Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
What is wrong with my wp_supplicant setup? [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
neiltrodden
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:40 pm    Post subject: What is wrong with my wp_supplicant setup? [solved] Reply with quote

I'm using ndiswrapper to load the bcmwl5.inf windows driver for my Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless card.

linux-2.6.22-gentoo-r8
Acer Aspire 1710 laptop
Pentium 4 w/hyperthreading enabled

ndiswrapper is loading fine on boot and when queried, it tells me the driver is loaded and the device is present.

This is my wpa_supplicant.conf file:

Code:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=1

network={
  ssid="neilsnet"
  psk="my_ascii_key"
  priority=5
}


This is my etc/conf.d/net file:

Code:

modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dndiswrapper"

config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
dhcp_eth0="nodns nontp nonis"

config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
dhcp_wlan0="nodns nontp nonis"


ndiswrapper is aliased to wlan0 in modules.d and it all appears to be working. I have no errors but I cannot connect to my network. Rather, it brings up wlan0 on boot but says "backgrounding" which is it sleeping after finding no network, I think?

My linksys wrtg router is set to the following:

Security mode: WPA Personal (There's Enterprise and other options with WPA2 and WEP available)
WPA Algorithms: TKIP (other option is AES)
WPA Shared Key: my_ascii_key (changed from my real one but is the same as entered in my wpa_supplicant.conf file)

Can anyone spot why it is not finding my network? Does my config seem to match the settings on my router? I'm thinking that they don't but I can't see how?

I'm not even sure which logs to look at to help find out where it has failed...


Last edited by neiltrodden on Thu Oct 18, 2007 8:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 2094
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this

/etc/conf.d/net:
Code:
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext -iwlan0"
modules_wlan0=( "wpa_supplicant" )


The ndiswrapper setting doesn't work with ndiswrapper anymore.

It took me weeks to find that out when I first brought up my BCM card.

It may also help to specify more details for wpa_supplicant:

/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf:
Code:
network={
        ssid="your_ssid"
        scan_ssid=0
        proto=WPA
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        pairwise=TKIP
        group=TKIP
        psk="your_key"
# The higher the priority the sooner we are matched.
        priority=5
}


Raydude
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neiltrodden
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply RayDude.

I tried this and although it didn't give me any errors, it still gave me the "backgrounding" message on boot. What I shall do this evening is try it without any security at all and go back to first principles. If it doesn't work with zero encryption, it might at least get me closer to the root of the problem. I'll report back!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 2094
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

neiltrodden wrote:
Thanks for the reply RayDude.

I tried this and although it didn't give me any errors, it still gave me the "backgrounding" message on boot. What I shall do this evening is try it without any security at all and go back to first principles. If it doesn't work with zero encryption, it might at least get me closer to the root of the problem. I'll report back!


The backgrounding message is normal. However, to really know what's going on you have to run wpa_supplicant on the command line and watch its messages scroll by.

Raydude
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neiltrodden
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got it working. As it happens, I managed to get my config right but there was one line that was needed to fix it.

Your suggestion to run it from the command line paid dividends as I saw it connect(!) and I switched to a different terminal and ran dhcpcd on the new interface and it acquired fine. I'm really glad I didn't spend hours 'chopping and changing' the conf files so you definitely showed me the way.

It still didn't work when calling the "net.wlan0 start" command but I noticed it did not connect to my network instantly when I ran it manually from the command line so by adding:

Code:

associate_timeout_wlan0=60


...to my /etc/conf.d/net file, it forces it to wait for a network connection before running dhcpcd.

And it works! Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tortue
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2005
Posts: 75
Location: Gatineau (Québec), Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I've got a similar problem, except that I connect (thanks RayDude for the tip about -Dwext instead of -Dndiswrapper), and when I try to ping the WRT, or any PC on the network, it says that the network is unreachable. So I'm a bit lost.

Here is what running wpa_supplicant from the command line gives:
Code:
linux3 jmv #  wpa_supplicant -Dwext -ieth1 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
 Trying to associate with 00:1c:10:ac:a6:f3 (SSID='sansfil' freq=2437 MHz)
 Associated with 00:1c:10:ac:a6:f3
 WPA: Key negotiation completed with 00:1c:10:ac:a6:f3 [PTK=TKIP GTK=TKIP]
 CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to 00:1c:10:ac:a6:f3 completed (auth) [id=1 id_str=]


and iwconfig:
Code:
eth1      IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"sansfil" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:1C:10:AC:A6:F3   
          Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power:0 dBm   
          RTS thr:2347 B   Fragment thr:2346 B   
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality:96/100  Signal level:-34 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:13   Missed beacon:0


Any Idea? The router is a Linksys WRT54G. It works with the "other OS"

Thanks,

Tortue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neiltrodden
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tortue, I am not sure of the answer to your question but as I had already marked this topic as solved, you are probably better making a new thread as people will think this thread is solved by the title.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tortue
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2005
Posts: 75
Location: Gatineau (Québec), Canada

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neiltrodden,

I think you're right. And I also think it's a bit off topic. I'll start another thread. Thanks.

Tortue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum