View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
sitsuj n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 30 Jan 2006 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:05 pm Post subject: PANIC: CPU too old for this kernel |
|
|
Hi!
I've tried to compile a kernel for a Pentium MMX 200MHz (3 times now), but with no success. Every time the kernel is loaded, this message comes up: "PANIC: CPU too old for this kernel". I don't know what to do now, I've checked CPU family to MMX, reduced Timer Frequency, but it also didn't help :/ I'd appreciate any help with this problem (either a step by step solution or already compiled kernel). I am using Gentoo 2007.0. Thank you in advance
Peter |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
John R. Graham Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/1323583785534df64897db0.jpg)
Joined: 08 Mar 2005 Posts: 10733 Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia
|
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Boot the installation CD and runand tell us what the following values are:- vendor_id
- cpu family
- model
- model name
- stepping
You can post the whole thing if you like, but do post those items.
- John |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sitsuj n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 30 Jan 2006 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you for responding so fast So, here it is:
Code: |
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 5
model : 4
model name : Pentium MMX
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 200.458
cache size : 0KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr mce cxf mmx up
bogomips : 401.71
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cyker Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 15 Jun 2006 Posts: 1746
|
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 4:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
0KB cache!?
I had Pentium MMX and I'm sure it had more than 0KB cache! (IIRC it had a whopping 32k; Twice as much as a normal Pentium )
If you have set the kernel to Pentium MMX CPU (Which is right), check the CHOST - If it is i686, there is a possibility the i686 built target is causing problems, as the P1 is i586 and some i686 stuff won't work on it ![Sad :(](images/smiles/icon_sad.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sitsuj n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 30 Jan 2006 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 4:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Unfortunately, my CHOST is set properly (this would probably solve my problem ) to "i486-pc-linux-gnu". But maybe I could find a proper kernel on minimal disc or Internet?
Btw, you're right, it should find 32KB cache on CPU. But... whatever ![Very Happy :D](images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
John R. Graham Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/1323583785534df64897db0.jpg)
Joined: 08 Mar 2005 Posts: 10733 Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia
|
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 5:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Could you tell us the exact steps you're using to build the kernel?
- John |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
MorpheuS.Ibis Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Matrix/movie_the_matrix_morpheus.gif)
Joined: 22 Apr 2006 Posts: 143
|
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
didn't you disable CPU cache in BIOS by some accident? it is really strange for a CPU to have no cache at all (it couldn't work without cache IMHO) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cyker Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 15 Jun 2006 Posts: 1746
|
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Oh you can; Remember the first Celerons?
Intel: EDO SIMM RAM means we don't need cache in our budget CPUs anymore!
....
User: Why the hell is it taking Notepad 3 hours to load? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sitsuj n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 30 Jan 2006 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
john_r_graham wrote: | Could you tell us the exact steps you're using to build the kernel?
|
Code: |
cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig
|
Hm... I'll just say that I'm not changing anything except mentioned before CPU family.
Code: |
make && make modules_install
|
I'll try to look for some kernels, that are suitable for my CPU on the Internet. Anyway, I'm still waiting for a solution ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sitsuj n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 30 Jan 2006 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
MorpheuS.Ibis wrote: | didn't you disable CPU cache in BIOS by some accident? it is really strange for a CPU to have no cache at all (it couldn't work without cache IMHO) |
No, of course not But thanks for a clue ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
eccerr0r Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 Posts: 9896 Location: almost Mile High in the USA
|
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It should work fine...
Code: | $ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 5
model : 4
model name : Pentium MMX
stepping : 4
cpu MHz : 166.097
cache size : 0 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr mce cx8 mmx
bogomips : 332.50
clflush size : 32
$ uname -a
Linux kagome 2.6.22 #1 Sun Sep 2 21:09:43 MDT 2007 i586 unknown
|
I have these set in my kernel:
Code: | CONFIG_X86_PC=y
CONFIG_M586MMX=y
CONFIG_X86_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_X86_CMPXCHG=y
CONFIG_X86_L1_CACHE_SHIFT=7
CONFIG_X86_XADD=y
CONFIG_RWSEM_XCHGADD_ALGORITHM=y
CONFIG_GENERIC_CALIBRATE_DELAY=y
CONFIG_X86_PPRO_FENCE=y
CONFIG_X86_F00F_BUG=y
CONFIG_X86_WP_WORKS_OK=y
CONFIG_X86_INVLPG=y
CONFIG_X86_BSWAP=y
CONFIG_X86_POPAD_OK=y
CONFIG_X86_ALIGNMENT_16=y
CONFIG_X86_GOOD_APIC=y
CONFIG_X86_INTEL_USERCOPY=y
CONFIG_X86_TSC=y
CONFIG_X86_MINIMUM_CPU_MODEL=4
|
Odd. I could have sworn this computer had the F00F bug... _________________ Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sitsuj n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 30 Jan 2006 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
This is really weird. Kernels from minimal CD don't work :/ Could you (or anybody, who has successfully compiled similar kernel) send me your kernel? (Rapidshare, etc.) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
eccerr0r Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 Posts: 9896 Location: almost Mile High in the USA
|
Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sent PM.
If anyone else also ran into this issue and wants to try, please PM. I'm curious if this fails on any P5's, that would be really weird...
(it's a fairly normal 2.6.22.8 source tarball compiled, 71MB. Binary+.config+System.map w/o modules is about 1MB. I "cross compiled" this on my Gentoo box for my sister's Debian router box, it's kind of sad that her box can't compile 2.6 kernels anymore since it uses gcc-2.95.4 ...)
I have another hypothesis to what's wrong: Are you building a kernel with a x86_64 box?
I'm not sure if I got my x86_64 box to build a proper x86 kernel yet... Need to do some magic with the makefile or set some target environment variable. _________________ Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
John R. Graham Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/1323583785534df64897db0.jpg)
Joined: 08 Mar 2005 Posts: 10733 Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia
|
Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sitsuj wrote: | Hm... I'll just say that I'm not changing anything except mentioned before CPU family.
Code: |
make && make modules_install
|
| Presumably you're following this up with a "make install" or else copying the images manually to /boot?
When you say that the install CD kernels don't work, do you mean that you get the exact same error message? This is a clue as you don't get that error message when booting the install CD, right? Please take steps to verify that you're loading the kernel you're building (i.e., ensure that the file names in grub.conf exactly match your new kernel name).
Finally, changing nothing but the CPU family probably won't result in a usable kernel. At a minimum, you'll need to ensure that the drivers for your hard drive controller are included.
- John |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sitsuj n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 30 Jan 2006 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you very much
As soon as I come back to home, I'll report how it's working ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sitsuj n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 30 Jan 2006 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
john_r_graham wrote: | sitsuj wrote: | Hm... I'll just say that I'm not changing anything except mentioned before CPU family.
Code: |
make && make modules_install
|
| Presumably you're following this up with a "make install" or else copying the images manually to /boot?
When you say that the install CD kernels don't work, do you mean that you get the exact same error message? This is a clue as you don't get that error message when booting the install CD, right? Please take steps to verify that you're loading the kernel you're building (i.e., ensure that the file names in grub.conf exactly match your new kernel name).
Finally, changing nothing but the CPU family probably won't result in a usable kernel. At a minimum, you'll need to ensure that the drivers for your hard drive controller are included.
- John |
Yes, I get the same message. And that's a little bit weird, because I'm using the kernel, which works perfectly OK when booting from a CD. Every time: "PANIC:..." And yes, I made sure that paths in grub are correct. Let's just wait till I come home and check out the kernel eccerr0r sent me ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
eccerr0r Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 Posts: 9896 Location: almost Mile High in the USA
|
Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 6:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
john_r_graham wrote: | Finally, changing nothing but the CPU family probably won't result in a usable kernel.
|
Yes this is true (though it seems strangely worded.) Depending on what it's changed to, it indeed can produce an unusable kernel. I got bit by this by not specifying "generic x86" and trying to boot my P4's kernel on a K7. It failed miserably - did not even get to init. IIRC it hung shortly after decompressing the kernel, probably due to an invalid instruction. _________________ Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sitsuj n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 30 Jan 2006 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
The kernel you sent me works, but... it does not support reiserfs, so my root partition is not recognized. So thanks for a config file too, I'll try to re-compile the kernel and report after that ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|