View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Zzormpas n00b
Joined: 09 Oct 2007 Posts: 34 Location: Monterey, California, USA
|
Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 9:38 pm Post subject: VPN through a Micro$lop box... |
|
|
Here's the latest "challenge" for this Gentoo noob.
I'm attempting to get VPN via Microslop to work. I followed the procedure in the wiki (Thanx mucho for whoever got it back up and running!), and I "think" its ALMOST working.
I've searched the forums, and tried a few things, but most of the forum posts dealing with this are 150,000 years old and apply to antique kernels that need to be patched, and/or tell me to use pptpconfig which has been deprecated and removed from portage (WHY?).
So, without further ado, some files:
/etc/ppp/peers/MYREMOTE:
Code: |
pty "pptp vpn.myhost.com --nolaunchpppd"
name myself
require-mschap-v2
remotename MYREMOTE
file /etc/ppp/options.MYREMOTE
ipparam MYREMOTE
|
/etc/ppp/chap-secrets:
Code: |
myself MYREMOTE password *
MYREMOTE myself password *
|
/etc/ppp/options.MYREMOTE:
Code: |
lock
noauth
nobsdcomp
nodeflate
require-mppe-128
mtu 1000
mru 1000
lcp-echo-failure 10
lcp-echo-interval 10
refuse-eap
|
Spewage when I "pon MYREMOTE debug dump logfd 2 nodetach":
Code: |
pppd options in effect:
debug # (from command line)
nodetach # (from command line)
logfd 2 # (from command line)
dump # (from command line)
noauth # (from /etc/ppp/options.MYREMOTE)
refuse-eap # (from /etc/ppp/options.MYREMOTE)
name myself # (from /etc/ppp/peers/MYREMOTE)
remotename MYREMOTE # (from /etc/ppp/peers/MYREMOTE)
# (from /etc/ppp/options.MYREMOTE)
pty pptp vpn.myhost.com --nolaunchpppd # (from /etc/ppp/peers/MYREMOTE)
mru 1000 # (from /etc/ppp/options.MYREMOTE)
mtu 1000 # (from /etc/ppp/options.MYREMOTE)
lcp-echo-failure 10 # (from /etc/ppp/options.MYREMOTE)
lcp-echo-interval 10 # (from /etc/ppp/options.MYREMOTE)
ipparam MYREMOTE # (from /etc/ppp/peers/MYREMOTE)
nobsdcomp # (from /etc/ppp/options.MYREMOTE)
nodeflate # (from /etc/ppp/options.MYREMOTE)
require-mppe-128 # (from /etc/ppp/options.MYREMOTE)
using channel 12
Using interface ppp0
Connect: ppp0 <--> /dev/pts/2
sent [LCP ConfReq id=0x1 <mru 1000> <asyncmap 0x0> <magic 0x98cd7523> <pcomp> <accomp>]
rcvd [LCP ConfReq id=0x0 <mru 1400> <auth eap> <magic 0x2adb3829> <pcomp> <accomp> <callback CBCP> <mrru 1614> <endpoint [local:c9.68.28.9d.45.eb.44.c6.bf.dc.b3.b7.59.66.98.f5.00.00.00.00]> < 17 04 00 43>]
sent [LCP ConfRej id=0x0 <callback CBCP> <mrru 1614> < 17 04 00 43>]
rcvd [LCP ConfAck id=0x1 <mru 1000> <asyncmap 0x0> <magic 0x98cd7523> <pcomp> <accomp>]
rcvd [LCP ConfReq id=0x1 <mru 1400> <auth eap> <magic 0x2adb3829> <pcomp> <accomp> <endpoint [local:c9.68.28.9d.45.eb.44.c6.bf.dc.b3.b7.59.66.98.f5.00.00.00.00]>]
sent [LCP ConfNak id=0x1 <auth chap MD5>]
rcvd [LCP ConfReq id=0x2 <mru 1400> <auth chap MD5> <magic 0x2adb3829> <pcomp> <accomp> <endpoint [local:c9.68.28.9d.45.eb.44.c6.b7.dc.b3.bf.59.66.98.f5.00.00.00.00]>]
sent [LCP ConfAck id=0x2 <mru 1400> <auth chap MD5> <magic 0x2adb3829> <pcomp> <accomp> <endpoint [local:c9.68.28.9d.45.eb.44.c6.b7.dc.b3.bf.59.66.98.f5.00.00.00.00]>]
sent [LCP EchoReq id=0x0 magic=0x98cd7523]
rcvd [CHAP Challenge id=0x0 <dc4d2fdefd35e31ccc7dc7761123c801>, name = "VIRGO"]
sent [CHAP Response id=0x0 <f8e6ee0c7e88e647edbf6726d2cad271>, name = "myself"]
rcvd [LCP EchoRep id=0x0 magic=0x2adb3829]
rcvd [CHAP Failure id=0x0 ""]
CHAP authentication failed
CHAP authentication failed
sent [LCP TermReq id=0x2 "Failed to authenticate ourselves to peer"]
rcvd [LCP TermReq id=0x4 "*\377777777338)\000<\37777777715t\000\000\002\37777777663"]
sent [LCP TermAck id=0x4]
rcvd [LCP TermAck id=0x2 "Failed to authenticate ourselves to peer"]
Connection terminated.
Waiting for 1 child processes...
script pptp vpn.myhost.com --nolaunchpppd, pid 15625
Script pptp vpn.myhost.com --nolaunchpppd finished (pid 15625), status = 0x0
|
Domain name NOT required, although I tried it anyway...
Help would be appreciated! _________________ -Zorba
"The Veiled Male"
http://www.doubleveil.net |
|
Back to top |
|
|
-Craig- Guru
Joined: 03 Jun 2004 Posts: 333
|
Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 9:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No clue what's wrong with you config, I guess there are some options, which aren't needed or are breaking you config.
Here is my configuration (which works fine with linux pptpd):
/etc/ppp/options.pptp:
Code: | lock
noauth
refuse-eap
refuse-chap
refuse-mschap
nobsdcomp
nodeflate
require-mschap-v2
require-mppe-128 |
/etc/ppp/chap-secrets:
Code: | my.username PPTP my.password * |
/etc/ppp/peers/mytunnel2work:
Code: | pty "pptp a.b.c.d --nolaunchpppd"
name my.username
remotename PPTP
file /etc/ppp/options.pptp
ipcp-accept-remote
nobsdcomp
nodeflate
lcp-echo-failure 40000
lcp-echo-interval 120
mtu 1400
mru 1400
lock
noauth
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Zzormpas n00b
Joined: 09 Oct 2007 Posts: 34 Location: Monterey, California, USA
|
Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 11:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I just loaded Craig's configuration and it "seems to work", except I can't communicate across the VPN connection - can't ping, SSH or anything.
I have, of course, NO idea why this config works being clueless about VPN in general. Any help/ideas would be appreciated. In the meantime, I'm off to search the forums - I seem to recall seeing a thread about a situation similar to this.... _________________ -Zorba
"The Veiled Male"
http://www.doubleveil.net |
|
Back to top |
|
|
LoSeR_5150 Guru
Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 455 Location: San Francisco, CA
|
Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 11:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm not at home right now, but I remember having to muck with adding a default route before I could communicate across the VPN. I'll check my config and try to post some relevant stuff.
Update:
I have a file ip-up.ppp0
Code: | #!/bin/bash
/sbin/route add -net 10.0.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 dev ppp0 |
and an ip-down.ppp0
Code: | #!/bin/bash
/sbin/route del -net 10.0.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 dev ppp0 |
That add's my route and then removes it when I disconnect. I *believe* this may be what u are missing _________________ Opteron 1356@2.4Ghz
6GB DDR2 800Mhz
128MB Quadro NVS 210S
640GB Western Digital HD
*Gentoo-x86_64-2.6.30-r1
Opteron175@2.2GHz
2GB DDR 400MHz
256MB Quadro 1400 Go
(2) 80GB Segate HDs: RAID0
*Gentoo-x86_64-2.6.30-r1 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
-Craig- Guru
Joined: 03 Jun 2004 Posts: 333
|
Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, you need to set the routes appropriate! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|