View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Zarathustra[H] Guru
Joined: 30 Dec 2002 Posts: 389 Location: Cambridge, MA, USA
|
Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 3:21 pm Post subject: rc-update and postfix start |
|
|
Hey...
I think the title says it all..
I have postfix configured correctly for my install, but I am still not very well versed with the rc-update system (and the manual isnt really helping me either)
Would this do the trick?
#rc-update add postfix start default
I would think that the space between postfix and start may casue trouble.
I haven't tried it yet, casue I dont know how to undo an rc-update line hehe.
Any input appreciated.
Thanks,
Matt _________________ ----
Athlon 64 3000+ / 1Gb Kingston Hyperx PC3500 / MSI K8N Neo / Geforce 6800GT
---- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dberkholz Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Mar 2003 Posts: 1008 Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
|
Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 3:35 pm Post subject: Re: rc-update and postfix start |
|
|
Zarathustra[H] wrote: | #rc-update add postfix start default
...
I haven't tried it yet, casue I dont know how to undo an rc-update line hehe. |
To add postfix to default runlevel:
Code: | # rc-update add postfix default |
To remove postfix from all runlevels:
Code: | # rc-update del postfix |
If you don't tell it a level to remove it from, it will scan all levels. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Zarathustra[H] Guru
Joined: 30 Dec 2002 Posts: 389 Location: Cambridge, MA, USA
|
Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 7:31 pm Post subject: Re: rc-update and postfix start |
|
|
spyderous wrote: | Zarathustra[H] wrote: | #rc-update add postfix start default
...
I haven't tried it yet, casue I dont know how to undo an rc-update line hehe. |
To add postfix to default runlevel:
Code: | # rc-update add postfix default |
To remove postfix from all runlevels:
Code: | # rc-update del postfix |
If you don't tell it a level to remove it from, it will scan all levels. |
Awesome thankyou... But postfix requires the argument "start" for the mailserver to start up.
From the command line that is:
#postfix start
How do I deal with that in rc update?
Thanks again,
Matt _________________ ----
Athlon 64 3000+ / 1Gb Kingston Hyperx PC3500 / MSI K8N Neo / Geforce 6800GT
---- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dberkholz Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Mar 2003 Posts: 1008 Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
|
Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 7:39 pm Post subject: Re: rc-update and postfix start |
|
|
Zarathustra[H] wrote: | But postfix requires the argument "start" for the mailserver to start up.
From the command line that is:
#postfix start
How do I deal with that in rc update? |
The init script takes care of it. It's in /etc/init.d/postfix. Take a look:
Code: | PIDFILE=/var/spool/postfix/pid/master.pid
start() {
ebegin "Starting postfix"
/usr/sbin/postfix start &>/dev/null
eend $?
}
stop() {
ebegin "Stopping postfix"
/usr/sbin/postfix stop &>/dev/null
eend $?
} |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Zarathustra[H] Guru
Joined: 30 Dec 2002 Posts: 389 Location: Cambridge, MA, USA
|
Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 8:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Awesome! Thank you very much! _________________ ----
Athlon 64 3000+ / 1Gb Kingston Hyperx PC3500 / MSI K8N Neo / Geforce 6800GT
---- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|