View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
akauppi n00b
Joined: 23 Feb 2003 Posts: 23 Location: Finland
|
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 5:08 pm Post subject: Changing XFree display mode |
|
|
How should i force XFree86 to use 800x600 (or better) modes only.
I've got an S3 display adapter, and have settings appropriately. It actually blinks in higher res graphics mode when exiting X-Window but -for some reason- during the work it's in miserable 640x480.
ak |
|
Back to top |
|
|
butters Guru
Joined: 13 May 2002 Posts: 427 Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
|
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 5:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
First, I reccomend the tutorial linked from the Desktop Configuration Guide, the best tutorial on setting up XF86Config I've seen. You should use something like this to set your display modes:
Code: | Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
EndSection
|
for your screen section, depending on your particular color depth/resolution capabilities, and remember to check your device section for the correct driver, VideoRam setting, etc. _________________ If tugboats were bigger, they'd be the ones getting tugged. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
akauppi n00b
Joined: 23 Feb 2003 Posts: 23 Location: Finland
|
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 5:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, i have all this. And although there's no mention of "640x480" on my config list, that's where x takes me!
I'll have a look at your suggested tutorial though, thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|