View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mmeinert n00b
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 24 Location: Bielefeld, Germany
|
Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:44 pm Post subject: ssh: can not connect to certain remote hosts |
|
|
Hi!
I have a weird problem with my ssh: I can not connect to certain remote hosts. I am able to connect to these hosts from my flat mate's arch linux box, the router configuration is the same for me and him. I'm also able to connect to many other hosts from my own gentoo box.
ssh -v server-i-want-to-connect-to.de
OpenSSH_4.7p1, OpenSSL 0.9.8f 11 Oct 2007
debug1: Reading configuration data /etc/ssh/ssh_config
debug1: Connecting to server-i-want-to-connect-to.de [xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] port 22.
This is all ssh has to tell me... My flat mate and me we're using exactly the same versions of OpenSSH but on different distris as mentioned.
What could be messed up here?
/etc/ssh/ssh_config:
Code: |
# Host *
# ForwardAgent no
# ForwardX11 no
# RhostsRSAAuthentication no
# RSAAuthentication yes
# PasswordAuthentication yes
# HostbasedAuthentication no
# GSSAPIAuthentication no
# GSSAPIDelegateCredentials no
# BatchMode no
# CheckHostIP yes
# AddressFamily any
# ConnectTimeout 0
# StrictHostKeyChecking ask
# IdentityFile ~/.ssh/identity
# IdentityFile ~/.ssh/id_rsa
# IdentityFile ~/.ssh/id_dsa
# Port 22
# Protocol 2,1
# Cipher 3des
# Ciphers aes128-cbc,3des-cbc,blowfish-cbc,cast128-cbc,arcfour,aes192-cbc,aes256-cbc
# MACs hmac-md5,hmac-sha1,umac-64@openssh.com,hmac-ripemd160
# EscapeChar ~
# Tunnel no
# TunnelDevice any:any
# PermitLocalCommand no
|
These are the same for us too...
Hoping for help,
regards,
Markus |
|
Back to top |
|
|
theotherjoe Guru
Joined: 22 Nov 2003 Posts: 393
|
Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 11:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
what about checking if the host can be reached at all ?
for instance:
# traceroute -p 22 server-i-want-to-connect-to.de |
|
Back to top |
|
|
upengan78 l33t
Joined: 27 Jun 2007 Posts: 711 Location: IL
|
Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Remote hosts could have blocked you Did you try to contact support or admin of the remote machine and making them check the logs at the remote machine end for your IP ?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
SirLD Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 05 May 2007 Posts: 79
|
Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ya, first try to get connected at all, ping or sth has to work.
then, it is not important that you use the same ssh_config. make sure the sshd on the remote machine accepts password-authentication.
bye, sirld _________________ gentoo, IBM T41p, atheros wlan, firegl T2, konsolenfreak |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23062
|
Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 12:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
You can repeat the -v option up to a total of three times to increase the amount of debugging output. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
upengan78 l33t
Joined: 27 Jun 2007 Posts: 711 Location: IL
|
Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
what was the issue, please let us know,,,, |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dagger Retired Dev
Joined: 11 Jun 2003 Posts: 765 Location: UK
|
Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 7:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
distribution has nothing to do how ssh works. From your log it seems all ssh packets are dropped by remote client (on anything in between). _________________ 95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
Join the FSF as an Associate Member!
Post under CC license. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|