View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
rabbitboy3 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 08 Dec 2007 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 11:12 pm Post subject: ATI Rage Mobility framebuffer fails (blank) (atyfb mach64) |
|
|
I have an old laptop that I'm installing Gentoo on. I've got the system up and running in a basic way, and I'm trying to make the framebuffer for my video card work. It is an ATI Rage Mobility P/M AGP 2x.
Just as an FYI, the VESA framebuffer does work at the best resolution possible. I compiled it directly into the kernel and used "vga=789" and "video=vesafb:800x600-24@60" in LILO and got an 800x600 display with high color, which is the best my old laptop does.
I wanted to try the graphic card's framebuffer, so I compiled the atyfb driver directly into the kernel, and removed the VESA framebuffer driver. I then changed my lilo.conf video setting to "video=atyfb:800x600-24@60". After a reboot, the kernel starts getting loaded, and the screen goes black. The system continues to bootup and run normally, I simply can't see anything.
The atyfb is apparently loading, and the fbcon driver is apparently switching over to use the atyfb driver on /dev/fb0. There aren't any errors in /var/log/syslog that I can see... everything looks like it loaded up just fine:
Code: |
kernel: Boot video device is 0000:01:00.0
kernel: pci_hotplug: PCI Hot Plug PCI Core version: 0.5
kernel: Linux agpgart interface v0.102
kernel: agpgart: Detected an Intel 440BX Chipset.
kernel: agpgart: AGP aperture is 64M @ 0xe0000000
kernel: PCI: Found IRQ 10 for device 0000:01:00.0
kernel: PCI: Sharing IRQ 10 with 0000:00:04.0
kernel: atyfb: using auxiliary register aperture
kernel: atyfb: 3D RAGE Mobility P/M (Mach64 LM, AGP 2x) [0x4c4d rev 0x64]
kernel: atyfb: Mach64 BIOS is located at c0000, mapped at c00c0000.
kernel: atyfb: BIOS frequency table:
kernel: atyfb: PCLK_min_freq 984, PCLK_max_freq 23600, ref_freq 2950, ref_divider 64
kernel: atyfb: MCLK_pwd 4200, MCLK_max_freq 8300, XCLK_max_freq 12500, SCLK_freq 5000
kernel: atyfb: BIOS contains driver information table.
kernel: atyfb: dual (split) colour passive matrix monitor detected: Sharp LM130SS1F579
kernel: atyfb: id=13, 800x600 pixels, 16 bit interface
kernel: atyfb: supports refresh rates [60,70,72,75], default 60 Hz
kernel: atyfb: LCD CRTC parameters: 40.0 800 840 968 1056 600 601 604 628
kernel: atyfb: : 25000 88 800 40 128 24 600 1 3
kernel: atyfb: 4M SDRAM (2:1) (32-bit), 29.498928 MHz XTAL, 236 MHz PLL, 83 Mhz MCLK, 63 MHz XCLK
kernel: Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 100x37
kernel: atyfb: fb0: ATY Mach64 frame buffer device on PCI
kernel: Serial: 8250/16550 driver $Revision: 1.90 $ 2 ports, IRQ sharing disabled
kernel: Floppy drive(s): fd0 is 1.44M
|
And yet, I've got this black screen.
I tried using a lower depth in my lilo.conf file (video=atyfb:800x600-16@60 and video=atyfb:800x600-8@60), and it still came up black. System boots fine, but I can't see anything. There doesn't seem to be documentation for the atyfb driver itself in linux/Documentation/fb, though the modedb.txt file describes how to set the video resolution and says it's supposed to work with this driver.
I've hunted around since yesterday afternoon trying to figure out if I've done something wrong, or if my graphics card simply can't do a framebuffer like this. I can use the VESA driver, but it'd be nice to be able to utilize what little hardware advantage I have on this laptop. It's only got 128M of memory and a 700Mhz processor, and I plan on using it for doing some basic 3D modeling using Blender, which means I'll probably need every bit of advantage I can get.
Can anyone help me out with this? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54838 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
rabbitboy3,
Welcome to Gentoo.
I can't fix your problem but I can tell you that you won't need framebuffer at all for blender.
Linux has several different drivers for different things.
The console has the old 80x24 text driver and various framebuffer drivers that you have been playing with.
Xorg has another set of drivers (including framebuffer) which are used when it has control of the display.
The xorg framebuffer driver (which is different to the one in the kernel) has no acceleration at all, regardless of your graphics chip.
When you are using blender within xorg, you should use the xorg ati driver, which is as good as it gets for the mach64 chip.
Be sure to turn on agpgart and DRM support in the kernel, or Direct Rendering won't work _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rabbitboy3 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 08 Dec 2007 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks, Neddy. I've actually used Gentoo before, but it was several years ago and on hardware that was a little more... robust than this little laptop. And that was with the 2.4 kernel... udev kinda threw me for a loop when I went to reboot the first time.
I have a hunch this will end up being a moot point. The VESA framebuffer works just fine for what I want to do with it (basic console ops, no Linux TV or anything), so I'll probably just continue using it and not worry about the mach64 (atyfb) driver. It'd be nice to know if anyone else has had this problem, though I suspect most people just use the VESA driver and may not even be aware there's something they can do directly with the hardware for framebuffering.
I'm planning on having two or three kernels, one that's stripped down and tweaked just for Blender (no sound, no Cardbus/network, etc, with DRM and with agpgart built-in, etc.), one for a general X windows system with no framebuffer consoles, and one for just regular console work with a frame buffer and no specific bells and whistles. This laptop's not going to have screaming speed and I won't be able to do everything, but it's somewhat useable even without the Xorg DRM drivers. Once I get them going it'll be nice to be able to take my projects on the road or to work if I want to.
I'd still like to know why it doesn't work or what I might have done wrong, but only because I'm kind of a tinkerer like that I guess. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54838 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 3:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
rabbitboy3,
Well, I have a 600Mhz compaq armarda with 128Mb RAM and the mach64 chip.
I played with the framebuffer for a while and just gave it up, like you, I could only get a blank screen
I use xorg with twm on it. I rarely use the console, so its just the plane old 80x24 text mode, which does not fill the screen (its 640x480) but the LCD does 1024x768 _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
meush n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 09 Dec 2007 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm currently using ubuntu on my laptop (I need 2007.1 to have a new kernel that recognizes my HDD), and I have similiar issue.
Framebuffer works with Vesa 1024x768, but I have a 1280x800 screen. Fglrx supports desired resolution, but I neither see progress of system loading, nor can I access consoles under F1-F6. That's not good, as I need consoles, and I'm left only with gnome's terminal.
I didn't try to fix it, because it's ubuntu :p and I'm going install gentoo as soon as new liveCD is released. However, looking at your post I'm afraid that's not just ubuntu's problem :/
I don't know atyfb, but does anyone have experience with fglrx in gentoo? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54838 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
meush,
You don't have a mach64 graphics chip in a widescreen laptop.
The vesa framebuffer can be made to do widescreen modes but you need to hack it gently. I believe there instructions in /usr/src/linux/Documentation.
The kernel is the same (almost) for all distros, so it you make it work on one, its easy to port.
Oh, you can user the ubuntu CD to install Gentoo ... no need to wait on a new Gentoo liveCD _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
kion Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/5114550794235d04c412e3.jpg)
Joined: 09 Jan 2005 Posts: 78 Location: Kończyce Wlk - Cieszyn PL
|
Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Maybe that will help.
I'm using the similar laptop as NeddySeagoon (Compaq armada e500). My fb works just fine in kernel options build in.
Code: |
Linux agpgart interface v0.102 (c) Dave Jones
agpgart: Detected an Intel 440BX Chipset.
agpgart: AGP aperture is 64M @ 0x50000000
Hangcheck: starting hangcheck timer 0.9.0 (tick is 180 seconds, margin is 60 seconds).
Hangcheck: Using get_cycles().
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:00.0[A] -> Link [C142] -> GSI 11 (level, low) -> IRQ 11
atyfb: using auxiliary register aperture
atyfb: 3D RAGE Mobility P/M (Mach64 LM, AGP 2x) [0x4c4d rev 0x64]
atyfb: Mach64 BIOS is located at c0000, mapped at c00c0000.
atyfb: BIOS frequency table:
atyfb: PCLK_min_freq 984, PCLK_max_freq 23600, ref_freq 2950, ref_divider 64
atyfb: MCLK_pwd 4200, MCLK_max_freq 8300, XCLK_max_freq 12500, SCLK_freq 5000
atyfb: BIOS contains driver information table.
atyfb: colour active matrix monitor detected: Hitachi TX36D81VC1CAB
atyfb: id=10, 1024x768 pixels, 262144 colours (LT mode)
atyfb: supports refresh rates [60], default 60 Hz
atyfb: LCD CRTC parameters: 65.40 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 770 776 806
atyfb: : 15384 160 1024 24 136 30 768 2 6
atyfb: 8M SDRAM (1:1), 29.498928 MHz XTAL, 236 MHz PLL, 83 Mhz MCLK, 125 MHz XCLK
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 128x48
atyfb: fb0: ATY Mach64 frame buffer device on PCI
|
Code: | CONFIG_FB_ATY=y
CONFIG_FB_ATY_CT=y
CONFIG_FB_ATY_GENERIC_LCD=y
CONFIG_FB_ATY_GX=y
CONFIG_FB_ATY_BACKLIGHT=y
|
I've another problem with this old stuff. I can't get enable the hardware accel on it in xorg.
NeddySeagoon have U tried to get it work? _________________ pozdrawiam/best regards
JID: kion@chrome.pl |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|