View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
trevormtb n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 04 Dec 2004 Posts: 22 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 10:04 pm Post subject: Suspend2 errors on resume |
|
|
I'm using suspend2-sources 2.6.22-r2. Suspending to swap works fine with no errors. Running hibernate -n -v3 shows no errors and works fine.
Upon rebooting and trying to use the suspended image however, the computer always stalls with no error messages.
Typing this out on my laptop right now, i see the following on my frozen computer:
.........
Suspend2: SwapAllocator: Signature found.
Suspend2: Resuming enabled.
Disable nonboot cpus.
Freeze processes.
Reading kernel & process data...
Prepare console
Device suspend.
This still happens when hibernating from command line or X, with or without sound loaded.
I'm at my wits end here...any ideas would be appreciated. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Mantaar Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/49040740646b491dd11ea7.jpg)
Joined: 17 May 2007 Posts: 219
|
Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 10:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I can't really help you with your problem, but it seems brand new 2.6.23 has native (vanilla) support for suspend and hibernate (ram/disk) - and it works extremely well on my computer where it used to fail frequently.
Just try merging gentoo-sources-2.6.23 (no extra suspend2) and activate the following options:
Code: |
│ Symbol: SUSPEND [=y] │
│ Prompt: Suspend to RAM and standby │
│ Defined at kernel/power/Kconfig:101 │
│ Depends on: !X86_VOYAGER && PM && (SUSPEND_UP_POSSIBLE || SUSPEND_SMP_POSSIBLE) │
│ Location: │
│ -> Power management options (ACPI, APM) │
│ Symbol: HIBERNATION [=y] │
│ Prompt: Hibernation (aka 'suspend to disk') │
│ Defined at kernel/power/Kconfig:123 │
│ Depends on: !X86_VOYAGER && PM && SWAP && (HIBERNATION_UP_POSSIBLE || HIBERNATION_SMP_P │
│ Location: │
│ -> Power management options (ACPI, APM) │
|
You can also set a default resume partition (mine is set to /dev/hda2) so you don't have to pass that as a kernel command line argument. It's all in the Power Management subsection of menuconfig. Give it a shot, it might be worth it - certainly was, in my case... ![Wink ;-)](images/smiles/icon_wink.gif) _________________ Error compiling committee.c: too many arguments to function. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
trevormtb n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 04 Dec 2004 Posts: 22 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
I compiled and got the 2.6.23 kernel running.
Only problem is I can't seem to get nvidia-drivers working with it. I've already spent about 2 hours with this suspend issue....at this point, i'll just deal with shutting down and rebooting.
Thanks anyway for the tip. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Mantaar Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/49040740646b491dd11ea7.jpg)
Joined: 17 May 2007 Posts: 219
|
Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 7:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Are you getting "Access Violations" when trying to emerge nvidia-drivers?
Try this:
Code: |
# FEATURES="-sandbox -usersandbox" emerge nvidia-drivers
|
Helped in my case. _________________ Error compiling committee.c: too many arguments to function. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Evincar Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 13 Feb 2007 Posts: 217 Location: Madrid
|
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 10:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
By any chance you happen to have a tickless kernel trevormtb? If that is the case, try compiling the C-states controller as a module (its name is "processor"), and unload it before suspending. There is some bug in the way suspending and resuming handles the C-states that causes the CPU to get stuck in C3 state, thus hanging your system. Unloading the processor module will make sure the CPU is always in C-0 (executing) states. This may increase power consumption while suspending/resuming, but that takes about 25 seconds, so it's not like it matters.
Hope that helps!! _________________ <@Chin^> My sister caught me jacking off the other week and calls me a pervert
<@Chin^> just the other day i walked into my room and caught my sister masturbating
<@Chin^> So she calls me a pervert again?!?
<@Chin^> there is no justice in the world... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|