Acer Aspire 3680
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
fuzzyhair
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 8:46 pm    Post subject: Acer Aspire 3680 Reply with quote

I am having a hard time installing Gentoo on my Acer Aspire. I have some questions.

1. If I use the GUI installer will it give me the same performance as an install from the minimal cd (using genkernel)? (if the answer is yes, I won't need to answer to other questions.
2. Eventhough I ran genkernel all the bootup would not recognize my hard drive listed as /dev/sda. I think the kernel didn't know how to work with sda. What do I have to mark in menuconfig to fix this?

Sorry if my questions aren't clear or I don't make sense. I am very new to gentoo, but i am attached to it.
Pithlit
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Last time I tried using the GUI installer it made poop. Seriously. Dunno if things got fixed by now but I'd strongly suggest the traditional install method - read the guide (learn things while you do it) and type stuff into the console.

as for your hdd issue... /dev/sda... I assume that's a SATA drive. Genkernel _should_ be able to do it right. At least it does for other people. Are you sure it's sda and not sdb? Did you configure your lilo/grub correctly? There's quite a few things that could've gone wrong.
fuzzyhair
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pithlit wrote:
Last time I tried using the GUI installer it made poop. Seriously. Dunno if things got fixed by now but I'd strongly suggest the traditional install method - read the guide (learn things while you do it) and type stuff into the console.