View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ruisantos1976 n00b
Joined: 21 Aug 2007 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 5:50 pm Post subject: how emerge php with firebird support [SOLVED] |
|
|
Hi all,
I'm trying to emerge php with firebird support but, even if I use
USE="firebird" emerge --update --deep php
the results still shows firebird on green, with a minus and within parenthesis and with an asterisk, like:
[ebuild U ] dev-lang/php-5.2.5-r1 [5.2.5] USE="apache2 bcmath bzip2 calendar cdb cgi cli concurrentmodphp crypt dbase exif gd gdbm gmp iconv mysql mysqli ncurses nls pcre readline reflection session soap sockets spell spl sqlite ssl sysvipc threads truetype unicode xml xmlreader xmlrpc xmlwriter xpm zip zlib (-adabas) -berkdb (-birdstep) -cjk -ctype -curl -curlwrappers -db2 (-dbmaker) -debug -discard-path -doc (-empress) (-empress-bcs) (-esoob) -fastbuild (-fdftk) -filter (-firebird*) -flatfile -force-cgi-redirect (-frontbase) -ftp -gd-external -hash -imap -inifile -interbase -iodbc -ipv6 -java-external -json -kerberos -ldap -ldap-sasl -libedit -mcve -mhash -msql -mssql -oci8 -oci8-instant-client -odbc -pcntl -pdo -pic -posix -postgres -qdbm -recode -sapdb -sharedext -sharedmem -simplexml -snmp (-solid) -suhosin (-sybase) (-sybase-ct) -tidy -tokenizer -wddx -xsl -yaz -zip-external" 0 kB
Can anyone help me on a way that I could emerge php with firebird support ?
Thanks.
Last edited by ruisantos1976 on Tue Dec 11, 2007 1:15 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kashani Advocate
Joined: 02 Sep 2002 Posts: 2032 Location: San Francisco
|
Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Don't use USE in a command line like that because the next time you emerge the package you'll lose the setting. What you're actually seeing is that firebird has been installed, but when you check it again without the USE flag in your command line it shows that the new state is -friebrd, it's installed, and the next emerge will remove it.
Instead use /etc/portage/package.use which is the correct place to set use flags per package permanently. You might need to create the file if it doesn't exist. Here are some things I have in mine so you can see the syntax.
/etc/portage/package.use Code: |
net-dns/bind -mysql -threads
net-mail/courier-imap fam gdbm -berkdb
dev-libs/cyrus-sasl -berkdb -mysql authdaemond urandom
www-servers/lighttpd fam -mysql -ssl
mail-mta/postfix mysql ssl sasl vda
|
kashani _________________ Will personally fix your server in exchange for motorcycle related shop tools in good shape. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ruisantos1976 n00b
Joined: 21 Aug 2007 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
kashani wrote: | Don't use USE in a command line like that because the next time you emerge the package you'll lose the setting. What you're actually seeing is that firebird has been installed, but when you check it again without the USE flag in your command line it shows that the new state is -friebrd, it's installed, and the next emerge will remove it. |
I am aware of that. I just mentioned that USE flag on command line so that one could see that I was forcing the firebird USE flag for php and still, emerge emerge is not selecting it
kashani wrote: | Instead use /etc/portage/package.use which is the correct place to set use flags per package permanently. You might need to create the file if it doesn't exist. Here are some things I have in mine so you can see the syntax.
/etc/portage/package.use Code: |
net-dns/bind -mysql -threads
net-mail/courier-imap fam gdbm -berkdb
dev-libs/cyrus-sasl -berkdb -mysql authdaemond urandom
www-servers/lighttpd fam -mysql -ssl
mail-mta/postfix mysql ssl sasl vda
|
kashani |
My package.use file already has:
dev-lang/php -berkdb apache2 bcmath bzip2 calendar cdb cgi concurrentmodphp dbase exif firebird gd gmp mysql mysqli soap sockets spell sqlite sysvipc truetype xml xmlreader xmlrpc xmlwriter xpm zip threads firebird
Thanks for your attention anyway
The problem is that, even that I try to force the firebird USE flag on php, emerge will not consider it. I've read on the portage howto that a flag within parenthesis means that that specific flag is blocked by the profile. If that is the case, can can I "unblock" it ?
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ruisantos1976 n00b
Joined: 21 Aug 2007 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 1:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Solved it.
Just comented the firebird USE flag at
/usr/portage/profiles/base/use.mask |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|