Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
cron
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wilsontc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 9:18 am    Post subject: cron Reply with quote

hello guys, once again!
i have two questions for you gurus today ;)
firstly, what is a cron? the install guide wants me to pick a cron package, but it doesn't go into more detail :( what does a cron do, and is there much difference between the various packages?

secondly, does anyone know how to disconnect from bpalogin? it doesn't have a disconnect button/menu/command, and it is very annoying having to reset the cable modem and wait for stuff to work.

any help with either of these 2 problems is most appreciated
_________________
kind regards,
Tim :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puggy
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1992
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cron is basically a task scheduler allowing jobs to be run automatically at certain times or time intervals. I just went for the one the install guide said was best or popular or something...vcron, works great for me.
No idea about bpalogin, sorry.
Puggy
_________________
Where there's open source , there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keratos68
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2002
Posts: 561
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://bpalogin.sourceforge.net/index.php?page=index

I'm in UK but I guess you're in Aussie?? Telstra?? I think the SW has no "disconnect" button - but you could "kill" the process from a linux shell/console window.
_________________
Someone told me that "..they only ever made one mistake...."

...and that's when they said they were wrong!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wilsontc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah...thankyou! but how would i do that? something about pid?
_________________
kind regards,
Tim :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wilsontc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have another problem too.
i have finished compiling my kernel, and i have set up the rest of gentoo, but how do i mount my os9 partition? when i follow the instructions (ie mkdir /mnt/mac, mount /dev/hda6 /mnt/mac) it says "you must specify the file system type. so i repeated the instruction with "mount -t hsf /dev/hda6 /mnt/mac" but it couldn't mount! help! doesn't the livecd kernel have hsf support compilied in? if so, can i add a module, or how else can i put my kernels on my mac partition?
_________________
kind regards,
Tim :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snipingkills
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 May 2003
Posts: 92
Location: Denham Springs, La.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure that hsf is the correct filesystem. I am not familiar with macs, but i did a google search and it seems to mostly concern PCI modems and such.
_________________
When the Illusions of Reality fade,
Which is more deceptive; the Illusion or Reality?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wilsontc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah yes! you are correct snipingkills it should have been HFS that i should have typed! so now i can mount my mac partition, but "Where have all my files gone?" can i just copy the kernels onto the root dir, or do i need to put them someplace else? the install guide seemed to say just dump 'em there, but i want to make sure...
also, how do i kill a process? i assume it is with the 'kill' command, but how do i find out the process number? something about a PID?
_________________
kind regards,
Tim :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keratos68
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2002
Posts: 561
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ps | awk '/konqueror/ { print $1 }'  | xargs kill -15


"ps" = will list processes. If your processes is background , you may wish to use "ps -aef" to list all processes. Have a play.

"awk" = will find processes with "konqueror" of course this is an example , replace konqueror with the process name you wish to kill, dont know what this is as I dont have the program you're trying to kill!

"xargs" = will tag the output of the last command (awk) to a kill -15 command. Kill -9 is stronger if kill -15 doesnt work, but try -15 first as its more graceful degredation.
_________________
Someone told me that "..they only ever made one mistake...."

...and that's when they said they were wrong!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puggy
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1992
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have a different problem to your initial post its best to start a new thread. :-D

What do you mean copy the kernels to the root dir? Are these the kernels you want to boot from. You have to move them to the /boot directory (Once mounted if on a seperate partition) just like the install guide says.

I know nothing about mac filesystems. But how old is the mac? Because theres also HPFS support in the kernel relating to Mac's...

Puggy
_________________
Where there's open source , there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
barran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Jan 2003
Posts: 142
Location: Århus, DK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

keratos68 wrote:
Code:
ps | awk '/konqueror/ { print $1 }'  | xargs kill -15



Wow. I'm sorry but that seem very uneffective. I usually just do:
Code:

# killall -SIG progname

In your case
Code:

# killall -9 bpalogin
or
# killall -KILL bpalogin

Beware that this is the dirty way of killing a program. Normally when a program is told to shut down it receives a SIGTERM. So the nice way is:
Code:

# killall -15 bpalogin
or
# killall -TERM bpalogin
or just (which I use)
# killall bpalogin

Quote:

"ps" = will list processes. If your processes is background , you may wish to use "ps -aef" to list all processes. Have a play.


I use "ps aux" :)

Quote:

"awk" = will find processes with "konqueror" of course this is an example , replace konqueror with the process name you wish to kill, dont know what this is as I dont have the program you're trying to kill!

"xargs" = will tag the output of the last command (awk) to a kill -15 command. Kill -9 is stronger if kill -15 doesnt work, but try -15 first as its more graceful degredation.


Uhmm xargs a usefull tool.

So puggy you are installing on an oldworld mac? Then you have to dump the kernel (vmlinux) onto the root of the system folder. Cant remember what it is called, but basically you just move the image bootx uses and copy the new image there. You can use "find /mnt/mac -name vmlinux" to find the old image.
If you have a newworld mac you dont have to put it on your mac drive you just have to do "cp vmlinux System.map /boot" as the manual says.

I hope this helped a bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keratos68
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2002
Posts: 561
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

barran wrote:
keratos68 wrote:
Code:
ps | awk '/konqueror/ { print $1 }'  | xargs kill -15



Wow. I'm sorry but that seem very uneffective. I usually just do:
Code:

# killall -SIG progname

In your case
Code:

# killall -9 bpalogin
or
# killall -KILL bpalogin

Beware that this is the dirty way of killing a program. Normally when a program is told to shut down it receives a SIGTERM. So the nice way is:
Code:

# killall -15 bpalogin
or
# killall -TERM bpalogin
or just (which I use)
# killall bpalogin

... YES , but here in Blackpool,UK, we have a lovely sunny day, and I'm in he conservatory, typing away, being rather oppulent with my answers....I kinda gave the answer above ... well ... because "I CAN!" But your post barran above is factually correct albeit non-superfluous :lol:

Of course, kill -SIG <progname> requires the process name to be known, this may not be the case here, it may be though so your post would suffice. The awk /../ above facilitates wildcard searches like awk '/*bpa*/ { print $1 }' to search for anything with "bpa" in the name....

In any event , I think we have offered a variety of solutions, the orginator can elect what suits the situation!! :wink:
_________________
Someone told me that "..they only ever made one mistake...."

...and that's when they said they were wrong!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puggy
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1992
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

barran wrote:

So puggy you are installing on an oldworld mac?


Not me. wilsontc
:-D
_________________
Where there's open source , there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keratos68
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2002
Posts: 561
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

keratos68 wrote:
Of course, kill -SIG <progname> requires the process name to be known, this may not be the case here, it may be though so your post would suffice. The awk /../ above facilitates wildcard searches like awk '/*bpa*/ { print $1 }' to search for anything with "bpa" in the name....


HoHo .... awk '/.*bpa*/ { print .... of course!
_________________
Someone told me that "..they only ever made one mistake...."

...and that's when they said they were wrong!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
barran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Jan 2003
Posts: 142
Location: Århus, DK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

keratos68 wrote:

... YES , but here in Blackpool,UK, we have a lovely sunny day, and I'm in he conservatory, typing away, being rather oppulent with my answers....I kinda gave the answer above ... well ... because "I CAN!" But your post barran above is factually correct albeit non-superfluous :lol:

Of course, kill -SIG <progname> requires the process

killall but nevermind...
keratos68 wrote:

name to be known, this may not be the case here, it may be though so your post would suffice. The awk /../ above facilitates wildcard searches like awk '/*bpa*/ { print $1 }' to search for anything with "bpa" in the name....

In any event , I think we have offered a variety of solutions, the orginator can elect what suits the situation!! :wink:

Sorry didnt want to offend you. I just thought it was a complicated way of doing something simple...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
barran
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Jan 2003
Posts: 142
Location: Århus, DK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

puggy wrote:
barran wrote:

So puggy you are installing on an oldworld mac?


Not me. wilsontc
:-D

Sorry 'bout that. Of cause I meant wilsontc... DOH!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wilsontc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2003 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, i am installing on an oldworld mac (thus HFS).
but now i have another problem :oops: - it says "No space left on device!"
this is clearly incorrect - i have like 30 mb and the kernel is only 1.x mb!!!
where do i need to put the kernel? when i go to the mounted mac partition, there are no directories, only files that i can't "cat" or "ls" or anything!
_________________
kind regards,
Tim :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keratos68
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2002
Posts: 561
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2003 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

puggy wrote:
If you have a different problem to your initial post its best to start a new thread. :-D

Puggy



LETS REMIND THEM AGAIN Puggy :lol:
_________________
Someone told me that "..they only ever made one mistake...."

...and that's when they said they were wrong!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puggy
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1992
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2003 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

keratos68 wrote:
puggy wrote:
If you have a different problem to your initial post its best to start a new thread. :-D

Puggy



LETS REMIND THEM AGAIN Puggy :lol:


*shrugs* It's only going to lower the chance of the thread being answered succesfully. Not my problem. :-D
_________________
Where there's open source , there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
porter
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2003 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
man crontab
would have helped, too. :D
_________________
no pain, no gain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum