Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Trying to add another moniter using a second video card.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nebetsu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 229
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 3:26 am    Post subject: Trying to add another moniter using a second video card. Reply with quote

The second video card is an old PCI card. Here's my xorg.conf. All it does is stare at me with this:

Code:
MATROX POWER GRAPHICS ACCELERATOR
MGA Series
VGA/EGA BIOS, Version V 3.1b
Copyright (C) 1993, Matrox Electronics Systems Ltd.
Copyright (C) LSI Logic Corporation 1990-1991


In old DOS font.
Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   Screen      1  "Screen2" RightOf "Screen0"
   Screen      2  "Screen1" RightOf "Screen2"
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/CID/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/artwiz-aleczapka-en"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load  "extmod"
#   Load  "dri"
   Load  "dbe"
   Load  "record"
   Load  "xtrap"
   Load  "glx"
   Load  "type1"
   Load  "freetype"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto"
   Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option       "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

   #DisplaySize     300   230   # mm
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "DEL"
   ModelName    "DELL M770"
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertRefresh values to use DDC:
   HorizSync    30.0 - 69.0
   VertRefresh  48.0 - 160.0
   Option       "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor1"
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertRefresh values to use DDC:
   HorizSync    30.0 - 81.0
   VertRefresh  56.0 - 88.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor2"
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertRefresh values to use DDC:
   HorizSync    31.5 - 31.5
   HorizSync    35.2 - 35.2
   HorizSync    35.5 - 35.5
   VertRefresh  50.0 - 70.0
EndSection

Section "Device"

        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
        ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
        #Option     "SWcursor"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "HWcursor"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "NoAccel"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ShadowFB"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "UseFBDev"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Rotate"                # [<str>]
        #Option     "VideoKey"              # <i>
        #Option     "FlatPanel"             # [<bool>]
        #Option     "FPDither"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "CrtcNumber"            # <i>
        #Option     "FPScale"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "FPTweak"               # <i>
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "nvidia"
   VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
   BoardName   "Unknown Board"
   Option       "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
   Option       "RenderAccel" "false"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Card1"
   Driver      "nvidia"
   Option       "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
   Option       "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
   Option       "TVOverScan" "0.5"
   Option       "ConnectedMonitor" "TV" # Add this if you're having problems
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
   Screen      1
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Card2"
   Driver      "vga"
   Card        "* Generic VGA compatible"
   BusID       "PCI:0:9:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     1
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     4
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     8
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     15
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     16
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"

      # Modes "640x480"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
      Modes    "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen1"
   Device     "Card1"
   Monitor    "Monitor1"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
  # initial origin if mode is smaller than desktop
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
      Modes    "640x480"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen2"
   Device     "Card2"
   Monitor    "Monitor2"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
  # initial origin if mode is smaller than desktop
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
      Modes    "640x480"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
   Group        0
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
   Option       "Composite" "enable"
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mottmar
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Nov 2005
Posts: 103
Location: Genoa, Italy

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 10:07 am    Post subject: Re:Trying to add another moniter using a second video card Reply with quote

Some questions in order to understan the situation better:
So you have a "primary" card, with a monitor and a tv connected, and they work. But you added the "secondary" card and a monitor, and you don't get X on that. Is this correct?
Did you try to use the secondary card only? (to see if the configuration for it is correct, and it doesn't work due to the interaction with the other)
And one last thing: you are using the standard vga driver for the "secondary" card. What card is it? (what does lspci say?) maybe a more specific driver exists..
_________________
The box said "Requires Windows 95 or better." I can't understand why it won't work on my Linux computer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nebetsu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 229
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 5:52 pm    Post subject: Re:Trying to add another moniter using a second video card Reply with quote

mottmar wrote:
Some questions in order to understan the situation better:
So you have a "primary" card, with a monitor and a tv connected, and they work. But you added the "secondary" card and a monitor, and you don't get X on that. Is this correct?
Did you try to use the secondary card only? (to see if the configuration for it is correct, and it doesn't work due to the interaction with the other)
And one last thing: you are using the standard vga driver for the "secondary" card. What card is it? (what does lspci say?) maybe a more specific driver exists..


Code:
00:09.0 VGA compatible controller: Matrox Graphics, Inc. MGA-II [Athena]


I tried using "mga" but then I didn't get anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum