View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Gentree Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/1364161114417d616b9645b.jpg)
Joined: 01 Jul 2003 Posts: 5350 Location: France, Old Europe
|
Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 9:48 am Post subject: nfs and mount bind confusion |
|
|
Hi,
I am trying to run an ARM pc booted of nfs on Gentoo. That much is fine.
I have compiled some C files using the native ARM toolchain. That is also good.
Now I need to install the kernel source tree and build a module using the native compiler on the arm. I dont have enough space on the nfs mount so I tried to mount a copy of the tree elsewhere on Gentoo using bind option to mount.
This works in so far as I can see the contents on Gentoo but /usr/src/linux is empty when viewed from the ARM.
bash-3.2#du -h /tmpd/arm/nfs/debs/usr/src/linux
....
....
2.5K /tmpd/arm/nfs/debs/usr/src/linux/test/ide-test/CVS
4.0K /tmpd/arm/nfs/debs/usr/src/linux/test/ide-test
223K /tmpd/arm/nfs/debs/usr/src/linux/test
175M /tmpd/arm/nfs/debs/usr/src/linux
bash-3.2#df -h /tmpd/arm/nfs/debs/usr/src/linux
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/svn/arm/linux24 5.0G 4.0G 973M 81% /tmpd/arm/nfs/debs/usr/src/linux
Code: | root@arm:root# mount
192.168.1.3:/tmpd/arm/nfs/debs on / type nfs (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620,gid=5,mode=620)
root@arm:root# ls /usr/src/linux
root@arm:root# ls -ail /usr/src/linux
total 1
287940 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 2 Aug 20 09:32 ./
256196 drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 3 Aug 20 09:32 ../
root@arm:root# |
What is the correct way to do this ?
TIA. Gentree. ![Cool 8)](images/smiles/icon_cool.gif) _________________ Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Rob1n l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
Joined: 29 Nov 2003 Posts: 714 Location: Cambridge, UK
|
Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 9:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
You'll need to either export and mount it separately, or add the "nohide" option to /etc/exports (there may be some issues with doing this - check out the exports man page for details). |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gentree Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/1364161114417d616b9645b.jpg)
Joined: 01 Jul 2003 Posts: 5350 Location: France, Old Europe
|
Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 10:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
I got around the problem by making some space but I still want to know how to do this so thanks a lot for your reply. I'll check out exports. Next time I'll know.
cheers. ![Cool 8)](images/smiles/icon_cool.gif) _________________ Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|