Problems emerging grub
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Robin_reala
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2003 5:54 pm    Post subject: Problems emerging grub Reply with quote

OK, this is my first attempt at installing Gentoo, but I've successfully managed to get past stage1. However, on stage2 grub gives me an error about not being able to copy to /boot and suggests that I should run:
Quote:
ebuild /user/portage/sys-apps/grub/grub-0.92-rl.ebuild merge
env-update
However, doing this causes the same error (not really surprising). I checked what /boot was mounted to and it's my main NTFS XP partition (which is surprising). Previously, I had a main NTFS XP partition, a secondary NTFS media partition, an ext3 Mandrake partition, a linux swap partition and a boot partition for Lilo. I tried rebooting and running fdisk p again, and it does that that my NTFS partition is my boot partition, so I'm now stumped.

I'm not particularly fluent with Linux, so any pointers would be very helpful ^_^[/quote]
Edweirdo
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2003 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blank your drive and start over.. :twisted:

No, but seriously. Having multiple OSes on your one drive can get confusing. Trying to minimize the number of partitions you have may help. For instance, you mention an NTFS partition for media. You may want to make this your "Data" partition. If you can then spare removing Mandrake by putting all the data you want to keep on your NTFS data partition*, you could have only 4 partitions, NTFS XP, NTFS media, gentoo, swap. You could make your /boot directory stay on your gentoo partition since it just makes things easier.

* I found a Windows utility to copy files from ext2/ext3 filesystems at http://uranus.it.swin.edu.au/~jn/linux/explore2fs.htm
Robin_reala
n00b
n00b