View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
awesomescot n00b

Joined: 02 Oct 2005 Posts: 15
|
Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 8:38 pm Post subject: two NIC's, network stops working after a period of time |
|
|
Here is what I'm trying to do. I have a Gentoo box with two NIC's. One conected to the internet with an IP. One connected to a LAN behind a hardware firewall/router. I want to have programs, such as samba, to run only on the LAN. And I want to run apache and sshd on both WAN and LAN.
Here's my problem. After boot both NIC's get an IP by DHCP. And the route table looks like this.
Code: |
humus ~ # route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.1.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
208.106.105.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 1 0 0 eth1
127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
0.0.0.0 208.106.105.1 0.0.0.0 UG 1 0 0 eth1
|
Then I edit the route table so that only 192.168.1.0-255 trafic goes to eth0.
Code: |
humus ~ # route del -net 0.0.0.0 netmask 0.0.0.0 gw 192.168.1.1
humus ~ # route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.1.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
208.106.105.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 1 0 0 eth1
127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
0.0.0.0 208.106.105.1 0.0.0.0 UG 1 0 0 eth1
|
I'm not sure if this is right but it makes sence to me.
So at first I'm able to ssh in and access the http server, but after some amount of time it stops working. And the network stops working on the server. Ping doesn't respond and can'[/code]t access anything. It seems like anything that has to do with the network doesn't respond. I have to crtl-c to get out of 'ping google.com' or '/etc/init.d/net.eth1 restart', they don't respond.
Anybody know what's happening here?? Also if anyone has tips on iptables or route tables I would love to know.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
BradN Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002 Posts: 2391 Location: Wisconsin (USA)
|
Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The fact that the network script just hangs is indicative of a driver bug - does dmesg show anything interesting after the problem occurs? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
awesomescot n00b

Joined: 02 Oct 2005 Posts: 15
|
Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't think it's a driver problem because when I unplug the LAN connection, the WAN connection it keeps working for days no prob. And I've switched which NIC is LAN and WAN, so I know they both work fine when only one has a connection. Right now I only have one NIC connected so it doesn't freeze, but next time I have it frozen I will try 'dmesg' and give you the output.
Any other ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
awesomescot n00b

Joined: 02 Oct 2005 Posts: 15
|
Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2007 11:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So I have changed my /etc/conf.d/net file to have this.
Code: |
config_eth1=( "dhcp" )
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
dhcp_eth0="release nodns nontp nonis nogateway"
|
Thinking this would help because there would only be one default gateway. But sadly I have the same results. Works great for a short period of time then everything having to do with the network stops working.
Help please |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|