Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
unpacking tarball {solved}
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jason5876
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Sep 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dioon,
From what I understand you have a fresh install that you are trying to work with and get Gnome installed while dealing with the expat issue. No valuable data is at hand. It is important to learn how to fix system breakage, but for right now you just want a working desktop. If you want to try another way there are two things you can do. One is to just reinstall from scratch and do "emerge --update --deep world" right after you have a bootable install. That way everything is built against the new expat. I know we don't learn as much that way, but it is easier.
The other is to download an updated stage 4 tarball and install it. There is one I know of that was updated on about 9/19 and has a generic kernel, new expat, X and gtk. All working and standard CFLAGS. Thus avoiding the update issues altogether and giving you a graphical environment to work in. Gnome or whatever should just emerge. Root password for the system is gentoo. Here is the link:

http://74.237.17.82/gentoo/gentoo-stage4-X-9.20.07.tar.bz2

http://74.237.17.82/gentoo/gentoo-stage4-X-9.20.07.md5sum

NeddySeagoon has spent a lot of time giving you valuable information and I do not have a better way, but rather a shortcut to try and save some time. I would just like to help if I can.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jason5876

Thankyou very much for that very valuable information,as I have learnt so much with NeddySeagoon I will stick with him,and if all fails I will use your info.
Thank you once again for your time and effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

After I did the "emerge gnome -evt",I suddenly thought that I could not remember if I had mounted root,and that I may have been getting the output of my already installed o/s.
So I mounted root and chrooted into my install and did "emerge gnome -evt",but instead of getting an output,it started to
load 480 packages,I did'nt know what was happening,so I aborted.
Couple of the packages were:dev-util/pkgconfig-0.21-r1 and sys-libs/zlib-1.2.3-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dioon,

The full meaning of that command is
Code:
emerge --verbose --emptytree --treeview gnome
so it shows you all the use flags in all the packages and the package dependancies needed to build gnome with your settings. (Mine will be different.)
--treeview is supposed to imply --pretend, so nothing is actually emerged. There is no harm done, it will have started emerging things you already have, which is just a waste of CPU time.

Anyway, back to the problem. Lets break it down a little. I was telling you to do
Code:
emerge -n1 '>=portage-2.1.2.12' portage-utils && emerge -qep world | grep --color=never -oFf <(scanelf -plRBF '%F %n' | awk '/libexpat.so.0/{print $1}' | xargs qfile -qC | sort -u; echo -e "libtool\ncurl") | xargs emerge -1
as one big command line instruction. This part
Code:
emerge -n1 '>=portage-2.1.2.12' portage-utils
makes sure you have a version of portage later than 2.1.2.12 and portage-utils. Lets check that. Do
Code:
emerge -p portage portage-utils
and it will tell you what versions you have have. I get
Code:
[ebuild   R   ] sys-apps/portage-2.1.3.9 
[ebuild   R   ] app-portage/portage-utils-0.1.28
so my portage in ok.
The next part of the command, after &&, is
Code:
emerge -qep world | grep --color=never -oFf <(scanelf -plRBF '%F %n' | awk '/libexpat.so.0/{print $1}' | xargs qfile -qC | sort -u; echo -e "libtool\ncurl")
this builds a list of packages that need libexpat.so.0 and the last part
Code:
| xargs emerge -1
rebuilds all the packages in the list. For me, it produces an empty list, so its quite harmless to rerun the
Code:
emerge -n1 '>=portage-2.1.2.12' portage-utils && emerge -qep world | grep --color=never -oFf <(scanelf -plRBF '%F %n' | awk '/libexpat.so.0/{print $1}' | xargs qfile -qC | sort -u; echo -e "libtool\ncurl") | xargs emerge -1
command as, if it completed succesfully, there is nothing to do.
I suspect, as you still have problems, it did not complete and stopped with an error. Run the command again and post the usual
Code:
tail -n 40 ....
if it stops with an error. Ouput of
Code:
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
emerge: the other white meat (command-line interface to the Portage system)
means the command completed successfully the first time and there is nothing to do.

Thats a big problem for everyone, not just you because all the gentoo helpers on IRC are telling everyone to fix libexpat in exactly the same way as I have been telling you in this thread and you may have proved the method is not complete.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

[ebuild R ] sys-apps/portage-2.1.2.12
[ebuild R ] app-portage/portage-utils-0.1.28

Is it o/k to carry on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

Hope I have'nt jumped the gun,but I did all you asked for in your last post,got no errors after emerging that big emerge code again so I tried another emerge gnome,but back to our old error friend pango.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dioon,

Exit the second command for pango ...

Code:
emerge -n portage-utils && grep -vxFf <(emerge -qep system) <(emerge -qep pango) | sed -rne '/^\[ebuild/{s/(^| )\[[^]]*\]( |$)//gp}' | xargs qatom | awk '{print $1"/"$2}' | xargs emerge -1
You can cupy and paste that as I have changed the gtk+ in the example to pango for you.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

We are nearly there.Below is my latest error.

You MUST build sys-apps/pciutils without the zlib USE flag
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dioon,

This one is a bone of contention in the dev community.
make a file called
Code:
/etc/portage/package.use
if its not there and add a line
Code:
lsys-apps/pciutils -zlib

This turns off zlib support for sys-apps/pciutils only.
Now
Code:
emerge pciutils -av
check that the zlib flag has changed.

Continue with Gnome.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

Tried to continue with emerge gnome,I get this:

emerge gnome
Calculating dependencies... done!

!!! Error: the <gnome-base/control-center-2.17.0 package conflicts with another package;
!!! the two packages cannot be installed on the same system together.
!!! Please use 'emerge --pretend' to determine blockers.

For more information about Blocked Packages, please refer to the following
section of the Gentoo Linux x86 Handbook (architecture is irrelevant):

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?full=1#blocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dioon,

Run the emerge with the -p option so it shows you what the problem is.
Paste the end of the output here, showing what the conflict is. It will be in red so you won't missit.

I've not seen that on a new install before.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge -p
emerge: the other white meat (command-line interface to the Portage system)
Usage:
emerge [ options ] [ action ] [ ebuildfile | tbz2file | dependency ] [ ... ]
emerge [ options ] [ action ] < system | world >
emerge < --sync | --metadata | --info >
emerge --resume [ --pretend | --ask | --skipfirst ]
emerge --help [ system | world | --sync ]
Options: -[abBcCdDefgGhikKlnNoOpqPsStuvV] [--oneshot] [--newuse] [--noconfmem]
[ --color < y | n > ] [ --columns ]
[--nospinner]
[ --deep ] [--with-bdeps < y | n > ]
Actions: [ --clean | --depclean | --prune | --regen | --search | --unmerge ]

For more help try 'emerge --help --verbose' or consult the man page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dioon,

Close ... you said emege -p but didn't give it a target to work on. Try
Code:
emerge gnome -p

so it shows you a list of packages including the blockers.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

Forget that last post of mine,had a problem with the terminal Ive been using all day,so changed to another one and forget
to re chroot,install is now continuing o/k,sorry for that stupid mistake.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dioon,

You learn more when it goes wrong.
No problem.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

Did a"tail -n 40",as usual but got "no such file or directory".
But part of the error message does say "gst-plugins-base needs X flag".
The package is "media-video/totem-2.18.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

Again forget last post(typo on tail), the fix was in the error message,so we are rolling again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

Finally installed Gnome,many thanks to you.
All I need now is to be able to boot into a GUI,at the moment I can only boot to a log in screen,here is what I have done so far: emerged:xorg-x11
xorg -configure
X -config /root/xorg.conf.new
cp /root/xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf
startx (works just fine)

emerged:Gnome
echo "exec gnome-session" > ~/.xinitrc
startx (nice gnome desktop)

Tried startx after logging in but only got the twm window manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dioon,

You need to do
Code:
echo "exec gnome-session" > ~/.xinitrc
for each user. The ~ symbol is short for /home/<username>
Linux allows each user to choose their desktop this way.

For a GUI login, you will want to
Code:
emerge gdm
if you don't already have it and start and configure the xdm service, so gdm is run at boot. See Configuring Gnome Section 3
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

Did all that but still no GUI,at the log in screen I get this error message: could not start the Display Manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dioon,

The document may be incomplete. You may need to set Gnome in
Code:
/etc/rc.conf
too.
If it does not work, post bother your /etc/rc.conf and /etc/conf.d/xdm files please.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

# /etc/rc.conf: Global startup script configuration settings

# UNICODE specifies whether you want to have UNICODE support in the console.
# If you set to yes, please make sure to set a UNICODE aware CONSOLEFONT and
# KEYMAP in the /etc/conf.d/consolefont and /etc/conf.d/keymaps config files.

UNICODE="yes"

# Set EDITOR to your preferred editor.
# You may use something other than what is listed here.

EDITOR="/bin/nano"
#EDITOR="/usr/bin/vim"
#EDITOR="/usr/bin/emacs"

# DISPLAYMANAGER has moved to /etc/conf.d/xdm

# XSESSION is a new variable to control what window manager to start
# default with X if run with xdm, startx or xinit. The default behavior

# is to look in /etc/X11/Sessions/ and run the script in matching the
# value that XSESSION is set to. The support scripts are smart enough to
# look in all bin directories if it cant find a match in /etc/X11/Sessions/,
# so setting it to "enlightenment" can also work. This is basically used
# as a way for the system admin to configure a default system wide WM,
# allthough it will work if the user export XSESSION in his .bash_profile, etc.
#
# NOTE: 1) this behaviour is overridden when a ~/.xinitrc exists, and startx
# is called.
# 2) even if ~/.xsession exists, if XSESSION can be resolved, it will
# be executed rather than ~/.xsession, else KDM breaks ...
#
# Defaults depending on what you install currently include:
#
# Gnome - will start gnome-session
# kde-<version> - will start startkde (look in /etc/X11/Sessions/)
# Xsession - will start a terminal and a few other nice apps

#XSESSION="Gnome"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is all I have in /etc/conf.d/xdm DISPLAYMANAGER="gdm"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

I have my GUI, I set gnome in /etc/rc.conf as you suggested.
As you can see from my last post it was set(and still is)in /etc/conf.d/xdm,should I remove it from here,and what should be set in /etc/conf.d/xdm
Below is a part of the handbook that I followed.

Code Listing 3.2: Editing /etc/conf.d/xdm

DISPLAYMANAGER="gdm"

I copied and pasted the above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum