View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
kha0s n00b
Joined: 11 Feb 2007 Posts: 21 Location: Lisbon, PT
|
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:30 pm Post subject: Dynamical DNS: 2 IPs, 4 machines, 1 Masterzzzzz! |
|
|
Here's the deal folks:
I've got two places, separated by a big Ocean, with ADSL connections. Let's call them "Home" and "Jail". I've got 2 computers at Home and 2 computer at Jail. On each computer, (all Gentoo powered naturally) there are at least 2 users (root and joe).
Objective: control them all by "ssh" from anywhere in the earth (and even from the Moon if they ever get broadband up there)
1: Getting a static IP for Home and Jail:
I've intersected from several sources that DynDNS.com is the place to go. I've checked it out and it seems they offer 5 free hostnames per registration:
Question1: Does that mean per registration I get: one static ip for Home, one static ip for Jail, and end up with 3 spare ones?
2: Getting past my NAT-FIREWALL router
On Home, I've got a DG834N and on Jail I've got a DG834PN. The first one even has embedded support for DynDNS.com! The point is they're both have a NAT firewall. Now here comes the BIG issue:
In both routers, I can add a "Inbound Service" firewall rule that takes the following arguments:
Code: |
Service: SSH(TCP/UDP:22)
Action: ALLOW always
Send to LAN Server: 192.168.0.2
WAN Users: ANY
Log: Always
|
Now let's say computer1=192.168.0.2 and computer2=192.168.0.3.
Question2: How the heck I'm I going do ssh into computer2, since in my router I can only configure ONE "LAN Server"?
I'm kind of newbie with ssh, so, if there's some kind of outrageously simple solution for this, please don't hack me!
Thanks in advance! _________________ Who will guard the guards? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cipherus Apprentice
Joined: 07 May 2004 Posts: 174
|
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 4:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
With a service like DynDNS, they do not give you a static IP address. You sign up for a domain named (for example jail.dyndns.com) and when your IP address changes, it will update with their service automatically. Well not exactly automatically, some routers contain a service that will update to dyndns whenever you IP address changes. If your router does not have this, then you will need to run a service from one of your computers which does this. The only way to really figure it out is to just sign up and start testing, it is afterall a completely free service.
Secondly, with your router and port forwarding, you can only have port 22 (the ssh port) forwarded to one computer on your LAN. The trick is, you can forward a different port (maybe port 27) to a different computer. Some routers let you define which external port gets mapped to which internal port, for example, making jail.dyndns.com port 27 forward to internal LAN ip address 192.168.0.105 port 22. However, if your router doesn't have this functionality, then you will have to change your sshd to listen on port 27 instead of 22. For further reading on how to change your sshd listening port do this command:
Another alternative would be to forward port 22 to one of your computers. Once you log into that computer with ssh, you can then ssh from there to your second computer. Neat, eh?
p.s. i already hacked you. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kha0s n00b
Joined: 11 Feb 2007 Posts: 21 Location: Lisbon, PT
|
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 9:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I see... Fortunately I'm not expecting to handle more than 65535 machines under the same sub-net, . What I haven't figured out yet is if DynDNS.com allows you to created 5 different domain names for 5 different IP addresses, i.e, if with only one registration, keeping the example above, I would be able to have a domain name for House's IP and a domain name for Jail's IP. I would very much like to exclude the possibility that what they're really saying is that you get 5 different names for the SAME IP, with each registration....
PS: Yes, I noticed! The question is, was the door opened or was the door LEFT opened.... _________________ Who will guard the guards? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cipherus Apprentice
Joined: 07 May 2004 Posts: 174
|
Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
it was right opened. and for the record, there is no spoon. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|