View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
dhodgeh n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Marvel/movie_x-men_professor_x.gif)
Joined: 06 Jan 2006 Posts: 8 Location: FLAUSA
|
Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 3:03 pm Post subject: wpa_supplicant & dhcp puzzle |
|
|
OK, I know I'm missing something very simple here.
First, here's my /etc/conf.d/net:
Code: |
# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d. To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /etc/conf.d/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf "
dhcpcd_wlan0="-t 10"
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
|
and my /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf:
Code: |
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=2
fast_reauth=1
eapol_version=1
network={
ssid="my ssid"
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
proto=WPA
pairwise=TKIP
group=TKIP
psk="my private key"
scan_ssid=1
priority=5
}
network={
key_mgmt=NONE
priority=-9999999
}
|
Now when I boot my system, or manually issue the command /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start I get these expected messages:
* Starting wlan0
* Starting wpa_supplicant on wlan0 ...
* Starting wpa_cli on wlan0 ...
* Backgrounding ...
However, there is no dhcpcd running against wlan0, and I do not have an IP address. My network card is associated with my access point. Manually running dhcpcd at this point times out.
wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"my ssid"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: 00:1B:11:F0:EA:20
Bit Rate=54 Mb/s Tx-Power:24 dBm
RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
Encryption key:xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx Security mode:restricted
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
But, I can stop net.wlan0 (i.e. /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 stop), run wpa_supplicant manually (wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf ) and then run dhcpcd wlan0 from another terminal and get the proper IP configuration and everything is cool and I'm to communicate via the wireless card.
What I'm I missing here?
Thanks
D |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Peace Frog Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 12 Dec 2006 Posts: 185
|
Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 4:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm by far no expert. I'm wrestling with wpa_supplicant myself, but I believe /etc/conf.d/net should read:
Code: |
config_wlan0=( "dhcpcd" )
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dhodgeh n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Marvel/movie_x-men_professor_x.gif)
Joined: 06 Jan 2006 Posts: 8 Location: FLAUSA
|
Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 1:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Peace Frog wrote: | I'm by far no expert. I'm wrestling with wpa_supplicant myself, but I believe /etc/conf.d/net should read:
Code: |
config_wlan0=( "dhcpcd" )
|
|
Thanks for the suggestion, but it didn't help
D |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|