new to gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
pelanor
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 3:47 pm    Post subject: new to gentoo Reply with quote

ok guys

Im at my wits end here. I am new to linux but I found this old computer and I thought it would be neat to install gentoo on it and see if I couldnt ween myself off of windows.

I think the only piece of the machine that is propietary is the bios. It says "IBM Aptiva" when it boots up but thats it.
So I think my hardware should run linux. The rest of it is normal gear: amd k-6 233 with 64M sdram and an 8gig hdd.

When I try to boot from either the 2006 and the 2007 livecd, the computer reboots its self ( a common problem I have read here on the forums) but it seems to do well when I install from the "minimal" 2006 cd. But the problem is that when I get it installed far enough into the shell (livecd root #) is that the tarball is not on the cd. I was following the installation instructions from the 2007 guide (http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=5) but I get stopped cold when the instructions tell you to download the stage tarball. This computer isnt hooked up to the internet yet :/

But if I try to eject the minimal 2006 cd and put either of the live cds in there ( to try to copy the tarball to the hdd or just unpack it) my cd rom light flashes red meaning ( i think) that the computer is running the OS from the cd and it wont let me swap out any cds.

Im not sure if I am running a version that is too new for this system.
Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
WakkaDojo
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote