Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
PANIC: CPU too old for this kernel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sitsuj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:05 pm    Post subject: PANIC: CPU too old for this kernel Reply with quote

Hi!

I've tried to compile a kernel for a Pentium MMX 200MHz (3 times now), but with no success. Every time the kernel is loaded, this message comes up: "PANIC: CPU too old for this kernel". I don't know what to do now, I've checked CPU family to MMX, reduced Timer Frequency, but it also didn't help :/ I'd appreciate any help with this problem (either a step by step solution or already compiled kernel). I am using Gentoo 2007.0. Thank you in advance :)

Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10733
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Boot the installation CD and run
Code:
cat /proc/cpuinfo
and tell us what the following values are:
  • vendor_id
  • cpu family
  • model
  • model name
  • stepping
You can post the whole thing if you like, but do post those items.

- John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sitsuj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for responding so fast :) So, here it is:

Code:

processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 5
model : 4
model name : Pentium MMX
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 200.458
cache size : 0KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr mce cxf mmx up
bogomips : 401.71
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cyker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1746

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

0KB cache!? :shock:
I had Pentium MMX and I'm sure it had more than 0KB cache! (IIRC it had a whopping 32k; Twice as much as a normal Pentium :P)

If you have set the kernel to Pentium MMX CPU (Which is right), check the CHOST - If it is i686, there is a possibility the i686 built target is causing problems, as the P1 is i586 and some i686 stuff won't work on it :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sitsuj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately, my CHOST is set properly (this would probably solve my problem :)) to "i486-pc-linux-gnu". But maybe I could find a proper kernel on minimal disc or Internet?

Btw, you're right, it should find 32KB cache on CPU. But... whatever :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10733
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you tell us the exact steps you're using to build the kernel?

- John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MorpheuS.Ibis
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Apr 2006
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

didn't you disable CPU cache in BIOS by some accident? it is really strange for a CPU to have no cache at all (it couldn't work without cache IMHO)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cyker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1746

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh you can; Remember the first Celerons?

Intel: EDO SIMM RAM means we don't need cache in our budget CPUs anymore!
....
User: Why the hell is it taking Notepad 3 hours to load?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sitsuj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

john_r_graham wrote:
Could you tell us the exact steps you're using to build the kernel?



Code:

cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig

Hm... I'll just say that I'm not changing anything except mentioned before CPU family.
Code:

make && make modules_install


I'll try to look for some kernels, that are suitable for my CPU on the Internet. Anyway, I'm still waiting for a solution :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sitsuj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MorpheuS.Ibis wrote:
didn't you disable CPU cache in BIOS by some accident? it is really strange for a CPU to have no cache at all (it couldn't work without cache IMHO)

No, of course not :D But thanks for a clue :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9896
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It should work fine...

Code:
$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 5
model           : 4
model name      : Pentium MMX
stepping        : 4
cpu MHz         : 166.097
cache size      : 0 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 1
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr mce cx8 mmx
bogomips        : 332.50
clflush size    : 32

$ uname -a
Linux kagome 2.6.22 #1 Sun Sep 2 21:09:43 MDT 2007 i586 unknown


I have these set in my kernel:
Code:
CONFIG_X86_PC=y
CONFIG_M586MMX=y
CONFIG_X86_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_X86_CMPXCHG=y
CONFIG_X86_L1_CACHE_SHIFT=7
CONFIG_X86_XADD=y
CONFIG_RWSEM_XCHGADD_ALGORITHM=y
CONFIG_GENERIC_CALIBRATE_DELAY=y
CONFIG_X86_PPRO_FENCE=y
CONFIG_X86_F00F_BUG=y
CONFIG_X86_WP_WORKS_OK=y
CONFIG_X86_INVLPG=y
CONFIG_X86_BSWAP=y
CONFIG_X86_POPAD_OK=y
CONFIG_X86_ALIGNMENT_16=y
CONFIG_X86_GOOD_APIC=y
CONFIG_X86_INTEL_USERCOPY=y
CONFIG_X86_TSC=y
CONFIG_X86_MINIMUM_CPU_MODEL=4


Odd. I could have sworn this computer had the F00F bug...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sitsuj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is really weird. Kernels from minimal CD don't work :/ Could you (or anybody, who has successfully compiled similar kernel) send me your kernel? (Rapidshare, etc.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9896
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sent PM.

If anyone else also ran into this issue and wants to try, please PM. I'm curious if this fails on any P5's, that would be really weird...

(it's a fairly normal 2.6.22.8 source tarball compiled, 71MB. Binary+.config+System.map w/o modules is about 1MB. I "cross compiled" this on my Gentoo box for my sister's Debian router box, it's kind of sad that her box can't compile 2.6 kernels anymore since it uses gcc-2.95.4 ...)

I have another hypothesis to what's wrong: Are you building a kernel with a x86_64 box?
I'm not sure if I got my x86_64 box to build a proper x86 kernel yet... Need to do some magic with the makefile or set some target environment variable.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10733
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sitsuj wrote:
Hm... I'll just say that I'm not changing anything except mentioned before CPU family.
Code:

make && make modules_install
Presumably you're following this up with a "make install" or else copying the images manually to /boot?

When you say that the install CD kernels don't work, do you mean that you get the exact same error message? This is a clue as you don't get that error message when booting the install CD, right? Please take steps to verify that you're loading the kernel you're building (i.e., ensure that the file names in grub.conf exactly match your new kernel name).

Finally, changing nothing but the CPU family probably won't result in a usable kernel. At a minimum, you'll need to ensure that the drivers for your hard drive controller are included.

- John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sitsuj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much :)
As soon as I come back to home, I'll report how it's working :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sitsuj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

john_r_graham wrote:
sitsuj wrote:
Hm... I'll just say that I'm not changing anything except mentioned before CPU family.
Code:

make && make modules_install
Presumably you're following this up with a "make install" or else copying the images manually to /boot?

When you say that the install CD kernels don't work, do you mean that you get the exact same error message? This is a clue as you don't get that error message when booting the install CD, right? Please take steps to verify that you're loading the kernel you're building (i.e., ensure that the file names in grub.conf exactly match your new kernel name).

Finally, changing nothing but the CPU family probably won't result in a usable kernel. At a minimum, you'll need to ensure that the drivers for your hard drive controller are included.

- John


Yes, I get the same message. And that's a little bit weird, because I'm using the kernel, which works perfectly OK when booting from a CD. Every time: "PANIC:..." And yes, I made sure that paths in grub are correct. Let's just wait till I come home and check out the kernel eccerr0r sent me :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9896
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

john_r_graham wrote:
Finally, changing nothing but the CPU family probably won't result in a usable kernel.

Yes this is true (though it seems strangely worded.) Depending on what it's changed to, it indeed can produce an unusable kernel. I got bit by this by not specifying "generic x86" and trying to boot my P4's kernel on a K7. It failed miserably - did not even get to init. IIRC it hung shortly after decompressing the kernel, probably due to an invalid instruction.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sitsuj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The kernel you sent me works, but... it does not support reiserfs, so my root partition is not recognized. So thanks for a config file too, I'll try to re-compile the kernel and report after that :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum