Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Root partition mounted twice? / and /dev/.static/dev
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:00 am    Post subject: Root partition mounted twice? / and /dev/.static/dev Reply with quote

On my Xen VPS running Gentoo, my root partition is being mounted twice for some reason.
Code:
$ sudo more /proc/mounts
rootfs / rootfs rw 0 0
none /sys sysfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec 0 0
none /proc proc rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec 0 0
udev /dev tmpfs rw 0 0
fusectl /sys/fs/fuse/connections fusectl rw 0 0
/dev/sda1 / xfs rw 0 0
/dev/sda1 /dev/.static/dev xfs rw 0 0
udev /dev tmpfs rw,nosuid 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,nosuid,noexec 0 0
shm /dev/shm tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec 0 0
usbfs /proc/bus/usb usbfs rw,nosuid,noexec 0 0

Note the two lines with "/dev/sda1". It is being mounted to "/" as well as "/dev/.static/dev"

Here is my /etc/fstab
Code:
/dev/sda1               /               xfs             defaults        0 1
/dev/sda2               none            swap            sw              0 0
proc                    /proc           proc            defaults        0 0
shm                     /dev/shm        tmpfs           nodev,nosuid,noexec     0 0


This seems to be the same problem described here:
[arch] problem with Arch on a VPS

I first noticed the problem with the following errors when I shutdown:

Code:
 * Deactivating swap ...                                                  [ ok ]                                       
 * Unmounting filesystems ...Cannot stat /dev/.static/dev: No such file or directory                                   
Cannot stat /dev/.static/dev: No such file or directory                                                                 
Cannot stat /dev/.static/dev: No such file or directory                                                                 
                                             [ ok ]                                                                     
 * Remounting remaining filesystems readonly ...umount: /dev/.static/dev: not found                                     
                          [ !! ]


EDIT:
I get this when I run "df"
Code:
$ df
Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda1              9805144   1687952   7619120  19% /
udev                     10240       116     10124   2% /dev
df: `/dev/.static/dev': No such file or directory
udev                     10240       116     10124   2% /dev
shm                     131156         0    131156   0% /dev/shm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
didymos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 4798
Location: California

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you create any device nodes manually? Or set RC_DEVICES="static" in /etc/conf.d/rc? Probably "No" on the latter. What's actually in /dev/.static/dev?
_________________
Thomas S. Howard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

didymos wrote:
Did you create any device nodes manually? Or set RC_DEVICES="static" in /etc/conf.d/rc?

Nope, I did not create any device nodes manually, nor did I set anything in /etc/conf.d/rc. I opened the file up and the setting is:
Code:
RC_DEVICES="auto"

didymos wrote:
What's actually in /dev/.static/dev?

/dev/.static/dev doesn't seem to exist.
Code:
$ cd /dev/.static/dev
-bash: cd: /dev/.static/dev: No such file or directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ank666
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 319
Location: CO/BY/DE

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any progress on this issue?
_________________
Auf der Verpackung stand benötigt Windows 9x/2000/XP oder BESSER, deshalb hab ich Linux installiert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EddieHung
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see this problem too, on the latest gentoo update running vanilla kernel 2.6.24-rc5:

Code:
$ mount
***
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
/dev/root on / type ext3 (rw,noatime,data=ordered)
***
proc on /proc type proc (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec)
udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,nosuid)
none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec)
shm on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec)
none on /lib/rc/init.d type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec)
/dev/sda1 on /boot type ext2 (rw,noatime)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,devmode=0664,devgid=85)
nfsd on /proc/fs/nfsd type nfsd (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
/dev/sr0 on /mnt/cdrom type iso9660 (ro,noexec,nosuid,nodev,user=eddie)


Code:
$ cat /etc/fstab
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail / tail freely.
#
# The root filesystem should have a pass number of either 0 or 1.
# All other filesystems should have a pass number of 0 or greater than 1.
#
# See the manpage fstab(5) for more information.
#

# <fs>         <mountpoint>   <type>      <opts>            <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/sda1      /boot         ext2      defaults,noatime   1 2
***
/dev/sda3      /            ext3      noatime            0 1
***
/dev/sda2      none         swap      sw               0 0
/dev/cdrom      /mnt/cdrom      auto      noauto,user         0 0
#/dev/fd0      /mnt/floppy      auto      noauto            0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
#  use almost no memory if not populated with files)
shm         /dev/shm   tmpfs      nodev,nosuid,noexec   0 0


I think this only started happening in the last few months (it didn't do this when I first did a stage 2 gentoo install), and I can't think what triggered it...

The only possible think would be that I have initramfs/initrd support compiled into the kernel, but I've tried not loading the initrd image in grub, yet this problem still exists!

Does anyone else have initramfs kernel support compiled in?

Eddie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2007 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My VPS host, Slicehost, fixed this issue on their end. A (related?) boot failure bug was also resolved at the same time.
http://forum.slicehost.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=1091

I don't know the details of the solution though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum