View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
hfk
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 10:32 pm    Post subject: Jamming X11 Reply with quote

I'm pretty new in Gentoo.

I updated the X11 on my D630 Notebook and got a System not usable. The X11 is jamming.
Closing windows lets some fragments on the screen vanishing when another action is started.

The text cursor of an entry field or a xterm is often not visible.

The effect is independent on the kernel configuration and version ( kernel-2.6.23-gentoo-r1 and kernel-2.6.23-gentoo-r3).
Fluxbox and KDE show the same behavior. The binary version and the compiled version of the firefox are the same.

X11 did run fine with kernel-2.6.23-gentoo-r1, Xorg-7.3 and xorg-server-1.4 but the capslock LED did not work.

Code:
emerge -avutND world

and applying a bugfix on the xorg-server-1.4 raised the problems but the LED are ok :(

All my tests failed:

1. use Xorg-7.3 and xorg-server-1.4
2. use Xorg-7.2 und xorg-server-1.3
3. Installing a new Gentoo a minimal X and fluxbox

My USE flags are

Code:
USE="X perl smartcard tk fam dell acpi pcmcia unicode lm_sensors nls gtk opengl -gnome \
     qt kde qt3 usb truetype mozilla spell ncurses png ssl apache2 \
     fbcon id3tag mbrola dvd alsa cdr vhosts jpeg tiff xinerama -emacs -xemacs \
     bitmap-fonts truetype-fonts type1-fonts -font-server -nptl"

The emerge results
Code: