Install Problems...I'm stuck...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
thornzzz
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 12:11 pm    Post subject: Install Problems...I'm stuck... Reply with quote

I'm not a total noob to linux or anything, but this is really baffling me...

I'm installing Gentoo Stage 1...following the instructions to the letter to make sure I'm doing this right. Everything is going perfect. My hardware is recognized, my NIC is configured right off the bat (I'm using a cable modem for net access by the way), and all seems good.

But...I run into freezing problems while accessing the internet. It's all random. I punch in emerge sync...it goes for a while...and then locks up the computer half way through. Only way out of it is to hard reboot the computer.

Or, better yet, it gets through emerge sync without a problem and then I can get started on emerge system after all bootstrapping is done...and halfway through downloading packages, it locks up...hafta hard reboot the computer.

So basically, I'm never finishing...

I'm suspecting right now that it's most likely and issue with my NIC card as I've used this cable modem on a different linux box with no issues...

Two questions I suppose...

1) Is there anything I can do to fix this??? I suppose I could always follow the non-network install instructions that were posted to the forum

or

2) Maybe I should just go out and get a better NIC card? If so, does anyone have any suggestions as to what brand or so I should get?

Thanks in advance!
drjimmy42
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote