View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
gpeangel Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/12295475233f7ae83a18983.jpg)
Joined: 02 Jan 2003 Posts: 132 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2003 1:35 pm Post subject: eth0 or eth1, but not both working together |
|
|
I am working to set up a firewall with older equipment (K6/200Mhz). The NIC's in play are an Intel EtherExpress Pro ISA (10 MPS) and a RealTek 8019 ISA.
1st Lesson:
Neither NIC recognized on boot. Reconfigured kernel to include the EtherExpress 10 driver, recompiled and on boot the EtherExpress NIC is recognized as eth0 and is fully available. The RealTek NIC is still not recognized.
2nd Lesson:
Reconfigured kernel to include both the EtherExpress 10 and NE2000 drivers, recompiled and on boot the RealTek is recognized as eth0 and is fully available. However, the EtherExpress is no longer found. Running:
Code: | /etc/init.d/net.eth1 start |
...shows...
Code: | * Bringing eth1 up...
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth1: unknown interface: No such device
SIOCSIFBRDADDR: No such device
eth1: unknown interface: No such device
SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device
* Failed to bring eth1 up |
I have verified that /etc/conf.d/net is set up correctly.
Similarly, if I boot from the LiveCD, I can configure and bring up the RealTek as eth0 and the EtherExpress as eth1. For the RealTek I have to execute the following:
Code: | modprobe ne io=0x300 |
...and for the EtherExpress:
Code: | modprobe eepro autodetect=1 |
Both are active and accessible when configured from the LiveCD.
I previously had Red Hat 7.3 installed on this box and Red Hat was able to recognize and configure both NIC's. Any suggestions on what could be happening here and how I may go about getting both NIC's up and running?
Many thanks,
Greg |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
uzik Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 17 Apr 2003 Posts: 257
|
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2003 1:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This might be hardware, what interrupt is the ISA card set to use? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
gpeangel Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/12295475233f7ae83a18983.jpg)
Joined: 02 Jan 2003 Posts: 132 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2003 2:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
These are both ISA cards:
RealTek:
I/O address: 300H
IRQ: 5
EtherExpress:
I/O address: 210-21FH
IRQ: 3
Both cards passed diagnostics with their respective DOS utilites to configure and test the cards.
Greg |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
uzik Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 17 Apr 2003 Posts: 257
|
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 1:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've seen diagnostics that didn't check for working IRQ's. Make sure
you don't have another card, such as a sound card, serial, or parallel
port, also using IRQ's 3 and 5.
There's a lot of very good info in the directory /proc
read the files 'interrupts', 'ioports', and 'pci' (just use 'more' to display them)
and see what interrupts the operating system thinks these
are using. If you're using a module for the ISA card you will likely
have to put a command line option on to tell it which IRQ to use.
(I hope I remeber those file names correctly!) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
DrkPlague Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/14049620943ede4dbf24137.gif)
Joined: 04 Jun 2003 Posts: 107
|
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 2:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
remove both drivers from the kernel and compile them as modules. then you can pass the io parameters to them when you load the modules. _________________ DKP
There are 10 kinds of people in the world:
Those who understand binary and those who don't... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
gpeangel Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/12295475233f7ae83a18983.jpg)
Joined: 02 Jan 2003 Posts: 132 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 7:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I was able to sort this out. Here's what it took:
As suggested, the drivers were compile as modules. Examining /proc/interupts showed which IRQ values were taken. The EtherExpress card was re-configured for I/O address 320 and IRQ 7. /etc/modules.d/aliases was modified to include the following two lines:
Code: | alias eth0 ne
options ne io=0x300 irq=5
alias eth1 eepro
options eepro io=0x320 irq=7 |
On reboot, both interfaces came up as expected.
Many thanks for the pointers.
Greg |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
uzik Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 17 Apr 2003 Posts: 257
|
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 11:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Congrats! Glad you got it working |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|