Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Transplanting Existing Gentoo Install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
majin_boy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 4:57 am    Post subject: Transplanting Existing Gentoo Install Reply with quote

Firstly, forgive me if this is in the wrong section. But it is the best one that I could think of for my problem.

Now, sometime within the next week, I plan to upgrade the hard drive in my laptop and get an external enclosure for my present hard drive. I was wondering whether there is a method by which I could transplant the Gentoo install which is on my present hard drive onto the new hard drive?

One idea I had was this: Once the new hard drive is installed and the old one is in the external enclosure, I would boot the livecd and do a
Code:
dd if=/dev/sdb4 of=/dev/sda2
Where /dev/sdb4 is the root partition in the old hard drive and /dev/sda2 would be the root partition in the new hard drive. Would everything work fine? Granted, GRUB would have to be re-installed, but otherwise would it work?

Is there some other method which is known to work?

Thanks,

Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EzInKy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 1742
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 5:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cp -a has always worked for me.
_________________
Time is what keeps everything from happening all at once.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcat
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 6:01 am    Post subject: Re: Transplanting Existing Gentoo Install Reply with quote

majin_boy wrote:

One idea I had was this: Once the new hard drive is installed and the old one is in the external enclosure, I would boot the livecd and do a
Code:
dd if=/dev/sdb4 of=/dev/sda2
Where /dev/sdb4 is the root partition in the old hard drive and /dev/sda2 would be the root partition in the new hard drive. Would everything work fine? Granted, GRUB would have to be re-installed, but otherwise would it work?



Your suggested approach will only work if both disks are physically identical (cylinder size, no. etc...). Even then it's maybe not the best way because it copies empty sectors (so it's quite inefficient), but on the plus side it would take care of the boot sector as well (you wouldn't have to install grub in the boot sector).

I would create your partitions first using fdisk, then format as required, then copy the data over. There are a number of ways to do the copy, I've seen all sorts before now, like piped tar command etc, but as EzInKy suggests, cp -a will be fine :)




Cheers,
jcat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
majin_boy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the suggestions guys. I'll try cp -a once I get my hands on the new disk.

Cheers,

Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djinnZ
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 4831
Location: somewhere in L.O.S.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

better rsync IMHO or:
build binary packages with
Code:
for i in `qpkg -nc -v -I` ; do if [ ! -f /usr/portage/packages/All/`echo $i | sed "s/^.*\///"`.tbz2 ]; then quickpkg =$i; fi; done
copy the make.conf and /etc/portage/... configuration files and install on a new stage3 with
Code:
emerge -eDNuK world

_________________
scita et risus abundant in ore stultorum sed etiam semper severi insani sunt:wink:
mala tempora currunt...mater stultorum semper pregna est :evil:
Murpy'sLaw:If anything can go wrong, it will - O'Toole's Corollary:Murphy was an optimist :wink:


Last edited by djinnZ on Tue Nov 20, 2007 4:59 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RuncZ
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and don't forget that /etc/fstab :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ali3nx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 722
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for posting an update for using quickpkg. The script i used was naturally a bit outdated due to some of the changes in portage over the last year. It seems that even portage-utils has changed as the syntax for qpkg mentioned above isn't valid any longer.

Here's some updated commands for using quickpkg to build binary packages. Note that I included the option for quickpkg to include config files. If you dont use this important scripts are excluded by default!

Code:
for i in `qlist -C -v -I` ; do if [ ! -f /usr/portage/packages/All/`echo $i | sed "s/^.*\///"`.tbz2 ]; then quickpkg --include-config=y =$i; fi; done


The above example will only build packages for any package not found in /usr/portage/packages/All/

It may occasionally be desirable to rebuild every package.

Code:
for i in `qlist -C -v -I` ; do quickpkg --include-config=y =$i; done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1969

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've used dd a couple of times when changing hard drives; obviously you need
two drives attached, but otherwise it's straightforward. I copied partitions,
not the whole drive, and I made very sure that the old and the new partitions
had exactly the same number of blocks of exactly the same size.

The sequence was:
copy the original partition to an image (file) on the second drive
change out the first drive
boot from a Live CD
set up the partitions on the first drive
copy the second drive's images to partitions on the first drive
set up grub on the first drive
reboot

Since a number of partitions were bigger than 2G, the maximum file size on
my system, I wrote a script to copy big partitions in chunks - basically telling
dd to skip X blocks and then copy Y blocks to an intermediate file. I wrote
it as a script so that I had a record of what I'd done, to avoid mistakes
when reinstalling.

Good luck - Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Exil
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 251
Location: Nibylandia

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You sholud create a Stage4. Which is the best option.
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Custom_Stage4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum