View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
bobber205 Guru


Joined: 23 Aug 2006 Posts: 561 Location: Oregon
|
Posted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:29 am Post subject: Accessing My Apache When Network is Retarded |
|
|
My school's network prevents traffic apparenly on port 80 for apache (and most ports anyway). I cannot access my apache server using ip or localhost on my laptop like I can at home.
So I want to disable all my network interfaces and just use localhost. Well I've tried that and when I try to start apache, it starts up ath0..
Is there anyway around this? I would like to be able to work on my web apps (PHP and MySQL) that are on my lappy while I'm at school. _________________ Never Forget The Expat 2.0! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ltboy Apprentice


Joined: 26 Oct 2004 Posts: 197 Location: Utah
|
Posted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
just start apache manually
as opposed to starting as a system service
Code: | /etc/init.d/apache2 start |
or loading service on boot
Code: | rc-update add apache2 default |
Also, just set up apache to only listen on 127.0.0.1:80 (default is *:80 or :80 or something like that) this way apache is local to your computer only and your network shouldn't be able to touch it. Also, make sure that your school's network isn't remapping localhost to the DHCP address given to your computer(i.e. 192.168.1.xxx). A properly set up network won't do this, but if theirs is then you should be able to access your apache server via 127.0.0.1 instead of localhost without changing anything.
Something I have set up is in /etc/hosts I have mywebsite.lo hard mapped to 127.0.0.1 where mywebsite is replaced with the domain name minus the extension(.org .com etc) of my live site. _________________ Mmmm.... Brains! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bobber205 Guru


Joined: 23 Aug 2006 Posts: 561 Location: Oregon
|
Posted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 5:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
When I ping localhost, it says 127.0.0.1 so that should work. Thanks for the advice. _________________ Never Forget The Expat 2.0! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tarpman Veteran


Joined: 04 Nov 2004 Posts: 1083 Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:49 pm Post subject: Re: Accessing My Apache When Network is Retarded |
|
|
bobber205 wrote: | when I try to start apache, it starts up ath0.. |
/etc/conf.d/rc: | # RC_NET_STRICT_CHECKING allows some flexibility with the 'net' service.
# The following values are allowed:
# none - The 'net' service is always considered up.
# no - This basically means that at least one net.* service besides net.lo
# must be up. This can be used by notebook users that have a wifi and
# a static nic, and only wants one up at any given time to have the
# 'net' service seen as up.
# lo - This is the same as the 'no' option, but net.lo is also counted.
# This should be useful to people that do not care about any specific
# interface being up at boot.
# yes - For this ALL network interfaces MUST be up for the 'net' service to
# be considered up.
RC_NET_STRICT_CHECKING="lo" |
The other option is to change the net depend in your /etc/init.d/apache to net.lo. The only difference is that the first change will affect all init scripts, the second will only affect apache. _________________ Saving the world, one kilobyte at a time. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|