Looking for documentation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
BigPete
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 7:40 pm    Post subject: Looking for documentation Reply with quote

The Gentoo handbook is an excellent resource. However, I am fairly new to all of this and I don't quite understand why certain things are done and why I need to use the specific commands outlined in the handbook. For the most part, the handbook walks you through step by step on how to do an installation. I managed to get a barebones Gentoo install running on my box in the basement. I use SSH to access it.

I am still lacking in understanding things. I just followed the handbook without really knowing what any of it meant or actually did. Are there any kind of resources out there that provide a walk-through like the Gentoo handbook but also explain the why and the how of the commands used?
BigPete
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh come on!

I don't need something that explains what a mouse is and why it's important. I just need more noob friendly instructions so I can get the basics down.

An example; In Windows, I know all programs default to the /Program Files/ directory. Is there an equivalent for Gentoo or Linux in general? How can I see what I have installed, what's running, etc?
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BigPete wrote:
Oh come on!

I don't need something that explains what a mouse is and why it's important. I just need more noob friendly instructions so I can get the basics down.

An example; In Windows, I know all programs default to the /Program Files/ directory. Is there an equivalent for Gentoo or Linux in general? How can I see what I have installed, what's running, etc?

-see /bin or /usr/bin or /sbin or /usr/sbin or /opt/bin