 => not found
I somehow don't get why it requires both versions of expat. I rebuilt these a few times already - same result. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
avatar:0:0: n00b
Joined: 26 Jun 2003 Posts: 34 Location: Poland/Wrocek
|
Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 11:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
regarding apache: please check if you have apr and apr-utils compiled against new expat. please also check if you have only ONE version of apr/apr-utils installed. Code: | equery l dev-libs/apr |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
iandoug l33t
Joined: 11 Feb 2005 Posts: 849 Location: Cape Town, South Africa
|
Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 1:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
avatar:0:0: wrote: | regarding apache: please check if you have apr and apr-utils compiled against new expat. please also check if you have only ONE version of apr/apr-utils installed. Code: | equery l dev-libs/apr |
|
if I have this, what should I do?
Code: |
gentoo lib # equery l dev-libs/apr
[ Searching for package 'apr' in 'dev-libs' among: ]
* installed packages
[I--] [ ] dev-libs/apr-0.9.12 (0)
[I--] [ ~] dev-libs/apr-1.2.9 (1)
[I--] [ ] dev-libs/apr-util-0.9.12-r1 (0)
[I--] [ ~] dev-libs/apr-util-1.2.8-r1 (1)
|
thanks, Ian _________________ Asus X570-PRO, Ryzen 7 5800X, GeForce GTX 1650, 32 GB RAM | Asus Sabertooth P990, AMD FX-8150, GeForce GTX 560, 16GB Ram |
|
Back to top |
|
|
avatar:0:0: n00b
Joined: 26 Jun 2003 Posts: 34 Location: Poland/Wrocek
|
Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 1:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't know if you need to have two versions of each package, but if do not need, than just unmerge all of them and remerge apache. apache will 1st pull apr* in correct versions and all will be compiled against correct expat.
then run revdep-rebuild -X once again to double check. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hmalissa n00b
Joined: 23 Jan 2007 Posts: 20
|
Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:04 pm Post subject: Re: Upgrade to expat-2.0.x needs revdep-rebuild |
|
|
Voltago wrote: | Hi all! expat-2 is stable and it causes some ABI breakage. A sensible upgrade path is:
Code: | #first, expat itself
emerge -u1 expat
#now some basic libraries that are needed for building stuff
emerge -1 gettext XML-Parser
#clean out old revdep-rebuild data
rm /root/.revdep*
#now, rebuild everything else that is broken
revdep-rebuild -Xp
revdep-rebuild -X |
If something fails to build, first try
Code: | emerge -1 gettext XML-Parser
revdep-rebuild -X |
(if you haven't already done so) and then try to upgrade again.
Mod edit: Stuck 2007-08-13. --kallamej |
Following these instructions, I did:
Code: | # emerge -u1 expat
# emerge -1 gettext XML-Parser
# rm /root/.revdep* |
So far, everything works fine. But:
Code: | # revdep-rebuild -Xp
[...]
All prepared. Starting rebuild...
emerge --oneshot -Xp =x11-libs/gtk+-2.10.13 =media-gfx/graphviz-2.12 =app-text/aiksaurus-1.2.1 =dev-libs/dbus-glib-0.73 =media-gfx/autotrace-0.31.1-r1 =media-libs/xine-lib-1.1.4-r2 =games-strategy/boson-0.11-r1 =x11-libs/pango-1.16.4 =media-video/kaffeine-0.8.3 =sys-devel/gcc-4.1.2 =www-client/mozilla-firefox-2.0.0.6 =app-office/lyx-1.4.2 =app-office/koffice-1.6.3-r1 =media-sound/amarok-1.4.6-r1 =app-cdr/k3b-0.12.17 =app-office/openoffice-2.2.1
..........
usage: emerge [options]
emerge: error: no such option: -X
revdep-rebuild failed to emerge all packages
you have the following choices:
- if emerge failed during the build, fix the problems and re-run revdep-rebuild
or
- use -X or --package-names as first argument (trys to rebuild package, not exact
ebuild)
or
- set ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~<your platform>" and/or /etc/portage/package.unmask
(and remove /root/.revdep-rebuild.5_order to be evaluated again)
or
- modify the above emerge command and run it manually
or
- compile or unmerge unsatisfied packages manually, remove temporary files and
try again (you can edit package/ebuild list first)
To remove temporary files, please run:
rm /root/.revdep-rebuild*.?_* |
What's wrong? How do I fix it? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
avatar:0:0: n00b
Joined: 26 Jun 2003 Posts: 34 Location: Poland/Wrocek
|
Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 4:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dont mix revdep-rebuild and emerge options. try: Code: | revdep-rebuild -X -- -p |
or better: Code: | revdep-rebuild -X -- -ptv |
Last edited by avatar:0:0: on Fri Aug 17, 2007 4:04 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
VinzC Watchman
Joined: 17 Apr 2004 Posts: 5098 Location: Dark side of the mood
|
Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 4:03 pm Post subject: Re: Upgrade to expat-2.0.x needs revdep-rebuild |
|
|
hmalissa wrote: | ...
What's wrong? How do I fix it? |
Upgrade gentoolkit first? _________________ Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
VinzC Watchman
Joined: 17 Apr 2004 Posts: 5098 Location: Dark side of the mood
|
Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 4:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Anyway it's a good advice to put your computer in a fridge... With the upcoming of KDE 3.5.7 into the stable branch CPUs are going to be put on fire these days ... _________________ Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|